Contribute
Register

[HELP]: ALC295 no sound through headphones with AppleALC

Joined
May 5, 2010
Messages
83
Motherboard
DELL Inspiron 5370
CPU
i5-8250U
Graphics
UHD 620
Mobile Phone
iOS
I tried using AppleALC 1.2.8 as well as 1.3.0

I can see the Internal Speakers in Sys Pref, and iTunes plays the songs well.

However, when I plug in headphones, the output device shows Headphones, but no sound through headphones. (I tested with a couple of headphones, Klipsch S4 and Sennheiser, and they work well with my Desktop hackintosh as well as the Creative USB soundcard)

Another minor issue is with balance. I feel the 50% mark is biased towards the L channel, it is only at 55% or 60% (slider shifted towards R) then the balance is OK.

  • AppleALC is in Clover/kexts/Other
  • CodecCommander is in /L/E
Attached PR files ...
 

Attachments

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
191,691
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
Core i7-2600K
Graphics
Intel HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
I tried using AppleALC 1.2.8 as well as 1.3.0

I can see the Internal Speakers in Sys Pref, and iTunes plays the songs well.

However, when I plug in headphones, the output device shows Headphones, but no sound through headphones. (I tested with a couple of headphones, Klipsch S4 and Sennheiser, and they work well with my Desktop hackintosh as well as the Creative USB soundcard)

Another minor issue is with balance. I feel the 50% mark is biased towards the L channel, it is only at 55% or 60% (slider shifted towards R) then the balance is OK.

  • AppleALC is in Clover/kexts/Other
  • CodecCommander is in /L/E
Attached PR files ...
Consider patched AppleHDA (Mirone's HDA patcher) instead.
Or try a different (supported) layout-id.
 
Joined
May 5, 2010
Messages
83
Motherboard
DELL Inspiron 5370
CPU
i5-8250U
Graphics
UHD 620
Mobile Phone
iOS
Consider patched AppleHDA (Mirone's HDA patcher) instead.
Or try a different (supported) layout-id.
Thanks for the reply @RehabMan .

So I went ahead and tried the Mirone's patcher v1.8. Along with a bunch of other files, it generated aDummyHDA.kext and HDAEnabler.kext. I put these in /S/L/E and rebuilt cache (and then tried by removing them 1 at a time). I had also patched the DSDT with the IRQ patch.

With this setup, although I can "see" the output/input System Preferences and About this Mac, there is no audio.

Although, Mirone's patcher patched with layout-id 3, I noticed while using AppleALC that layout-id does not work, it is only either 13, or 28.

With Mirone's patcher, even though it used layout-id to 3, I tried to force 13 and 28 each in the config.plist. In all the 3 cases, output visible in Sys prefs, audio playing, but no sound through speakers/headphones.
 
Joined
May 5, 2010
Messages
83
Motherboard
DELL Inspiron 5370
CPU
i5-8250U
Graphics
UHD 620
Mobile Phone
iOS
[UPDATE]: Just tried VoodooHDA. With this, I get 2 entries in Sys Prefs, Speaker (Analog) and Headphones (Black Right). Selecting Speakers makes audio play through on board Speakers, but on selecting Headphones (Black Right) there is no audio through Headphones.

Everything works with Ubuntu Live/Windows.
 

Feartech

Moderator
Joined
Aug 3, 2013
Messages
11,238
Motherboard
Asus N752VX-Clover
CPU
i7-6700HQ / HM170
Graphics
HD530 + GTX 950m 1920 x 1080
Mac
iMac
Mobile Phone
Android
Thanks for the reply @RehabMan .

So I went ahead and tried the Mirone's patcher v1.8. Along with a bunch of other files, it generated aDummyHDA.kext and HDAEnabler.kext. I put these in /S/L/E and rebuilt cache (and then tried by removing them 1 at a time). I had also patched the DSDT with the IRQ patch.

With this setup, although I can "see" the output/input System Preferences and About this Mac, there is no audio.

Although, Mirone's patcher patched with layout-id 3, I noticed while using AppleALC that layout-id does not work, it is only either 13, or 28.

With Mirone's patcher, even though it used layout-id to 3, I tried to force 13 and 28 each in the config.plist. In all the 3 cases, output visible in Sys prefs, audio playing, but no sound through speakers/headphones.
if Mirone's patcher requires a layout of id=3 then you should use that

also kexts should be in /Library/Extensions
 
Joined
May 5, 2010
Messages
83
Motherboard
DELL Inspiron 5370
CPU
i5-8250U
Graphics
UHD 620
Mobile Phone
iOS
if Mirone's patcher requires a layout of id=3 then you should use that

also kexts should be in /Library/Extensions
Does not work with layout-id 3,13 and 28.
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
191,691
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
Core i7-2600K
Graphics
Intel HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
With this setup, although I can "see" the output/input System Preferences and About this Mac, there is no audio.
Perhaps you forgot to install CodeCommander.kext.
Only guesses when you don't attach PR files.

No "Problem Reporting" files attached.
Read FAQ, "Problem Reporting" again. Carefully. Attach all requested files/output.
https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/faq-read-first-laptop-frequent-questions.164990/
Use the gen_debug.sh tool mentioned in the FAQ, that way it is less likely you'll omit something.
 
Joined
May 5, 2010
Messages
83
Motherboard
DELL Inspiron 5370
CPU
i5-8250U
Graphics
UHD 620
Mobile Phone
iOS
Sure, I have attached the PR files.

I am using CodecCommander in Clover/kexts/Other, along with AppleALC/Lilu.

I have also noticed, that regardless of what I do to set the HDEF layout-id to 13, (also includes Injecting via Clover), it resets itself to "7" . I am not sure if the issue could be because of this. But honestly, I have tried to set with DSDT _DSM, SSDT-HDEF, SSDT-Config, but it won't just set to 13.

P.S.: The thing is that I still do not have Network on this machine, as the QCA9377 is not supported, and this notebook does not come with an Ethernet port. So I had to manually haul bits of the gen_debug script (as it tries to connect again and again), please let me know if anything is missing.
 

Attachments

Feartech

Moderator
Joined
Aug 3, 2013
Messages
11,238
Motherboard
Asus N752VX-Clover
CPU
i7-6700HQ / HM170
Graphics
HD530 + GTX 950m 1920 x 1080
Mac
iMac
Mobile Phone
Android
Sure, I have attached the PR files.

I am using CodecCommander in Clover/kexts/Other, along with AppleALC/Lilu.

I have also noticed, that regardless of what I do to set the HDEF layout-id to 13, (also includes Injecting via Clover), it resets itself to "7" . I am not sure if the issue could be because of this. But honestly, I have tried to set with DSDT _DSM, SSDT-HDEF, SSDT-Config, but it won't just set to 13.

P.S.: The thing is that I still do not have Network on this machine, as the QCA9377 is not supported, and this notebook does not come with an Ethernet port. So I had to manually haul bits of the gen_debug script (as it tries to connect again and again), please let me know if anything is missing.
FakeSMC.kext along with all your other kexts needs to be installed to /Library/Extensions
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
191,691
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
Core i7-2600K
Graphics
Intel HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
Sure, I have attached the PR files.

I am using CodecCommander in Clover/kexts/Other, along with AppleALC/Lilu.

I have also noticed, that regardless of what I do to set the HDEF layout-id to 13, (also includes Injecting via Clover), it resets itself to "7" . I am not sure if the issue could be because of this. But honestly, I have tried to set with DSDT _DSM, SSDT-HDEF, SSDT-Config, but it won't just set to 13.

P.S.: The thing is that I still do not have Network on this machine, as the QCA9377 is not supported, and this notebook does not come with an Ethernet port. So I had to manually haul bits of the gen_debug script (as it tries to connect again and again), please let me know if anything is missing.
Your confusion with layout-id is caused by trickery going on inside of AppleALC.kext.
 
Top