Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
  4. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Greeting programs...
My name in Nick and I am a total newbie to Hackintoshes!
Never even built a PC, let alone a Hackintosh. I was right into computers when I was a lot younger but that changed into a car obsession so all my money got sunk into building drift cars! Now I'm focusing on my photography and videography so I want a desktop to edit on.

For a number of years I have owned iMac's, MacBook Pro's, MacBook Air's, Mac Mini's, iPhones and an Apple Watch.. Also even a couple of old G5 shape Mac Pro's that I replaced some parts and sold for profits!....
So you could say I'm a bit of a macfanboi and rather engrained into the 'ecosystem'!

Now since the iMac Pro has been released, I've been drooling over that to replace my 2012 iMac 21.5in, but can't justify buying one after spending the money to get a new MacBook Pro last year... (Old one started to go a bit funny so I upgraded.) The MacBook Pro is perfect for editing photos but it's not overly great for 4k video and heats up REAL quick.

So my curiosity turned to Hackintoshes and over the past month or so, I have been browsing the interwebz for information about building said Hackintosh.
I was going to go the X299 path from looking at one of the builds on here.... But the just shy of $3k for a 7980xe.... Probably better to just buy the iMac Pro! Then I was looking at the 7900x or 7820x and even going for the z370 with a 8086k.
Throw in a Vega 64, some NVME's in Raid 0, about 32GB of ram, some water cooling and a buttload of UV/Purple lights!
(How's that idea for a FIRST PC build!! Ambitious or WHAT!?!?!)

THEN.... I a little birdie told me of an impending release of the Z390 chipset and the release of a 9900k with 8 cores of i9 radness with turbo of 5Ghz out of the box!
Sure... It won't be no 18 core monster.... But I think it should be pretty damn fast!