Contribute
Register

HDMI should plug out and plug in after boot

Joined
Jul 15, 2015
Messages
27
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Pro WIFI
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
UHD 630
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
My Hackintosh Build :

- Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Pro wifi.
- intel Core i9-9900K
- Samsung Evo Plus 512 SSD.


I followed the Guide [GUIDE] General Framebuffer Patching Guide (HDMI Black Screen Problem) and my intel iGPU now working well
except that after boot login page appear for 1s or 2s [looks like normal] then it showed a black screen with no HDMI signal
and I had to plug cable out then plug in again no matter if I plugged in from screen side or MoBo side it shows the content after plug in again and everything work like normal with full acceleration and this is about my mac
1594298176240.png


this happened when computer go sleep too I have to plug out and plug in again to work

you can find my EFI Folder in Attachments

Thanks
 

Attachments

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
9,987
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Quadra
Mobile Phone
iOS
I am pleasantly surprised to see that HDMI port is working on Catalina 10.15.5 even though you have hot plug the cable!

What is the make/model of your monitor?

Are you using HDMI-to-HDMI cable? (No adapters?)
 
Joined
Jul 15, 2015
Messages
27
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Pro WIFI
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
UHD 630
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
I am pleasantly surprised to see that HDMI port is working on Catalina 10.15.5 even though you have hot plug the cable!

What is the make/model of your monitor?
Samsung S22D390

1594340947247.png


it's old one and i am intend to replace it soon.
Can it be the problem ?


Are you using HDMI-to-HDMI cable? (No adapters?)
Yes, No Adapters.
 
Last edited:

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
9,987
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Quadra
Mobile Phone
iOS
...
it's old one and i am intend to replace it soon.
Can it be the problem ?
...
Actually you have me baffled because it seems on-board HDMI does work with Catalina. Will run some tests on my end over the next or two to see if I experience the same issue with regard to hot-plug (if I can get HDMI to work at all).
 

slim.jim

Moderator
Joined
Dec 17, 2014
Messages
4,283
Motherboard
MSI Z97 Gaming 9 AC
CPU
i7-4790K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
PowerBook
Mobile Phone
iOS
Actually you have me baffled because it seems on-board HDMI does work with Catalina. Will run some tests on my end over the next or two to see if I experience the same issue with regard to hot-plug (if I can get HDMI to work at all).
I am not using on board HDMI but I am using HDMI from my RX 5700 XT @ 4K60. When I first installed it I had to do the HDMI plug out / plug in after sleep and on reboot. My issue ended up being in the display settings. When I turned off UHD color and put it in RGB mode all of the problems went away. The issue for me was specifically being set in UHD color. I loose HDR but with RGB mode I still get 4:4:4 chroma. If I swap to a DisplayPort 1.4 to HDMI 2.0 adapter then I am able to use UHD color.
 
Joined
Jul 15, 2015
Messages
27
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Pro WIFI
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
UHD 630
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
I am not using on board HDMI but I am using HDMI from my RX 5700 XT @ 4K60. When I first installed it I had to do the HDMI plug out / plug in after sleep and on reboot. My issue ended up being in the display settings. When I turned off UHD color and put it in RGB mode all of the problems went away. The issue for me was specifically being set in UHD color. I loose HDR but with RGB mode I still get 4:4:4 chroma. If I swap to a DisplayPort 1.4 to HDMI 2.0 adapter then I am able to use UHD color.
where I can find the display settings you mean?
can I don this and fix the problem for on-board HDMI too?
 

slim.jim

Moderator
Joined
Dec 17, 2014
Messages
4,283
Motherboard
MSI Z97 Gaming 9 AC
CPU
i7-4790K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
PowerBook
Mobile Phone
iOS
where I can find the display settings you mean?
can I don this and fix the problem for on-board HDMI too?
It would be in the monitors OSD settings. For me I use a Vizio M Series 4K and it is in the settings.
 
Top