Contribute
Register

HD4000 graphics won't work on probook 4440's ML 10.8.5

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Sep 1, 2013
Messages
7
Motherboard
ProBook 4440s
CPU
i5-3210M CPU
Graphics
intel HD4000
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Hi, everyone. I have Mountain Lion 10.8.5 installed on my probook 4440s since November 2014. This week, something happened and the audio stopped working, so I reinstalled HP Installer 6.1.1 to try fix the problem and all went bad. So I have tried many times installing HP Installer and, finally, I made it work, audio and everything... the only exception are the graphics :thumbdown:.
Captura de pantalla 2015-11-23 a la(s) 22.15.27.png
In 'about this Mac' it says that I have a HD 4000 512 mb graphics card, that is true, but actually works like crap. I would appreciate if somebody could help me to fix this flaw.
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
186,728
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi, everyone. I have Mountain Lion 10.8.5 installed on my probook 4440s since November 2014. This week, something happened and the audio stopped working, so I reinstalled HP Installer 6.1.1 to try fix the problem and all went bad. So I have tried many times installing HP Installer and, finally, I made it work, audio and everything... the only exception are the graphics :thumbdown:.
View attachment 163877
In 'about this Mac' it says that I have a HD 4000 512 mb graphics card, that is true, but actually works like crap. I would appreciate if somebody could help me to fix this flaw.

Not a desktop. Moved to laptop support.

Post ioreg: http://www.tonymacx86.com/audio/58368-guide-how-make-copy-ioreg.html. Please, use the IORegistryExplorer v2.1 attached to the post! DO NOT reply with an ioreg from any other version of IORegistryExplorer.app.
 
Joined
Sep 1, 2013
Messages
7
Motherboard
ProBook 4440s
CPU
i5-3210M CPU
Graphics
intel HD4000
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
I certainly don't know how to do that, so I did it in two ways.

1) In the fisrst one I wrote first "sudo touch /System/Library/Extensions", enter and then "sudo kextcache -u /". But it only says:

/ locked; waiting for lock.
Lock acquired; proceeding.


2) In the second way I did it was writing all the command, my password was introduced, but there was no output from the terminal.

I don't know if I did it right. Please help! :silent::silent:
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
186,728
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I certainly don't know how to do that, so I did it in two ways.

1) In the fisrst one I wrote first "sudo touch /System/Library/Extensions", enter and then "sudo kextcache -u /". But it only says:

/ locked; waiting for lock.
Lock acquired; proceeding.


2) In the second way I did it was writing all the command, my password was introduced, but there was no output from the terminal.

I don't know if I did it right. Please help! :silent::silent:

You have to write it all as one line. Use copy/paste.
 
Joined
Sep 1, 2013
Messages
7
Motherboard
ProBook 4440s
CPU
i5-3210M CPU
Graphics
intel HD4000
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
I am ashamed, but when I put that on the terminal nothing appears. Is there another way I can tell you the same information?
 

Attachments

  • Captura de pantalla 2015-11-24 a la(s) 23.50.53.png
    Captura de pantalla 2015-11-24 a la(s) 23.50.53.png
    192.2 KB · Views: 170

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
186,728
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I am ashamed, but when I put that on the terminal nothing appears. Is there another way I can tell you the same information?

It is probably because ML pre-dates the messages I'm expecting (no signed kext restrictions).

From your ioreg, the two graphics kexts are not in sync with each other... Make sure AppleIntelFramebufferCapri.kext and AppleIntelHD4000Graphics.kext are vanilla. If they are patched, make sure they are both from the same (exact) version of 10.8 (eg. both from 10.8.5).
 
Joined
Sep 1, 2013
Messages
7
Motherboard
ProBook 4440s
CPU
i5-3210M CPU
Graphics
intel HD4000
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
If I delete them and reinstall HP Installer again, will they be generated again? or have I to do another thing to get both kext and solve the problem?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top