Contribute
Register

HD 530 + GTX 650, is it possible?

wildwillow

Moderator
Joined
Jun 26, 2012
Messages
4,569
Motherboard
Z170 Deluxe
CPU
i5-6600K
Graphics
GTX 970
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS, Other
WOW, you are a genius :):):) THANK YOU SOOO MUCH !!!! I have been googling and posting screenshots on this forum for 3 days now, and then you come and just fix it right away! Thank you thank you!!!!

Now i only need sound coming from my thunderbolt screen and webcam - do you know anything about that @wildwillow ?
Here is the IOReg for you again :) cant believe it... you ROCK!!!
IOReg? looks like you didn't attach it. Are you connected to the Thunderbolt display when you created your IOReg?
You're welcome and pleased it is now working for you.
Do you mean, Thunderbolt display audio and the webcam is built into the display?
 
Joined
Feb 10, 2011
Messages
79
Motherboard
ASUS Prime X299-Deluxe
CPU
i9-7980XE
Graphics
GTX 1070
Mac
iMac, Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Sorry @wildwillow i have now attached it to the post number #30 (previous)
Yes i am connected to the Thunderbolt display when i created my IOReg.
Yes i mean the Thunderbolt display audio and the webcam yes.
But i dont have any sound on my system at all now.. Got a wireless LucidSound headset with a usb connected to it.

I dont know if it has anything to do with some of this messages popping out on the right hand side of my Thunderbolt screen saying: USB Devices Disabled Unplug the device using too much power to re-enable USB devices.
 

wildwillow

Moderator
Joined
Jun 26, 2012
Messages
4,569
Motherboard
Z170 Deluxe
CPU
i5-6600K
Graphics
GTX 970
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS, Other
Sorry @wildwillow i have now attached it to the post number #30 (previous)
Yes i am connected to the Thunderbolt display when i created my IOReg.
Yes i mean the Thunderbolt display audio and the webcam yes.
But i dont have any sound on my system at all now.. Got a wireless LucidSound headset with a usb connected to it.

I dont know if it has anything to do with some of this messages popping out on the right hand side of my Thunderbolt screen saying: USB Devices Disabled Unplug the device using too much power to re-enable USB devices.
Looking at your IOReg/config.plist you haven't installed onboard audio. You've got the correct patch in place for audio. Your audio codec is ALC1150. You can install this either with the latest MultiBeast or follow toleda's guide here Audio - Realtek ALC AppleHDA [Guide] MultiBeast uses CloverALC, this script can be used as standalone, as can MultiBeast single selections. No need to install everything else.

For Thunderbolt display audio I'm not sure if it available using thunderbolt 3, I would ask in the Audio support forum. I'm interested in your results/answers, I haven't seen anyone use this on their systems as of yet.

I assume that in OS X, using the thunderbolt USB type C port doesn't have enough power hence the message you are receiving. From my very little knowledge with thunderbolt, thunderbolt 3 uses less power than previous generations and as far I know Apple always has high powered USB ports. I'd like to help further with this but you'll have to do some digging around and gather the necessary information. You've come along way already.

Note: HDMI audio is supported when using either your onboard HDMI port or through your GTX980.
 
Joined
Feb 10, 2011
Messages
79
Motherboard
ASUS Prime X299-Deluxe
CPU
i9-7980XE
Graphics
GTX 1070
Mac
iMac, Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Thank you @wildwillow ! I will keep you posted for sure! I will dig some more tomorrow!
 
Joined
Feb 10, 2011
Messages
79
Motherboard
ASUS Prime X299-Deluxe
CPU
i9-7980XE
Graphics
GTX 1070
Mac
iMac, Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
@wildwillow Just a question.. been sitting all day and reading reading on lots of thunderbolt stuff.. But i dont get any smarter :)
What i thought about is maby doing a SSDT-USB by identifying 15 ports and excluding the others, maby that might work ? following this guid: http://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/10-11-0-10-11-3-skylake-starter-guide.179221/

But it could be something related to USB type C port not functioning the way it does on a macbook pro since i am on a Imac 17 SMBIOS. Really not sure what to do here at all :) even when i read up on different stuff related to thunderbolt 3 and USB type C.

I have read that people have successfully implemented sound and camera on their apple thunderbolt display but they used a thunderbolt PCI card, and that is not the case for me at all...

When inside the IOReg and identifying ports by inserting the keyboard and re-insterting to another i have definitely see things happening on HS01 or HS02 etc.. but when removing the StartTech adapter with the thunderbolt cable inserted to the thunderbolt display no ports are triggered. Dont know if i need to go out and buy a USB type C 16 gb flash drive for testing purposes since the adapter not working for me with the thunderbolt display attached. Dont know.. Just thinking and guessing right here.. Any thoughts ?
 

wildwillow

Moderator
Joined
Jun 26, 2012
Messages
4,569
Motherboard
Z170 Deluxe
CPU
i5-6600K
Graphics
GTX 970
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS, Other
What i thought about is maby doing a SSDT-USB by identifying 15 ports and excluding the others, maby that might work ? following this guid: http://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/10-11-0-10-11-3-skylake-starter-guide.179221/
This is well worth doing on any system, it fixes many problems. I wouldn't count on it fixing the display but we don't know until you try it. Even if it doesn't you'll definitely benefit from it.
But it could be something related to USB type C port not functioning the way it does on a macbook pro since i am on a Imac 17 SMBIOS. Really not sure what to do here at all :) even when i read up on different stuff related to thunderbolt 3 and USB type C.
I'm not sure what the difference would be between your Type C port and a Mac's Type C port. As I mentioned the Apple USB ports are generally high powered.
When inside the IOReg and identifying ports by inserting the keyboard and re-insterting to another i have definitely see things happening on HS01 or HS02 etc.. but when removing the StartTech adapter with the thunderbolt cable inserted to the thunderbolt display no ports are triggered. Dont know if i need to go out and buy a USB type C 16 gb flash drive for testing purposes since the adapter not working for me with the thunderbolt display attached.
If you are plugging in a thunderbolt cable into a thunderbolt type C port(multi-purpose) it will not show up under XHC in your IOReg. It isn't using the USB protocol, it will/should show up as a display disconnecting/connecting and under a thunderbolt controller(see screen shot). Connecting up a USB type C drive will most probably show up under SSXX ports under XHC.

Screen Shot 2016-07-05 at 13.55.27.png
 

wildwillow

Moderator
Joined
Jun 26, 2012
Messages
4,569
Motherboard
Z170 Deluxe
CPU
i5-6600K
Graphics
GTX 970
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS, Other
But i dont have any sound on my system
There is some good news and some steps to take for your display audio. toleda has informed me that thunderbolt display audio is possible on hackintoshes. First you need to remove MultiBeast 100 series audio DSDT patch from EFI/Clover/config.plist/ACPI/DSDT/Patches/HDAS > HDEF.
Go to HDMI Audio AppleHDA and download cloverHDMI (credit toleda). This script will check your system codec and download the necessary SSDT's for display audio. Ensure to mount your EFI partition before running the script. Answer (y/n) to the questions. Once the script finishes restart and check System Preferences/Sound/Outputs. If you have any problems using the script or getting display audio configured. At the bottom of the linked thread, see Problem Reporting, attach the necessary files to the linked thread where toleda can diagnose and assist you.
 
Joined
Feb 10, 2011
Messages
79
Motherboard
ASUS Prime X299-Deluxe
CPU
i9-7980XE
Graphics
GTX 1070
Mac
iMac, Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Last edited:

wildwillow

Moderator
Joined
Jun 26, 2012
Messages
4,569
Motherboard
Z170 Deluxe
CPU
i5-6600K
Graphics
GTX 970
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS, Other
Hey @wildwillow, thank you! i will try it now!

I removed it with clover config. And installed the toleda drivers located here https://github.com/toleda/audio_CloverHDMI/blob/master/audio_cloverHDMI-110.command.zip
clicked y/n on all.. but nothing... no sound from thunderbolt screen. Probably it is because there is no support for TB3 and skylake at all...
Gather the necessary files requested for problem reporting in the link from Post #37. Reply to the linked thread with the files so that toleda can help you.
 
Joined
Feb 10, 2011
Messages
79
Motherboard
ASUS Prime X299-Deluxe
CPU
i9-7980XE
Graphics
GTX 1070
Mac
iMac, Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
I will do that @wildwillow :) is there a way to tell mac osx to use a port as a thunderbolt port ?
 
Top