Contribute
Register

HD 530 + GTX 650, is it possible?

Joined
Feb 10, 2011
Messages
79
Motherboard
ASUS Prime X299-Deluxe
CPU
i9-7980XE
Graphics
GTX 1070
Mac
iMac, Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
@wildwillow the gods have sent you for me :) YES PLEASE!!! Got my thunderbolt display working with the startech thunderbolt adapter and it is outputting to a second screen through the HDMI on this board! But i am still hungry :) i want it to work with the NVIDIA card as well! Thank you thank you!!
 

wildwillow

Moderator
Joined
Jun 26, 2012
Messages
4,569
Motherboard
Z170 Deluxe
CPU
i5-6600K
Graphics
GTX 970
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS, Other
@wildwillow the gods have sent you for me :) YES PLEASE!!! Got my thunderbolt display working with the startech thunderbolt adapter and it is outputting to a second screen through the HDMI on this board! But i am still hungry :) i want it to work with the NVIDIA card as well! Thank you thank you!!
Upload your config.plist from EFI/Clover/, remove S/N MLB and ROM if you've added it.
In the meantime download IORegistry Explorer from the bottom of post#1 here [Guide] How to Make a Copy of IOReg | tonymacx86.com
HDMI to thunderbolt?
 
Joined
Feb 10, 2011
Messages
79
Motherboard
ASUS Prime X299-Deluxe
CPU
i9-7980XE
Graphics
GTX 1070
Mac
iMac, Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Thank you @wildwillow !

I have apple thunderbolt display screen and a Dell screen. The startech adapter goes into type-c connector on the motherboard, it outputs video from intelHD 530. The dell screen is connected to the HDMI port on the motherboard. Both of the work.

Ok, i will Upload my config.plist from EFI/Clover/ just some questions :) .... S/N is the serial number but where do i find the other stuff ? MLB and ROM <--- have not added this to the config.plist.

Thank you for your help!
 

wildwillow

Moderator
Joined
Jun 26, 2012
Messages
4,569
Motherboard
Z170 Deluxe
CPU
i5-6600K
Graphics
GTX 970
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS, Other
I have apple thunderbolt display screen and a Dell screen. The startech adapter goes into type-c connector on the motherboard, it outputs video from intelHD 530. The dell screen is connected to the HDMI port on the motherboard. Both of the work.
Both of these work on their own or together but just not with the 680? now I'm confused.

Ok, i will Upload my config.plist from EFI/Clover/ just some questions :) .... S/N is the serial number but where do i find the other stuff ? MLB and ROM <--- have not added this to the config.plist.
If you haven't added them its irrelevant. I wanted to keep your variables safe.
 
Joined
Oct 19, 2015
Messages
23
Motherboard
Gigabyte Aorus B360 Gaming 3 WIFI
CPU
i5-8400
Graphics
GTX 1060
Mac
MacBook, MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
I can now boot with both HD 530 and GTX 650 (the Clover fix for boot with Nvidia GPU's on iMac 17,1 didn't work anymore so I Used AGDPfix.app and it's working) But I still don't have QuickSync nor the Airplay Icon. I tried using HD 530 as headless but it doesn't work either.
 
Joined
Feb 10, 2011
Messages
79
Motherboard
ASUS Prime X299-Deluxe
CPU
i9-7980XE
Graphics
GTX 1070
Mac
iMac, Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Ok, i will try to explane :)
I have NVIDIA 980 inside. <-- this one does not work with the intelHD 530.
I have connected 2 screens to the intelHD530 but i want to connect a third screen to the GTX 980 this is where the problem is.
I boot up with the PCI (meaning gtx 980) but after apple logo the intelHd530 is kicking in. Because i have enabled internal graphics in BIOS. If i dont enable this option and only boot with GTX 980 the intelHD530 does not work obviously.. And it is the same with setting the BIOS to boot with the iGPU only intelHD530 works and not NVIDIA GTX 980.

Here is my config.plist
 

Attachments

Joined
Feb 10, 2011
Messages
79
Motherboard
ASUS Prime X299-Deluxe
CPU
i9-7980XE
Graphics
GTX 1070
Mac
iMac, Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Fl0r!an I have tested this! iGPU is set as primary now. Internal graphics is enabled. No video output on nvidia GTX 980 whatsoever.. in System Information --> Graphics/Displays i can see the NVIDIA card fully with 4Gb etc.. but no display there and the video output is not there as well... :(

Another things is that i dont have sound coming out of the apple thunderbolt display, neither does camera work or the USB ports on the back..

@wildwillow i have downloaded the IORegistry Explorer.

Thanks for your Help guys!!! Appreciated!
 
Last edited:

wildwillow

Moderator
Joined
Jun 26, 2012
Messages
4,569
Motherboard
Z170 Deluxe
CPU
i5-6600K
Graphics
GTX 970
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS, Other
I have connected 2 screens to the intelHD530
You have 2 screens booting with HD530? or do you plug another in at the desktop?
I have tested this! iGPU is set as primary now. Internal graphics is enabled. No video output on nvidia GTX 980 whatsoever.. in System Information --> Graphics/Displays i can see the NVIDIA card fully with 4Gb etc.. but no display there and the video output is not there as well...
Internal graphics need to be set as primary in the BIOS. Boot with your system set to IGPU first so that it will recognise your 980(even if you have no signal to the screen. Then make a copy of IOReg and attach it here.
 
Top