Contribute
Register

HD 530 + GTX 650, is it possible?

Joined
Oct 19, 2015
Messages
23
Motherboard
Gigabyte Aorus B360 Gaming 3 WIFI
CPU
i5-8400
Graphics
GTX 1060
Mac
MacBook, MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
First of all, I've been looking in the forum for days before I considered to create a new thread, but I just didn't find an answer.

I made my Skylake hackintosh 4 mounths ago. I first used MacPro3,1 profile but I wasn't entirely satisfied with the performance, I felt like the processor wasn't being as smooth as it should (in Windows it is really smooth). I tried to change to iMac17,1 to have a Skylake profile, it feels now better but now I can't boot with both Intel HD 530 and Nvidia GTX 650.

I do some video editing in Final Cut Pro X and even though the GTX is better than the iGPU in OpenCL I would like to have QuickSync activated.

Booting with both GPU's makes the monitor to Sleep (I already did the fix to get the Nvidia Working and it does when HD530 isn't activated).

I can boot with both activated and nv_disable=1 but I get no acceleration. However, I get the Airplay Icon and testing an export on iMovie or FCPX QuickSync seems to be working, but it's impossible to use. (I'm booting with the DVI of the GTX)

Booting with just the GTX 650 works fine, and obviously no QuickSync.

Booting with just the HD 530 works fine, but there's no AirPlay icon and iMovie and FCPX seems to not being using QuickSync.

Has anyone get those 2 GPU's working together using iMac 17,1 profile?
 

Fl0r!an

Moderator
Joined
Jul 6, 2010
Messages
2,683
Motherboard
Asus Z170M-Plus
CPU
i5-6600K
Graphics
R9 280
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
On my Skylake rig (currently with GTX 780) I found two different ways to use both GPUs concurrently:
  1. Set iGPU = Primary in BIOS (not default when PCIE graphics is installed) & inject Intel. This will fully enable both GPUs in OS X.
  2. Don't inject Intel, PCIE=Primary: This will make the iGPU work as headless OpenCL device (maybe also QuickSync?)
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 10, 2011
Messages
79
Motherboard
ASUS Prime X299-Deluxe
CPU
i9-7980XE
Graphics
GTX 1070
Mac
iMac, Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
@FlOr!an Can you explain in more details how you managed to make both the IGPU working and NVIDIA GTX ?
 

Fl0r!an

Moderator
Joined
Jul 6, 2010
Messages
2,683
Motherboard
Asus Z170M-Plus
CPU
i5-6600K
Graphics
R9 280
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
I didn't do more than I described in my previous post. The only settings you need to touch are:
  • iGPU = Primary or PCIE=Primary in your BIOS
  • Inject/Intel = True or False
  • In case you're injecting Intel: Adjust ig-platform-id (can be done in Multibeast)
 
Joined
Feb 10, 2011
Messages
79
Motherboard
ASUS Prime X299-Deluxe
CPU
i9-7980XE
Graphics
GTX 1070
Mac
iMac, Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Ok,

I set my BIOS settings on IGPU.
i have injected intel to true.
I have video output on the IGPU but no video output on my nvidia GTX 980
What should i adjust the ig-platform-id to ?

Thank you for your help!
 
Joined
Feb 10, 2011
Messages
79
Motherboard
ASUS Prime X299-Deluxe
CPU
i9-7980XE
Graphics
GTX 1070
Mac
iMac, Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Hi, thanks for the reply :)
Yes, it works if i boot with PCI <-- meaning the GTX 980
But than only the GTX 980 work and no video output on my Inte HD 530 :(

Thanks
 
Joined
Feb 10, 2011
Messages
79
Motherboard
ASUS Prime X299-Deluxe
CPU
i9-7980XE
Graphics
GTX 1070
Mac
iMac, Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
hmmm.. cant find that option on my GA-Z170X-UD5 TH BIOS :(
 

wildwillow

Moderator
Joined
Jun 26, 2012
Messages
4,569
Motherboard
Z170 Deluxe
CPU
i5-6600K
Graphics
GTX 970
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS, Other
hmmm.. cant find that option on my GA-Z170X-UD5 TH BIOS :(
Using the Z170-UD5-TH has only an HDMI port. HD530 framebuffer has only eDP connectors. Edits to the framebuffer could possibly make your HD530 HDMI port display graphics along with your 680. If you'd like to try I'm willing to help.
 
Top