Contribute
Register

Having Trouble Updating Directly to High Sierra from Sierra

Joined
Jul 25, 2017
Messages
14
Motherboard
ASUS IX Maximus Hero
CPU
i7 7700k
Graphics
GTX 1070
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi there,

I tried upgrading to high sierra from sierra using the alternative guide in the first post of this thread.
after typing A to agree and rebooting and choosing Boot Mac OS the progress bar stalls.

some steps i took that may or may not help figuring out whats happening:

- cloned my hackintosh drive using CCC and then copied over the EFI. (took me a while to figure out i had to copy the EFI over). My new cloned drive was bootable.
- I upgraded Clover to v2.5k-5103.
-put fakesmc and usbinjectall kexts into my EFI. Weird thing is when i did this the cloned drive wouldnt boot. So i deleted them and it boots. I went and checked the /EFI/CLOVER/kexts/Other/ in my original drive and that folder is empty. Is this normal? i thought there were kexts i installed a few years back when i built this hackintosh.... its been working fine with the exception of random reboots here and there.
- I also just realized i didn't update clover configurator. But all i did with it before this process was mount the EFI on both drives to access the EFI. Would that affect something? I went to the mackie100 site to get the latest version because the check updates wasnt working in the app itself

any insight would be greatly appreciated.

thanks
 

Attachments

  • IMG_0409.jpg
    IMG_0409.jpg
    3.1 MB · Views: 17
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 30, 2010
Messages
673
Motherboard
GA-Z270XP-SLI
CPU
i5-7600K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
Classic Mac
  1. Classic
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Hi there,

I tried upgrading to high sierra from sierra using the alternative guide in the first post of this thread.
after typing A to agree and rebooting and choosing Boot Mac OS the progress bar stalls.

some steps i took that may or may not help figuring out whats happening:

- cloned my hackintosh drive using CCC and then copied over the EFI. (took me a while to figure out i had to copy the EFI over). My new cloned drive was bootable.
- I upgraded Clover to v2.5k-5103.
-put fakesmc and usbinjectall kexts into my EFI. Weird thing is when i did this the cloned drive wouldnt boot. So i deleted them and it boots. I went and checked the /EFI/CLOVER/kexts/Other/ in my original drive and that folder is empty. Is this normal? i thought there were kexts i installed a few years back when i built this hackintosh.... its been working fine with the exception of random reboots here and there.
- I also just realized i didn't update clover configurator. But all i did with it before this process was mount the EFI on both drives to access the EFI. Would that affect something? I went to the mackie100 site to get the latest version because the check updates wasnt working in the app itself

any insight would be greatly appreciated.

thanks
You likely have some other kexts in /L/E necessary for you to boot. Look in /L/E to see if that is the case, and move them to the efi if that's were you want to have them rather than /L/E. By putting fakesmc in the /efi/Clover/kexts/other folder you may not be loading kexts you need from /L/E. In general, you're better off choosing one or the other location, but not both. That said, there may still be something amiss since you say you're experiencing random reboots.
 
Joined
May 31, 2015
Messages
44
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z97X-UD3H
CPU
Intel Core i7 4790K (LGA 1150)
Graphics
H4600 (embedded in i7 4790K)
Mac
  1. iMac
Same as @ghorwith and also carefull for the newer versions of clover, the driver folder changed, it's now drivers/UEFI/, read about it more. Also update all your kext with acidanthera's version, this guy is a goddam genius.
 
Joined
Jul 25, 2017
Messages
14
Motherboard
ASUS IX Maximus Hero
CPU
i7 7700k
Graphics
GTX 1070
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi thanks,

I reinstalled clover properly... i think. I used this guide. It still hangs at the same place.
ghorwith - I checked /L/E and i dont see fakesmc or usbinjectall. I don't know how my system is working without them. To my understanding they are required no? What kexts do you think i should move to /efi/Clover/kexts/other?
 
Joined
Jul 25, 2017
Messages
14
Motherboard
ASUS IX Maximus Hero
CPU
i7 7700k
Graphics
GTX 1070
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Ok I finally got it working. After i reinstalled clover properly, i copied over fakesmc and usbinjectall into /efi/Clover/kexts/other and it worked. Now i'm having a couple of my external drives connected through usb randomly disappearing while trying to clone a backup.
 
Joined
Apr 30, 2010
Messages
673
Motherboard
GA-Z270XP-SLI
CPU
i5-7600K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
Classic Mac
  1. Classic
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Need to see the troubleshooting files (look in /threads/tool-generate-proper-problem-reporting-files.235953/). BTW, USBInjectAll should only be used when you're defining which usb ports you want to keep active and which ones to disable to keep within the 15 port limit
 
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 7, 2016
Messages
28
Motherboard
GIGABYTE Z170 UD5
CPU
INTEL Core i7 6700K 4Ghz
Graphics
GIGABYTE GEFORCE GTX 980 4Go VRAM
The original post is about upgrading from Sierra to High Sierra.

We're now in 2020 and I can no longer postpone an upgrade from El Capitan (10.11.6) to High Sierra (10.13.6). Does the method explained in the original post work for that ?
As many of you probably already have tried this :
-Are there things I should be aware of when upgrading with the following build ?
-Which version of Clover Bootloader should I update to ?
-Which NVIDIA Webdriver should I use ?

INTEL Core i7 6700K 4Ghz
GIGABYTE Z170 UD5
GIGABYTE GEFORCE GTX 980 4Go VRAM
G.Skill Ripjaws DDR4 32 Go RAM
SSD for OS install and Applications
HDD for Projects and files
OS X El Capitan 10.11.6

Thank you for your knowledge.
 
Joined
Apr 30, 2010
Messages
673
Motherboard
GA-Z270XP-SLI
CPU
i5-7600K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
Classic Mac
  1. Classic
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
The original post is about upgrading from Sierra to High Sierra.

We're now in 2020 and I can no longer postpone an upgrade from El Capitan (10.11.6) to High Sierra (10.13.6). Does the method explained in the original post work for that ?
As many of you probably already have tried this :
-Are there things I should be aware of when upgrading with the following build ?
-Which version of Clover Bootloader should I update to ?
-Which NVIDIA Webdriver should I use ?

INTEL Core i7 6700K 4Ghz
GIGABYTE Z170 UD5
GIGABYTE GEFORCE GTX 980 4Go VRAM
G.Skill Ripjaws DDR4 32 Go RAM
SSD for OS install and Applications
HDD for Projects and files
OS X El Capitan 10.11.6

Thank you for your knowledge.
The original post is about upgrading from Sierra to High Sierra.

We're now in 2020 and I can no longer postpone an upgrade from El Capitan (10.11.6) to High Sierra (10.13.6). Does the method explained in the original post work for that ?
As many of you probably already have tried this :
-Are there things I should be aware of when upgrading with the following build ?
-Which version of Clover Bootloader should I update to ?
-Which NVIDIA Webdriver should I use ?

INTEL Core i7 6700K 4Ghz
GIGABYTE Z170 UD5
GIGABYTE GEFORCE GTX 980 4Go VRAM
G.Skill Ripjaws DDR4 32 Go RAM
SSD for OS install and Applications
HDD for Projects and files
OS X El Capitan 10.11.6

Thank you for your knowledge.
Shouldn't be an issue; not sure why you selected HS, but if there isn't a specific reason, you might consider instead going to Mojave.
 
Joined
Sep 7, 2016
Messages
28
Motherboard
GIGABYTE Z170 UD5
CPU
INTEL Core i7 6700K 4Ghz
Graphics
GIGABYTE GEFORCE GTX 980 4Go VRAM
Shouldn't be an issue; not sure why you selected HS, but if there isn't a specific reason, you might consider instead going to Mojave.
Because I've heard that my graphics card won't work in Mojave and later
 
Joined
Apr 30, 2010
Messages
673
Motherboard
GA-Z270XP-SLI
CPU
i5-7600K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
Classic Mac
  1. Classic
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
You are quite correct. Sorry, I didn't look at your profile carefully. The GTX 980 will not work with Mojave or Catalina. IMHO, given your investment in a good working hack, you could stay with HS for now and save for a new AMD card (the RX580 can be found for ~$170)
 
Top