Contribute
Register

Haswell-E + X99 Motherboard Temporary Guide - OS X 10.10

Joined
Nov 8, 2012
Messages
13
Motherboard
Gigabyte X99m Gaming 5
CPU
i7-5820K
Graphics
GTX 950
Mac
  1. Mac Pro


EDIT 2015: Haswell-E support can be easily patched in Clover using config.plist. This site recommends Clover for X99/Haswell-E configurations.

I thkn there is a gap in the Unibeast installation techinque and the Clover way TonyMac is recommending. Can anyone clearify a little? I'm getting stuck in a boot loop after creating the clover installer.
 
Joined
Aug 8, 2014
Messages
110
Motherboard
GA-X99-UD4
CPU
5960x @ 4.2
Graphics
2 x 980TI
Do you think I can follow and use these installation procedures with this X99 build?...

-Thanks in Advance.


==================

X99 Build

Intel-Xeon (E5-2670 v3 ) Haswell-E ( 12-core, 24 threads ) ( LGA 2011 ) ( 2.2 - 3.0ghz )

MotherBoard = Gigabyte LGA2011-3 Intel X99 SLI ATX DDR4 3000 Motherboard GA-X99-SLI - GA-X99-UD4

Memory - 64gb of DDR4 2133 MHz memory modules

Drives:
(2) Samsung SM951 265gb. PCIe SSD's in Raid 10

Graphics:
(2) AMD Saphire 290x's in SLI config.


All I know is that I spent days trying to get a xeon working in my rock solid x79 board. For the x99 I went with the 5960x. It may seem like a couple tweaks and you're home with that setup, but unless you don't mind going solo and figuring out the custom kernel stuff I'd stay away from xeon in hackintoshes.

Just my 2 cents. I'd love to know if you get it working though. You should check out the 2696 v3 on eBay and geekbench scores, if you do go xeon. Was never officially released by Intel but it benchmarks close to the 2699 v3 for around 1500 bucks. 18 cores!!!

Good luck
 
Joined
Apr 7, 2012
Messages
141
Motherboard
Asus Maximus X Formula
CPU
i7 8700K
Graphics
VEGA
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
All I know is that I spent days trying to get a xeon working in my rock solid x79 board. For the x99 I went with the 5960x. It may seem like a couple tweaks and you're home with that setup, but unless you don't mind going solo and figuring out the custom kernel stuff I'd stay away from xeon in hackintoshes.

Just my 2 cents. I'd love to know if you get it working though. You should check out the 2696 v3 on eBay and geekbench scores, if you do go xeon. Was never officially released by Intel but it benchmarks close to the 2699 v3 for around 1500 bucks. 18 cores!!!

Good luck

Did you ever manage to install El Capitan on 5960?
 
Joined
Oct 31, 2015
Messages
9
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
I'm still struggling with my X99 build. I've had the reboot loop issue as well as others, depending on the boot arguments and which type of partition I create. Regretting attempting an X99 build for my first one for sure....
 
Joined
Jun 18, 2015
Messages
1
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
I have the same problem, did you ever figure it out the solution to this issue ?
 
Joined
Jul 24, 2011
Messages
25
Motherboard
CorebookX(2021)
CPU
i5-8259U
Graphics
Iris Plus 655
Well it seems there are no more guys struggling with [PCI configuration begin] on X99 mobo but I'm still.
Flag PCIRootUID=1 breaks the first but stops at the second.
I've been trying to install 10.10.5 using latest clover and tested almost everything which had have been mentioned in lotta threads, such as VoodooTSC, FakeSMC, and each boot flags.(I think kernel patching is no longer necessary)

BTW my hardware is MSI X99S SLI PLUS, GTX970, Xeon E5-2630v3ES
When it comes to make a DSDT, there appears an unfixable error in PCI0 section.
I suspect it is what prevents me from getting through PCI configuration but I don'know whether
it's the problem of my mobo or ES-Xeon(old engineering sample is really inexpensive).
Maybe I have to buy another CPU? Need someone's expertise...

EDIT:
AMI Clean_Compile fixed DSDT error and I got regular E5-2620v3, still the third PCI configuration begin.
I'v read that both my board X99S SLI PLUS and CPU 2620v3 are OSX compatible but my machine just won't boot up :(
 
Joined
Aug 8, 2014
Messages
110
Motherboard
GA-X99-UD4
CPU
5960x @ 4.2
Graphics
2 x 980TI
I'm starting to glaze over from all the reading I've been doing, I thought I'd go ahead and post my question.

I've been running successfully with the x99-ud4 and a 5960x for the past year and I've recently upgraded my bootloader to clover and all is well. So to my question, I'd like to replace the 5960x with a 2699 v3 and I'm curious if anyone knows what it may take to get that running?

Thanks in advance
 
Joined
Apr 7, 2012
Messages
141
Motherboard
Asus Maximus X Formula
CPU
i7 8700K
Graphics
VEGA
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
I'm starting to glaze over from all the reading I've been doing, I thought I'd go ahead and post my question.

I've been running successfully with the x99-ud4 and a 5960x for the past year and I've recently upgraded my bootloader to clover and all is well. So to my question, I'd like to replace the 5960x with a 2699 v3 and I'm curious if anyone knows what it may take to get that running?

Thanks in advance

It seems that with latest development, 10.11.5 works just fine with Xeons.

I'm not sure if it works with 5960X, haven't tried yet. A bit confused about why nobody tried just faking 5960X as some 8-core Xeon...
 
Joined
Nov 6, 2012
Messages
74
Motherboard
Gigabyte X99 Designare
CPU
Broadwell-E 10 core i7-6950X
Graphics
EVGA Titan Black, 980Ti
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
sudo perl -pi -e 's|\x74\x11\x83\xF8\x3C|\x74\x11\x83\xF8\x3F|g' /Volumes/USB/System/Library/Kernels/kernel
Hi. Can someone explain what this command does exactly? I'm not familiar with perl syntax. But I duplicated my kernel file and ran this on it, and diff shows no difference between the before and after.
 
Joined
Oct 4, 2014
Messages
254
Motherboard
ASUS X299 Sage/10g
CPU
i9-10980XE
Graphics
Radeon VII
It seems that with latest development, 10.11.5 works just fine with Xeons.

I'm not sure if it works with 5960X, haven't tried yet. A bit confused about why nobody tried just faking 5960X as some 8-core Xeon...
Wait, I can't my Haswell-E Xeon into Turbo at all in Yosemite. This is fixed in El Capitan?
 
Top