Contribute
Register

Handoff Option Missing in Yosemite

Joined
May 26, 2013
Messages
57
Motherboard
MSI Z77A-G45 LGA 1155 Intel Z77
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
iOS
Hello.

I just installed Yosemite Release and everything is working fine except one thing. There is no option in System Preferences -> General that states "Allow Handoff between this Mac and your iCloud devices". My MacBook Pro Retina has this option so I know it's supposed to be there. Is there a way to set this with the `default` command or some how get this option in the General menu? Any help is appreciated!
:banghead:
 

P1LGRIM

Moderator
Joined
Mar 2, 2012
Messages
23,691
Motherboard
Lenovo ThinkStation p300 ⌘
CPU
i7-4790K
Graphics
HD 4600
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Classic Mac
Power Mac
Mobile Phone
iOS
Hello.

I just installed Yosemite Release and everything is working fine except one thing. There is no option in System Preferences -> General that states "Allow Handoff between this Mac and your iCloud devices". My MacBook Pro Retina has this option so I know it's supposed to be there. Is there a way to set this with the `default` command or some how get this option in the General menu? Any help is appreciated!
What system definition are you using ?
 
Joined
May 26, 2013
Messages
57
Motherboard
MSI Z77A-G45 LGA 1155 Intel Z77
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
iOS
I tried Mac Pro 3,1 and it wasn't there now I'm using iMac 14,1 and it still isn't showing up.
 
Joined
May 26, 2013
Messages
57
Motherboard
MSI Z77A-G45 LGA 1155 Intel Z77
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
iOS
You have to have the necessary hardware and modified kexts for it to work. It's not as simple as the proper SMBIOS setting.
What kind of hardware and kexts?
 
Joined
Mar 9, 2011
Messages
639
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 UD
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
iMac
Mobile Phone
iOS
I tried Mac Pro 3,1 and it wasn't there now I'm using iMac 14,1 and it still isn't showing up.
I thought the option was removed from system preferences in the late betas? You say it's still in your real mac? Handoff is dependant on bluetooth 4.0 and wifi. Ideally you would have an apple combined bt and wifi card. If you don't, it's a hit and miss. The usb bt is a no go and also the atheros wifi cards

I just bought this http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/ABWB-WIFI...ther_Computing_Networking&hash=item2ed608e2df cheapest I found already assembled
 
Joined
May 26, 2013
Messages
57
Motherboard
MSI Z77A-G45 LGA 1155 Intel Z77
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
iOS
I thought the option was removed from system preferences in the late betas? You say it's still in your real mac? Handoff is dependant on bluetooth 4.0 and wifi. Ideally you would have an apple combined bt and wifi card. If you don't, it's a hit and miss. The usb bt is a no go and also the atheros wifi cards
Ahhh okay that makes sense. I don't have blue tooth nor do I have WiFi in this machine. ;)
Is there a USB Bluetooth adapter I can purchase for my hackintosh so I can use the Handoff feature? I really like the feature and would love to utilize it.
 
Joined
Mar 9, 2011
Messages
639
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 UD
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
iMac
Mobile Phone
iOS
Ahhh okay that makes sense. I don't have blue tooth nor do I have WiFi in this machine. ;)
Is there a USB Bluetooth adapter I can purchase for my hackintosh so I can use the Handoff feature? I really like the feature and would love to utilize it.
I gave you the link. Thats in the UK. Are you in the US?
 

P1LGRIM

Moderator
Joined
Mar 2, 2012
Messages
23,691
Motherboard
Lenovo ThinkStation p300 ⌘
CPU
i7-4790K
Graphics
HD 4600
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Classic Mac
Power Mac
Mobile Phone
iOS
Joined
Mar 9, 2011
Messages
639
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 UD
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
iMac
Mobile Phone
iOS
Top