Contribute
Register

"HackinWorth" Skylake Value Rig - El Capitan/i5-6500/GA-H170-Gaming 3/GTX 970/16GB

Joined
Jul 1, 2016
Messages
134
Motherboard
GA-H110M-A
CPU
i3-6100
Graphics
RX 560
Mac
iMac, Mac mini
Hi mots,
I plan to build new hackintosh. From both of your build, which is easier to install and less problem to solve? H170 or H110?

1) Skylake H170 "Value" build GA-H170-Gaming 3 | i5 6500 | GTX 970
2) Skylake H110 "Econo" build Other | i3 6100 | GTX 950

I think I also read that you have problem with dual channel RAM in other thread, did you able to solve it yet?

Appreciate your input.
Thank you.
Hi, I would say that both are very similar in that regard, but the H170 "Value" build is on the recommended hardware list (buyers guide) and would likely be the safer bet. I am using dual channel (2x8GB) in that machine without issues.

From my research, the dual channel RAM issues I was having with the "Econo" build are very likely the RAM module I was trying to use. I found others having the same issues and they replaced their RAM with another brand and had better luck. It may not even be the brand, but the module I had in my hand. If you do some searching, you will find the threads I am referring to. That said, I am nowhere near 100% sure that the MB/H110 didn't have something to do with it. It only has two slots and it is a bit finicky when trying to use them both. I do have 16GB in the "Econo" machine now, but it is just using a single 16GB module.

The video cards are of the same complexity on both machines (very simple). You will just need to use the Nvidia driver for the specific version/revision of the OS you are using. It has to be updated every time the OS is updated, but it is very simple to do.
 
Joined
Jun 9, 2011
Messages
38
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-H110M-DS2
CPU
i3-6100
Graphics
GTX 650
Hi, I would say that both are very similar in that regard, but the H170 "Value" build is on the recommended hardware list (buyers guide) and would likely be the safer bet. I am using dual channel (2x8GB) in that machine without issues.

From my research, the dual channel RAM issues I was having with the "Econo" build are very likely the RAM module I was trying to use. I found others having the same issues and they replaced their RAM with another brand and had better luck. It may not even be the brand, but the module I had in my hand. If you do some searching, you will find the threads I am referring to. That said, I am nowhere near 100% sure that the MB/H110 didn't have something to do with it. It only has two slots and it is a bit finicky when trying to use them both. I do have 16GB in the "Econo" machine now, but it is just using a single 16GB module.

The video cards are of the same complexity on both machines (very simple). You will just need to use the Nvidia driver for the specific version/revision of the OS you are using. It has to be updated every time the OS is updated, but it is very simple to do.
Thank you very much for your reply. It's really help a lot.
 
Joined
May 11, 2017
Messages
9
Motherboard
GA-H170 Gaming 3
CPU
i5-6500K
Graphics
HD 530
Mac
MacBook Pro
Followed this guide for this on machine in my profile. Thank you. Audio didn't work right away, but tools on Toledo's github resource page worked for the 1150 series. I had to add the SSDT-HDEF-HDAS-1.aml file and audio is great. I don't know enough about this to know what it did :)

USB ports are not all working and all working at slow, presumably USB2 speeds. That's the next step.

Again, thanks for the build info and all the great resources here.
 

Stork

Admin
Staff member
Joined
Sep 21, 2010
Messages
12,782
Motherboard
ASUS ROG MAXIMUS X HERO Z370
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Power Mac, PowerBook
Mobile Phone
iOS
psynchro,
In the MultiBeast v9.1 announcement, there is the following note:
Apple has changed the behavior for kextcache in Sierra. You need to install Audio after you are booted from the destination disk to get audio to work properly. See here for details.
Click on the "here" in the quote for more information.
 
Joined
May 11, 2017
Messages
9
Motherboard
GA-H170 Gaming 3
CPU
i5-6500K
Graphics
HD 530
Mac
MacBook Pro
THANK you everyone. My machine now works well in almost every way I would like it to. All USB 2 & 3 ports, audio front and back...sleep...wake, everything. Everything I needed I found here on Tonymac. If you're not particularly good at all the troubleshooting as I am, my experiences below might help you.

I have the H170 Gaming 3 v 1.0 running 10.11 using Intel Graphics with 16 GB of RAM. I don't understand many of the tools I used, but here's how I got everything working:

0) Before beginning the install I had a lot of hardware issues. For one, the memory I bought didn't work on BIOS F2 or later. I traded it back for something else (I'm in Korea so it's all Samsung) and it ran on F4 fine, so I didn't upgrade. My 830 SSD also didn't work, and I don't know why, but I switched cables and locations and now it works. I might have a bad port. Everything I used to make this, including the CPU are used parts from the famous PC room (gaming dungeons) and are probably not in the best shape.
1) I followed the 10.11 and OP's guide.
2) On the first fresh OS X boot the screen flickers and USB ports work only in USB 2 speeds. The graphics problem is because on-board Intel is not installed. Audio doesn't work. I put Clover, Clover Configurator, and MultiBeast on the machine.
3) I run MultiBeast but only select what I need. I accidentally deleted a screenshot of the config but as OP mentioned above, don't install the audio drivers. Install Fake SMC, Atheros E2200 ethernet 2.2, USB increase max port limit and 7/8/9 support, UEFI boot mode, Intel HD 530, Mac Pro 3,1 (the iMac definitions gave me more USB issues). Using 3,1 works much better for me. Before being able to use MultiBeast, I tried a variety of USB fixes that worked with varying success on later iMac definitions. Unfortunately, I couldn't boot off a few of them :rolleyes:

Audio: Copy SSDT-HDEF-HDAS-1.aml onto EFI (search for directions)
Then, I ran audio_cloverALC-120_v1.0f3.command
and like magic, audio works. For the record, audio that is quality audio that you really have to work for sounds far sweeter.

I'm omitting all the things I tried that didn't work. Now that I know what works, I was able to install everything in less than an hour just to make a really clean install.

Oh, and since I had an apple keyboard, Logitech mouse, Eizo monitor (we do a lot of color correction), nice speakers and SSD, I spent less than $400 on this. It feels much more responsive than my 13" 2016 MBP for video editing (probably because it has double the memory at 16 GB), however Brucex is 1:19 on this machine, 1:09 on the MBP running Sierra, and :48 on the 2013 iMac (which has a GPU). I'm not disappointed because skimming and moving chunks of video files without hiccups, and using shortcuts that move as fast as my thoughts do is more important to me. I just played around for 10 minutes today with a heavy file and it felt great. Definitely more responsive than the iMac and MacBook Pro. With a GPU installed, I expect more out of it.

My next steps:

- Get an AMD GPU. Currently the R9 280x is prohibitively expensive here so I'm kinda just...waiting for something to happen.
- I also want a USB C / 3.1 PCIe for external drives
- install more internal hard drives (currently I have one 2TB)
- get a Bluetooth card for an apple mouse.
- Test peripherals like my midi keyboard.
- Install CPU temp monitoring software
- Oh yeah and a big one: I'd like to use my studio 2013 5K iMac as a monitor in tandem with the Eizo...perhaps I need to get a thunderbolt card to do this? It would be nice to do it through USB C...

Thanks again community!
 
Joined
Jul 1, 2016
Messages
134
Motherboard
GA-H110M-A
CPU
i3-6100
Graphics
RX 560
Mac
iMac, Mac mini
THANK you everyone. My machine now works well in almost every way I would like it to. All USB 2 & 3 ports, audio front and back...sleep...wake, everything. Everything I needed I found here on Tonymac. If you're not particularly good at all the troubleshooting as I am, my experiences below might help you.

I have the H170 Gaming 3 v 1.0 running 10.11 using Intel Graphics with 16 GB of RAM. I don't understand many of the tools I used, but here's how I got everything working:

0) Before beginning the install I had a lot of hardware issues. For one, the memory I bought didn't work on BIOS F2 or later. I traded it back for something else (I'm in Korea so it's all Samsung) and it ran on F4 fine, so I didn't upgrade. My 830 SSD also didn't work, and I don't know why, but I switched cables and locations and now it works. I might have a bad port. Everything I used to make this, including the CPU are used parts from the famous PC room (gaming dungeons) and are probably not in the best shape.
1) I followed the 10.11 and OP's guide.
2) On the first fresh OS X boot the screen flickers and USB ports work only in USB 2 speeds. The graphics problem is because on-board Intel is not installed. Audio doesn't work. I put Clover, Clover Configurator, and MultiBeast on the machine.
3) I run MultiBeast but only select what I need. I accidentally deleted a screenshot of the config but as OP mentioned above, don't install the audio drivers. Install Fake SMC, Atheros E2200 ethernet 2.2, USB increase max port limit and 7/8/9 support, UEFI boot mode, Intel HD 530, Mac Pro 3,1 (the iMac definitions gave me more USB issues). Using 3,1 works much better for me. Before being able to use MultiBeast, I tried a variety of USB fixes that worked with varying success on later iMac definitions. Unfortunately, I couldn't boot off a few of them :rolleyes:

Audio: Copy SSDT-HDEF-HDAS-1.aml onto EFI (search for directions)
Then, I ran audio_cloverALC-120_v1.0f3.command
and like magic, audio works. For the record, audio that is quality audio that you really have to work for sounds far sweeter.

I'm omitting all the things I tried that didn't work. Now that I know what works, I was able to install everything in less than an hour just to make a really clean install.

Oh, and since I had an apple keyboard, Logitech mouse, Eizo monitor (we do a lot of color correction), nice speakers and SSD, I spent less than $400 on this. It feels much more responsive than my 13" 2016 MBP for video editing (probably because it has double the memory at 16 GB), however Brucex is 1:19 on this machine, 1:09 on the MBP running Sierra, and :48 on the 2013 iMac (which has a GPU). I'm not disappointed because skimming and moving chunks of video files without hiccups, and using shortcuts that move as fast as my thoughts do is more important to me. I just played around for 10 minutes today with a heavy file and it felt great. Definitely more responsive than the iMac and MacBook Pro. With a GPU installed, I expect more out of it.

My next steps:

- Get an AMD GPU. Currently the R9 280x is prohibitively expensive here so I'm kinda just...waiting for something to happen.
- I also want a USB C / 3.1 PCIe for external drives
- install more internal hard drives (currently I have one 2TB)
- get a Bluetooth card for an apple mouse.
- Test peripherals like my midi keyboard.
- Install CPU temp monitoring software
- Oh yeah and a big one: I'd like to use my studio 2013 5K iMac as a monitor in tandem with the Eizo...perhaps I need to get a thunderbolt card to do this? It would be nice to do it through USB C...

Thanks again community!
Good work! Thanks for the post. If you move to Sierra (or High Sierra), you'll have to move away from the 3,1 system definition:
https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/macos-sierra-does-not-boot-with-macpro3-1-macpro4-1-system-definitions.200868/
 
Joined
May 11, 2017
Messages
9
Motherboard
GA-H170 Gaming 3
CPU
i5-6500K
Graphics
HD 530
Mac
MacBook Pro
Good work! Thanks for the post. If you move to Sierra (or High Sierra), you'll have to move away from the 3,1 system definition:
https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/macos-sierra-does-not-boot-with-macpro3-1-macpro4-1-system-definitions.200868/
Thanks, I now have 17,1 working fine now with full USB 3 speeds. I'm currently working on sleep issues (display won't wake up) which strangely wasn't an issue after I moved to 17,1 on this same machine like a week ago installing using the same procedure. I started from scratch again to get where I am now.

I read here that el capitan is faster with FCPX so I'm still thinking about getting a 7970 or 280x and not moving to Sierra since I don't really need anything it has.

I did start actual work with FCPX on this machine today and it's been really nice. Definitely prefer the touch-scrolling apple mouse and miss the trackpad on my MBP (as I do when using the iMac), but clip skimming and moving files is super zippy!
 
Joined
Jul 1, 2016
Messages
134
Motherboard
GA-H110M-A
CPU
i3-6100
Graphics
RX 560
Mac
iMac, Mac mini
Thanks, I now have 17,1 working fine now with full USB 3 speeds. I'm currently working on sleep issues (display won't wake up) which strangely wasn't an issue after I moved to 17,1 on this same machine like a week ago installing using the same procedure. I started from scratch again to get where I am now.

I read here that el capitan is faster with FCPX so I'm still thinking about getting a 7970 or 280x and not moving to Sierra since I don't really need anything it has.

I did start actual work with FCPX on this machine today and it's been really nice. Definitely prefer the touch-scrolling apple mouse and miss the trackpad on my MBP (as I do when using the iMac), but clip skimming and moving files is super zippy!
Cool. For sleep issues, try disabling "Power Nap" under System Settings\Energy Saver. Also, set darkwake=10 under Boot using Clover Configurator (i.e. save to your EFI config.plist).
 
Joined
May 11, 2017
Messages
9
Motherboard
GA-H170 Gaming 3
CPU
i5-6500K
Graphics
HD 530
Mac
MacBook Pro
Cool. For sleep issues, try disabling "Power Nap" under System Settings\Energy Saver. Also, set darkwake=10 under Boot using Clover Configurator (i.e. save to your EFI config.plist).
Thanks, I had to do a reinstall and sleep works fine this time, somehow.

I have another question though. I updated some camera, itunes and security updates available for 10.11.6 and it broke my boot. I noticed my EFI partition had changed so I replaced it with a backup of the working EFI before. It didn't fix anything. Any idea what that could be? Also, does migration assistant work well on a clean install of OSX with a working multibeast configuration?
 
Joined
Jul 1, 2016
Messages
134
Motherboard
GA-H110M-A
CPU
i3-6100
Graphics
RX 560
Mac
iMac, Mac mini
Thanks, I had to do a reinstall and sleep works fine this time, somehow.

I have another question though. I updated some camera, itunes and security updates available for 10.11.6 and it broke my boot. I noticed my EFI partition had changed so I replaced it with a backup of the working EFI before. It didn't fix anything. Any idea what that could be? Also, does migration assistant work well on a clean install of OSX with a working multibeast configuration?
Hi, not sure what the EFI issue could be. I haven't had issues with those types of standard updates. Perhaps check your Clover version to see if it is out of date for your OS version and then review all your config.plist settings.

I've never used the migration assistant before, so I am not sure if it works well with Hackintoshes or not. Personally, I typically stay away from tools like this and prefer to do a clean install/config.
 
Top