Contribute
Register

Hackintosh shuts down automatically CPU too heat

Joined
Feb 27, 2015
Messages
14
CPU
i7 4790K
Graphics
GTX 970
Mac
MacBook Air
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
iOS
Hey everyone,

Soory for my bad english skills, but it´s not my native language.
A few weeks ago, i installed OS X 10.10 on my new Hackintosh.
The Bootloader i used is CLOVER (i don´t know what to check there for my hardware...)
I also installed Adobe After Effects CC 2014.
My problem is:
Every time i try to use the 3D-Camera Tracker, the Hackintosh is shutting down.
I think, it´s the CPU, which is too heat...
The CPU Cooler (BeQuiet ShadowRock 2) doesn´t beginn to rotate harder.

In Windows 8.1 with After Effects, there is no Problem...

Could anybody help me, because i don´t know what´s the solution and i also don´t have any experiences with CLOVER and don´t know what i have to check?? :?:

___________________________________________________________________________________
My Hardware:
-Gigabyte Z97X-UD5H
-i7 4790K
-BeQuiet ShadowRock 2
-32GB Ram HyperX Savage
-GTX 970
-2x 850 Evo 120GB
-Corsair RM650 silence
 

Going Bald

Moderator
Joined
Aug 14, 2010
Messages
23,142
Motherboard
GA-X58A-UD7-F7
CPU
W3670
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Classic Mac
iMac
Hey everyone,

Soory for my bad english skills, but it´s not my native language.
A few weeks ago, i installed OS X 10.10 on my new Hackintosh.
The Bootloader i used is CLOVER (i don´t know what to check there for my hardware...)
I also installed Adobe After Effects CC 2014.
My problem is:
Every time i try to use the 3D-Camera Tracker, the Hackintosh is shutting down.
I think, it´s the CPU, which is too heat...
The CPU Cooler (BeQuiet ShadowRock 2) doesn´t beginn to rotate harder.

In Windows 8.1 with After Effects, there is no Problem...

Could anybody help me, because i don´t know what´s the solution and i also don´t have any experiences with CLOVER and don´t know what i have to check?? :?:

___________________________________________________________________________________
My Hardware:
-Gigabyte Z97X-UD5H
-i7 4790K
-BeQuiet ShadowRock 2
-32GB Ram HyperX Savage
-GTX 970
-2x 850 Evo 120GB
-Corsair RM650 silence
First thing to do is remove the CPU cooler and examine the thermal paste distribution. Did you get enough and is it spread correctly.
Second thing to do is to clean the top of the cpu and the cpu cooler mating surface of old paste and re-apply new, then reseat the cooler, making sure it is seated properly and making good contact.
Re-install the cpu cooler fan and connect it to the mainboard CPU fan 4-pin PWM connector.

Boot and test again.
 
Joined
Feb 27, 2015
Messages
14
CPU
i7 4790K
Graphics
GTX 970
Mac
MacBook Air
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
iOS
Hi Going Bald,

I removed the CPU, cleaned it and installed the Cooler again, but i get the same result.:beachball:
Are there any more options to do?
Could it be a software problem, because last i checked the hardware was fine and under windows the Cooler works perfectly!

I hope that someone can help me with that.
ApfelBeat
 

neilhart

Moderator
Joined
May 25, 2010
Messages
2,737
Motherboard
ASRock Fatal1ty Z270 Gaming - ITX/ac
CPU
i7-7700T
Graphics
GTX960
Mac
MacBook, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Hi Going Bald,

I removed the CPU, cleaned it and installed the Cooler again, but i get the same result.:beachball:
Are there any more options to do?
Could it be a software problem, because last i checked the hardware was fine and under windows the Cooler works perfectly!

I hope that someone can help me with that.
ApfelBeat
Well you will need to help your self on this one. If not already installed, install the Hardware Monitor app, see MultiBeast > Drivers > Misc and select FakeSMC vn.n.nnn, FakeSMC vn.n.nnnn Plugins, and FakeSMC vn.n.nnn HWMonitor Application. Reboot and select HWMonitor from the Applications folder. Play with it until you see how it works.

Run your system and see what is happening with the temps and the CPU frequencies as you change the load. Tell us what you see happening. And take some screen shots showing idle and under load (post these).

Good modding,
neil
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
188,929
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
Hi Going Bald,

I removed the CPU, cleaned it and installed the Cooler again, but i get the same result.:beachball:
Are there any more options to do?
Could it be a software problem, because last i checked the hardware was fine and under windows the Cooler works perfectly!

I hope that someone can help me with that.
ApfelBeat
Test your system with Windows or Linux to be certain that it just isn't because of improperly or unimplemented power management on OS X.

Also, make sure you installed the thermal material as per the recommendations of the manufacturer.
 
Joined
Feb 27, 2015
Messages
14
CPU
i7 4790K
Graphics
GTX 970
Mac
MacBook Air
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
iOS
Hi everybody,

Sorry, but it isn´t the CPU-Cooler.
It tested the Temps and they are 70 degrees Celsius at maximum.

What is the Problem that After Effects brings my Hackintosh to down?


ApfelBeat
 
Joined
Oct 20, 2012
Messages
162
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z270X-Ultra Gaming - 32G Ram
CPU
Core i7-7700k
Graphics
Internal - HD630
You might want to check your BIOS settings for overtemp. Most modern motherboards provide an option for shutdown based on over heating. As an example, I have mine set for 90C. So while running after effects, what is your temp??
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
188,929
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
Hi everybody,

Sorry, but it isn´t the CPU-Cooler.
It tested the Temps and they are 70 degrees Celsius at maximum.

What is the Problem that After Effects brings my Hackintosh to down?


ApfelBeat
Did you implement native power management? It could help, although your system should be able to run full throttle without crashing (points to a problem with the cooling system).

Test your system on Windows with Prime95 torture test.
 
Top