Hackintosh only boots in verbose mode...

Discussion in 'General Help' started by hjohnson02, Apr 5, 2017.

  1. hjohnson02

    hjohnson02

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2017
    Messages:
    12
    Motherboard:
    msi x99 sli plus
    CPU:
    5820k
    Graphics:
    Gtx 970
    Apr 5, 2017 at 3:57 AM #1
    hjohnson02

    hjohnson02

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2017
    Messages:
    12
    Motherboard:
    msi x99 sli plus
    CPU:
    5820k
    Graphics:
    Gtx 970
    Recently installed MacOS sierra on my x99 system. Everything went smoothly however when booting today I received the prohibited sign. I booted in verbose mode to see the error but to my surprise it booted fine. I repeated the error multiple times with the same outcome; only boots in verbose mode, prohibited if not in verbose mode.

    The specs are as follows if that helps:
    CPU: Intel 5820K
    Mobo: MSI X99 Sli Plus
    Ram: Hyper X fury DDR4 2133MHz 8GB
    SSD: Samsung 850 Evo 250GB
    GPU: MSI GTX 970 4G
     
  2. JustVisiting

    JustVisiting

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2011
    Messages:
    46
    Motherboard:
    Asus Z97-P
    CPU:
    i7-4790K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD-4600 igfx
    Apr 5, 2017 at 5:31 PM #2
    JustVisiting

    JustVisiting

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2011
    Messages:
    46
    Motherboard:
    Asus Z97-P
    CPU:
    i7-4790K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD-4600 igfx
    can you boot into safe mode and then back into normal?
     
  3. hjohnson02

    hjohnson02

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2017
    Messages:
    12
    Motherboard:
    msi x99 sli plus
    CPU:
    5820k
    Graphics:
    Gtx 970
    Apr 6, 2017 at 4:25 AM #3
    hjohnson02

    hjohnson02

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2017
    Messages:
    12
    Motherboard:
    msi x99 sli plus
    CPU:
    5820k
    Graphics:
    Gtx 970
    Haven't tried it. Only tried verbose mode. I'll give it a shot and let you know
     
  4. Kooza25

    Kooza25

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2017
    Messages:
    12
    Motherboard:
    Msi z179a oc mate
    CPU:
    I7 6700
    Graphics:
    Asus gtx 1050
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Sep 21, 2017 at 10:55 AM #4
    Kooza25

    Kooza25

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2017
    Messages:
    12
    Motherboard:
    Msi z179a oc mate
    CPU:
    I7 6700
    Graphics:
    Asus gtx 1050
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Same problem here, can't boot in safe mode too (using -x)
     
  5. malzergski

    malzergski

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2015
    Messages:
    2
    Motherboard:
    Tyan S7002
    CPU:
    Intel Xeon X5670
    Graphics:
    Sapphire R9 280X Tri-X
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Oct 5, 2017 at 8:23 PM #5
    malzergski

    malzergski

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2015
    Messages:
    2
    Motherboard:
    Tyan S7002
    CPU:
    Intel Xeon X5670
    Graphics:
    Sapphire R9 280X Tri-X
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    did anyone find a fix? i have the same problem as you, so for now i've set verbose mode activated by default, but i'd like to have just the apple loading page...
     
  6. Bob_the_Tomato

    Bob_the_Tomato

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2012
    Messages:
    1,180
    Motherboard:
    Asus Z270 Maximus IX HERO
    CPU:
    i7 7700k
    Graphics:
    EVGA GTX 1080 Ti FTW3
    Mac:
    Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Oct 6, 2017 at 7:08 PM #6
    Bob_the_Tomato

    Bob_the_Tomato

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2012
    Messages:
    1,180
    Motherboard:
    Asus Z270 Maximus IX HERO
    CPU:
    i7 7700k
    Graphics:
    EVGA GTX 1080 Ti FTW3
    Mac:
    Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    I can't think of any reason why using verbose would boot while not using it would not boot.
    Are you sure it's Verbose mode and not Safe mode?
     
  7. malzergski

    malzergski

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2015
    Messages:
    2
    Motherboard:
    Tyan S7002
    CPU:
    Intel Xeon X5670
    Graphics:
    Sapphire R9 280X Tri-X
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Oct 7, 2017 at 11:19 AM #7
    malzergski

    malzergski

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2015
    Messages:
    2
    Motherboard:
    Tyan S7002
    CPU:
    Intel Xeon X5670
    Graphics:
    Sapphire R9 280X Tri-X
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    yes it's the "-v", i know it seems incoherent but it wont boot without it and i couldn't find a way to know why and solve it
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice