Contribute
Register

Hackintosh no longer booting after Clover update

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
May 12, 2011
Messages
22
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z77P-D3
CPU
i7-2600
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I've updated Clover (if I remember correctly to 5125, the newest one) and my kexts (LiLu, WhatEverGreen, VirtualSMC) and now my hackintosh is no longer booting.
Using -v option it shows the following message (see image).
I've googled a little and are now a little confused as the found results are all for OpenCore, but I use Clover for sure.
Nevertheless, some hints were to enable options 'UseVirtualMap' and 'EnableProtectedAccess' (not sure for the exact names), but this did not change anything.

There were no problems before. It was running Catalina 10.15.6. In the past I've always updated Clover and kexts before an OS upgrade (the plan was to upgrade to 10.15.7 after the reboot) without any issues.
Any idea whats wrong?

Graphics card: Radeon RX 5700XT (Sapphire), connected via DisplayPort
Motherboard: Gigabyte Z77P-D3
System definition: iMac 14,2
OS: 10.15.6
 

Attachments

  • Screenshot.jpg
    Screenshot.jpg
    2.4 MB · Views: 147

UtterDisbelief

Moderator
Joined
Feb 13, 2012
Messages
6,584
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490i Aorus Ultra - OC 0.6.8
CPU
i5-10600K
Graphics
GT710 - 1920x1080
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. eMac
  2. iBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I've updated Clover (if I remember correctly to 5125, the newest one) and my kexts (LiLu, WhatEverGreen, VirtualSMC) and now my hackintosh is no longer booting.
Using -v option it shows the following message (see image).
I've googled a little and are now a little confused as the found results are all for OpenCore, but I use Clover for sure.
Nevertheless, some hints were to enable options 'UseVirtualMap' and 'EnableProtectedAccess' (not sure for the exact names), but this did not change anything.

There were no problems before. It was running Catalina 10.15.6. In the past I've always updated Clover and kexts before an OS upgrade (the plan was to upgrade to 10.15.7 after the reboot) without any issues.
Any idea whats wrong?

Graphics card: Radeon RX 5700XT (Sapphire), connected via DisplayPort
Motherboard: Gigabyte Z77P-D3
System definition: iMac 14,2
OS: 10.15.6

Hi there,

Clover r5125 is actually one of the new hybrid releases which starts as Clover but hands over to OpenCore to boot the PC. This has been designed to help boot Big Sur which otherwise wouldn't boot using a vanilla Clover bootloader. It started with version r5123.

You might find you need to adjust the "Quirk" settings. I recommend the latest version of Clover Configurator as it makes the task easy. However you can only do this if you have access to a Mac. If you have a UniBeast installer USB stick you can use this to boot into your Hackintosh and revert the Clover version to an earlier one as there is no UniBeast using the hybrid boot system yet.

:)
 
Joined
May 12, 2011
Messages
22
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z77P-D3
CPU
i7-2600
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi there,

Clover r5125 is actually one of the new hybrid releases which starts as Clover but hands over to OpenCore to boot the PC. This has been designed to help boot Big Sur which otherwise wouldn't boot using a vanilla Clover bootloader. It started with version r5123.

You might find you need to adjust the "Quirk" settings. I recommend the latest version of Clover Configurator as it makes the task easy. However you can only do this if you have access to a Mac. If you have a UniBeast installer USB stick you can use this to boot into your Hackintosh and revert the Clover version to an earlier one as there is no UniBeast using the hybrid boot system yet.

:)
Hi,
that's the problem: I don't have access to a Mac now. As everything was running smooth in the past, I did not care to prepare a boot stick.
In the 'Quirk' settings I've tried to enabled 'UseVirtualMap' and 'EnableProtectedAccess' as written. Do you know other settings I should try?
Or is there a possibility to create a working boot stick in Windows (or Linux)?
 
Joined
Sep 26, 2020
Messages
10
Motherboard
Asus Z390i Gaming
CPU
i7 9700K
Graphics
RX 580
You should have a backup of your EFI. Boot into Linux/Windows, mount your EFI partition and replace the EFI with the working one.
 

jaymonkey

Moderator
Joined
Aug 27, 2011
Messages
3,997
Motherboard
GB Z490 Vision G
CPU
i9 10850K OC @ 5.2 GHz
Graphics
Vega 64 LC + HD 630
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@hlehofer,

See this thread for info :-


Cheers
Jay
 
Joined
May 12, 2011
Messages
22
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z77P-D3
CPU
i7-2600
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Fixed it for now by creating a Clover 5119 boot stick with my EFI.
Of course only a short term solution.

Thanks for help and ideas.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top