Status
Not open for further replies.
Mac
  1. 0
Classic Mac
  1. 0
Mobile Phone
  1. 0
In advance, I'll say that I know there have been some discussions about this in the past. The reason I post something new is that I haven't seen any discussion over the last 12 months or so, and given my very new familiarity with the hackintosh community, I'm a bit on edge relying on software issues from a year ago. So... here are my questions:

* Is there any way to create a bootable USB thumbdrive for the Mountain Lion hackintosh install if I don't have access to a Mac? I'm no expert programmer or systems engineer, but in general, I'm very comfortable handling computer components and configuring software. I just want to rely on some advice on this issue that is more recent.

* Is there any reason at this point I should wait for Maverick? I'm inclined to just move forward with Mountain Lion right now and upgrade down the road. I'm completely new to the Mac community, so I don't know if I'm better off waiting.

* Because I am brand new to the Mac community (and my wife and kids will be using the system as well), am I better off just buying a genuine Mac? Many moons ago, I built my own PC system and seemed to have a few compatibility and functionality issues. I don't want that to be the case and it would give my wife a really bad taste about the Mac experience. Thoughts?

Thanks in advance!

Jeff

In advance, I'll say that I know there have been some discussions about this in the past. The reason I post something new is that I haven't seen any discussion over the last 12 months or so, and given my very new familiarity with the hackintosh community, I'm a bit on edge relying on software issues from a year ago. So... here are my questions: