Contribute
Register

Hackintosh-newbie: Can I use my ThinkCentre M55 (and can I multi-boot?)

Status
Not open for further replies.
Motherboard
Lenovo ThinkCenter M91p
CPU
Intel Core i5-2500
Graphics
nVidia GeForce GT640
Mac
  1. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. Centris
  2. iBook
  3. iMac
  4. Power Mac
  5. PowerBook
  6. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
Ello!

A complete part-newbie here. Complete, because this is/will be my first foray into the "Hackintosh Scene", but partly because I'm not a newbie concerning computers in general. I know my way around linux distros, Windowses and Macs. I used to run a mac (exclusively) for years, but that was a long time ago. I still have that Dual-1GHz G4 PowerMac, but let's face it, it IS old. Latest it can do is a 10.5 and being a PPC.. yeah, well, it's not fast :D But the point is, any instructions of info you have does not need to be in a any-fool-can-do-it -format. I do not fear the command line :p

Anyway. My main computers is x64 Win7 machine, but Windows is... well, Windows. I play games on it. :)

But! I have a secondary machine, a Lenovo/IBM ThinkCentre M55 (C2D E6600 @2.4GHz, 4Gb RAM) with a slew of additional hardware: nVidia GT240 (currently installed),and others that I can swap if it is better: nVidia 8400GS, Radeon 3600Pro and a Radeon 4200 (but installing that would require modifying the cooler) and a couple of HDDs. A few USB sticks, couple of different WiFi USB sticks and a handful of USB audio dongles. The machine currently runs a multiboot selection of ElementaryOS Luna, Haiku R4 and Ubuntu 0414 (on a shared 80Gb disk, with an unused spare 160Gb available).

The "dream" (so to speak) is to have that machine running newest-that-it-can-run Mac OS X as a primary and the possibility to boot into Haiku and some flavor of (Debian-based) linux.

So you think that would be possible?