Contribute
Register

HACKINTOSH? HP ELITEDESK 800 G3 MINI

Joined
Aug 10, 2019
Messages
50
Motherboard
HP Elitedesk G3 800 -
CPU
i5-6500
Graphics
HD 530
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi everyone,

Did someone try to install Big sur ?

Thanks
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 13, 2020
Messages
2
Motherboard
Hp g3
CPU
I5 6500
Graphics
Intel hd530
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Hello!
How did you manage to disable the cfg lock on the bios?Ive read somewhere that HP hides the feature but from what i saw with VerifyMsrE2 I was definetly on.
I wasted countless hours trying everything possible i could find on the internet to get this working and couldnt.I concluded that it was the CFG Lock in the bios that is not letting me get to the installer.
If anyone can help i would be very grateful.
 
Joined
Sep 22, 2011
Messages
1,531
Motherboard
HP EliteDesk 800 G5 Mini
CPU
i9-9900
Graphics
UHD 630
Mac
  1. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Has anyone found that "Remote Management Options" > "Activate Management (AMT)" must be checked/enabled in the G3 Mini BIOS to enable proper sleep/wake? Details below.

I just purchased an HP EliteDesk 800 G3 Mini (i7-8700T) after having great success with the G4 Mini. I purchased the 800 G3 Mini to be a Windows test PC, but may spend a little time installing macOS. When getting sleep / wake to work properly on my 800 G4 Mini, I found that Intel ME must be enabled in BIOS in order for graphics to work properly after wake. Unlike the G4 Mini, the G3 Mini BIOS does not have a dedicated control for enabling/disabling Intel ME. Instead, Intel ME is enabled on the G3 Mini when AMT is enabled in BIOS.

Has anyone found that AMT must be enabled in the G3 Mini BIOS in order for graphics to work properly after waking the G3 Mini from sleep?
 
Joined
Aug 10, 2019
Messages
50
Motherboard
HP Elitedesk G3 800 -
CPU
i5-6500
Graphics
HD 530
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Has anyone found that "Remote Management Options" > "Activate Management (AMT)" must be checked/enabled in the G3 Mini BIOS to enable proper sleep/wake? Details below.

I just purchased an HP EliteDesk 800 G3 Mini (i7-8700T) after having great success with the G4 Mini. I purchased the 800 G3 Mini to be a Windows test PC, but may spend a little time installing macOS. When getting sleep / wake to work properly on my 800 G4 Mini, I found that Intel ME must be enabled in BIOS in order for graphics to work properly after wake. Unlike the G4 Mini, the G3 Mini BIOS does not have a dedicated control for enabling/disabling Intel ME. Instead, Intel ME is enabled on the G3 Mini when AMT is enabled in BIOS.

Has anyone found that AMT must be enabled in the G3 Mini BIOS in order for graphics to work properly after waking the G3 Mini from sleep?
Sleep/wake does not work on skylake HP elitedesj G3 800 mini.
 
Joined
Sep 22, 2011
Messages
1,531
Motherboard
HP EliteDesk 800 G5 Mini
CPU
i9-9900
Graphics
UHD 630
Mac
  1. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Sleep/wake does not work on skylake HP elitedesj G3 800 mini.
Thank you for the quick reply.

@maclode1950 I have Catalina 10.15.7 booting with OC 0.6.3 on my EliteDesk 800 G3 Mini. Both DP ports are working with DP->DVI adapters (my 3rd video connector is VGA which I have not tested) and Kabylake HD630 graphics acceleration is fully enabled. My system sleeps, but when I wake it with a key press, the system LED lights up and there's disk activity, but I don't see displays and I can't Remote Desktop into it. I have to force shutdown by pressing and holding the power button.

Is that similar to the sleep/wake behavior that you've observed with the G3 Mini?

My EFI is a work in progress with multiple versions, so I'm not yet ready to post anything yet.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 11, 2020
Messages
3
Motherboard
HP Elitedesk 800 G3 Mini
CPU
i5-7500
Graphics
Intel HD Graphics 630
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
I figured this out by myself :)

VGA is not supported... Ta daaa

Anyway, used DP and it is working like a charm.

Bottom line I did manage to run macOS 10.14.1 running on HP EliteDesk 800 G3 DM.

What is working:
  • CPU power management (had to create a custom SSDT)
  • Bluetooth / WiFi is working
    I bought an NGFF M.2 wifi + bluetooth card (OLVINS BCM943224PCIEBT2 WiFi Bluetooth Airport Wireless Network Card) and an adapter (Cablecc BCM94360CS2 BCM943224PCIEBT2 Wireless Card to NGFF M.2 Key A/E Adapter) to put inside
  • Intel Graphic HD 530 working
  • Network (LAN)
  • Sound
  • USB 3 (had to create a custom SSDT)
What is not working:
  • Hibernation (and it bothers me....:banghead:) (went through the forum posts here but did not managed to make it work)
Remarks: do not use VGA :D

Questions:
  • Should I update to the latest version ? Always?:think:
  • Should i update always my kext?:think:

Thanks.
Hi Yop!
I was able to make boot my HP Elitedesk 800 G3 with VGA.

But I am having difficulty with my audio.

I am using AppleALC with Layout id 20.
The input device is now detected but not working.

If I use Layout id - 11, 18 both output and input is not working
If I use Layout id - 23, 28 only output is working.

Would you please attach your EFI here so I can compare it with my EFI?
Thank you!
 

Feartech

Moderator
Joined
Aug 3, 2013
Messages
26,027
Motherboard
Asus N752VX-OpenCore
CPU
i7-6700HQ / HM170
Graphics
HD 530 1920 x 1080
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi Yop!
I was able to make boot my HP Elitedesk 800 G3 with VGA.

But I am having difficulty with my audio.

I am using AppleALC with Layout id 20.
The input device is now detected but not working.

If I use Layout id - 11, 18 both output and input is not working
If I use Layout id - 23, 28 only output is working.

Would you please attach your EFI here so I can compare it with my EFI?
Thank you!


As per rules, please update your hardware profile to allow others to help you easier
 
Joined
Sep 22, 2011
Messages
1,531
Motherboard
HP EliteDesk 800 G5 Mini
CPU
i9-9900
Graphics
UHD 630
Mac
  1. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi Yop!
I was able to make boot my HP Elitedesk 800 G3 with VGA.

But I am having difficulty with my audio.

I am using AppleALC with Layout id 20.
The input device is now detected but not working.

If I use Layout id - 11, 18 both output and input is not working
If I use Layout id - 23, 28 only output is working.

Would you please attach your EFI here so I can compare it with my EFI?
Thank you!
Microphone / Audio Input does not work with AppleALC and Conexant CX20632. Use VoodooHDA 2.9.2 if you need a microphone.
 
Joined
Apr 11, 2020
Messages
3
Motherboard
HP Elitedesk 800 G3 Mini
CPU
i5-7500
Graphics
Intel HD Graphics 630
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Microphone / Audio Input does not work with AppleALC and Conexant CX20632. Use VoodooHDA 2.9.2 if you need a microphone.
Hi, thank you for your suggestion.
I do not know what is wrong with my process but I cannot boot if I use VoodooHDA.kext for audio.
I experience a boot loop with it. Can you give me suggestions on how to make it work? Thank you.

Update:
I tried removing AppleHDA, AppleALC, CodecCommander
Restart then I installed VoodooHDA 2.9.2 classic, I cannot boot it now haha!
Even if I use a USB Boot drive, I still encounter Kernel Panic.

Update: Since I cannot make VoodooHDA work, I decided to use a USB Sound Card instead.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 22, 2011
Messages
1,531
Motherboard
HP EliteDesk 800 G5 Mini
CPU
i9-9900
Graphics
UHD 630
Mac
  1. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Someone has customized AppleALC.kext to fix the microphone problem. We should be seeing a working microphone for Conexant CX20632 in a future AppleALC.kext release.
 
Top