i9-13900KF
Graphics
RX 6600
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi guys,

OK I am a video editor and I have been using a Hackintosh I built about 6 years ago for editing most of my projects. More and more now I am getting projects that have been shot in 6K and some even 8K. 4K seems to be the lower end of the footage resolution now it's not even the norm for me anymore.
I am wanting to upgrade my system and wanted to ask if anybody has advice on build specs that would be good for my needs.

Any help much appreciated.

Sidenote: I recently purchased a AMD Radeon RX 6600 XT 8 GB GPU so if any builds could put that into the mix that would be helpful but if a gruntier GPU is a better idea then have at it!

I currently have the same GPU in my video editing workstation built around a 12900K, but I do not have an 8K camera to test the NLE with. I do have a Canon 1DXmkiii that can record in 5.5K Raw but I have yet to test out the RAW video feature as I am more photographer than videographer these days.

Over the past decade, I have predominantly used FCPX to cut Multi-Cam music video content of 8 angles or more of 1080p but haven't had much video timeline work lately and have dived into the world of NDI and real-time server Nvidia NVENC based ffmpeg encoding for streaming HLS.

Using OBS, the system doesn't falter with cutting between multiple real time incoming NDI streams, however, I don't have an 8K screen either. Are you even able to drive such a large pixel count on your monitor with this mid-range card? I paid $651.74 for mine back in April and now it is on sale for $279.99 at my local Best Buy, quite the price drop!