Contribute
Register

Hackintosh does not use the OC from BIOS

Joined
Apr 27, 2019
Messages
25
Motherboard
asrock z77 pro3
CPU
i5 2500k
Graphics
1060 gtx
Hi


I have configured my bios (motherboard asrock z77 pro3-i5 2500k) in 4.5gh, in windows it is correct and in high mountain instead it does not surpass me the 3.3gh that come from factory. Someone with this motherboard can help me and tell me that I have to modify so that the pc can go to oc 4.5gh in mac.

Thank you
 

jaymonkey

Moderator
Joined
Aug 27, 2011
Messages
2,511
Motherboard
ASRock-Z97 EX6
CPU
i7-4790K OC @ 4.8GHz
Graphics
Vega 64LC + HD4600
Mac
MacBook Air, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
@kaiserrr,

For Z77 Sandy Bridge you'll need to use Pike Alpha's ssdtPRGen script to generate a custom PM SSDT.


When you run it make sure you add "-turbo 4500" to the command which should generate the extra turbo P + C states.

Once done put the generated SSDT.aml file in /EFI/Clover/ACPI/patched

Cheers
Jay
 
Joined
Apr 27, 2019
Messages
25
Motherboard
asrock z77 pro3
CPU
i5 2500k
Graphics
1060 gtx
Ok, file copy in usb boot (i use because, i have a problem with init en ssd) or ssd where i installed the macOS?
First I generate the file and I copy it and then I change the frequencies in bios?

Thank you

@kaiserrr,

For Z77 Sandy Bridge you'll need to use Pike Alpha's ssdtPRGen script to generate a custom PM SSDT.


When you run it make sure you add "-turbo 4500" to the command which should generate the extra turbo P + C states.

Once done put the generated SSDT.aml file in /EFI/Clover/ACPI/patched

Cheers
Jay
 

jaymonkey

Moderator
Joined
Aug 27, 2011
Messages
2,511
Motherboard
ASRock-Z97 EX6
CPU
i7-4790K OC @ 4.8GHz
Graphics
Vega 64LC + HD4600
Mac
MacBook Air, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
The SSDT needs to go in "/EFI/Clover/ACPI/patched" on the device (drive) you boot Clover from.
 
Joined
Apr 27, 2019
Messages
25
Motherboard
asrock z77 pro3
CPU
i5 2500k
Graphics
1060 gtx
The SSDT needs to go in "/EFI/Clover/ACPI/patched" on the device (drive) you boot Clover from.
Hi


I am a little lost, I have entered the web that you indicate me and I do not know what program or file I must download and modify. I do not know if it is a program that generates an archive or a file that I download and modify.
In what place of the file do I modify or add this "-turbo 4500"


You can give me an example for my i5 2500k, is that I do not want to screw it

Thank you so much
 
Last edited:

jaymonkey

Moderator
Joined
Aug 27, 2011
Messages
2,511
Motherboard
ASRock-Z97 EX6
CPU
i7-4790K OC @ 4.8GHz
Graphics
Vega 64LC + HD4600
Mac
MacBook Air, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
The instructions to download and install the script are on the page i give you the link to.


In summary

Open Terminal, copy and paste this command :-

Code:
curl -o ~/ssdtPRGen.sh https://raw.githubusercontent.com/Piker-Alpha/ssdtPRGen.sh/Beta/ssdtPRGen.sh

Next flag the script as executable with this command :-

Code:
chmod +x ~/ssdtPRGen.sh

Then run the script with this command :-

Code:
~/ssdtPRGen.sh -turbo 4500

All the info you need is on the linked page, including how to use the -turbo option

Cheers
Jay
 
Joined
Apr 27, 2019
Messages
25
Motherboard
asrock z77 pro3
CPU
i5 2500k
Graphics
1060 gtx
The instructions to download and install the script are on the page i give you the link to.


In summary

Open Terminal, copy and paste this command :-

Code:
curl -o ~/ssdtPRGen.sh https://raw.githubusercontent.com/Piker-Alpha/ssdtPRGen.sh/Beta/ssdtPRGen.sh

Next flag the script as executable with this command :-

Code:
chmod +x ~/ssdtPRGen.sh

Then run the script with this command :-

Code:
~/ssdtPRGen.sh -turbo 4500

All the info you need is on the linked page, including how to use the -turbo option

Cheers
Jay
I have already created the file that you indicate to me according to the instructions, you can review it to me please to see if it is well. On the other hand, this file is just put the folder / EFI / Clover / ACPI / patchedv and ready?

Thank you
 

Attachments

jaymonkey

Moderator
Joined
Aug 27, 2011
Messages
2,511
Motherboard
ASRock-Z97 EX6
CPU
i7-4790K OC @ 4.8GHz
Graphics
Vega 64LC + HD4600
Mac
MacBook Air, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
I have already created the file that you indicate to me according to the instructions, you can review it to me please to see if it is well. On the other hand, this file is just put the folder / EFI / Clover / ACPI / patchedv and ready?

@kaiserrr,

SSDT looks fine , go ahead and place it in / EFI / Clover / ACPI / patched and reboot.

I recommend using Intel Power Gadget to monitor your CPU and make sure that its speed stepping correctly and reaching your target CPU C + P states.

If you run into problems please provide Proper Problem Reporting Files using the tool in this post, follow the instructions carefully and make sure you have the correct version of IORegistryExplorerInstalled (V2.1) from this post. Be sure to press F2 and F4 in Clover before booting to MacOS.

Cheers
Jay
 
Joined
Apr 27, 2019
Messages
25
Motherboard
asrock z77 pro3
CPU
i5 2500k
Graphics
1060 gtx
@kaiserrr,

SSDT looks fine , go ahead and place it in / EFI / Clover / ACPI / patched and reboot.

I recommend using Intel Power Gadget to monitor your CPU and make sure that its speed stepping correctly and reaching your target CPU C + P states.

If you run into problems please provide Proper Problem Reporting Files using the tool in this post, follow the instructions carefully and make sure you have the correct version of IORegistryExplorerInstalled (V2.1) from this post. Be sure to press F2 and F4 in Clover before booting to MacOS.

Cheers
Jay
As I told you I have Macos installed in my SSD, but for the boot clover I need my pendrive. then I must copy the file to the pendrive, no? or in the ssd? On the other hand I read that in the bios I only have to modify the cpu, voltage and little more frequencies, nothing to change other options, no?
"Be sure to press F2 and F4 in Clover before booting to MacOS" <---
What is it for?
 
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 27, 2019
Messages
25
Motherboard
asrock z77 pro3
CPU
i5 2500k
Graphics
1060 gtx
@kaiserrr,

SSDT looks fine , go ahead and place it in / EFI / Clover / ACPI / patched and reboot.

I recommend using Intel Power Gadget to monitor your CPU and make sure that its speed stepping correctly and reaching your target CPU C + P states.

If you run into problems please provide Proper Problem Reporting Files using the tool in this post, follow the instructions carefully and make sure you have the correct version of IORegistryExplorerInstalled (V2.1) from this post. Be sure to press F2 and F4 in Clover before booting to MacOS.

Cheers
Jay
@kaiserrr,

SSDT looks fine , go ahead and place it in / EFI / Clover / ACPI / patched and reboot.

I recommend using Intel Power Gadget to monitor your CPU and make sure that its speed stepping correctly and reaching your target CPU C + P states.

If you run into problems please provide Proper Problem Reporting Files using the tool in this post, follow the instructions carefully and make sure you have the correct version of IORegistryExplorerInstalled (V2.1) from this post. Be sure to press F2 and F4 in Clover before booting to MacOS.

Cheers
Jay
Hi jaymonkey

I followed the steps you indicated me and the frequencies continue the same min x16 max x33, I attach a picture of benmarck. In which he could make the mistake?
 

Attachments

Top