Contribute
Register

Hackintosh crashes when High CPU Load

Joined
Jul 12, 2020
Messages
13
Motherboard
GL703-GE
CPU
8750H Coffee Lake
Graphics
Intel UHD 630 / GTX 1050 TI
I've installed hackintosh a few weeks ago, everything seemed to run smoothly, but since I am using it mostly for Xcode, I started seeing some issues.
For example if I try to open Xcode, Android Studio and Web Storm my laptop will freeze totally for 3 seconds (mouse not responsive) but that just happens sometimes, then I'll get some error messages, and then it will take me back to the login screen. The issue is only present when I'm using demanding programs such as those mentioned above. Most of the time the error I am getting is the "AppleKeyStore" one but sometimes I may get other error messages. (example below)

I also "fixed" the power management by following this guide :
(wanted to mention since I believe the problem and the CPU Management could be related)
Another detail which might help is that the laptop is getting hot really fast, battery is draining really fast as well and I feel like the fans won't spin as strong as they would on Windows (for example when Android Studio Opens).

Any ideas?
 

Attachments

  • 110015348_1556566627858787_8525713590876136706_n.jpg
    110015348_1556566627858787_8525713590876136706_n.jpg
    23.9 KB · Views: 16
  • 112775054_288912262376990_4752324794121862467_n.jpg
    112775054_288912262376990_4752324794121862467_n.jpg
    25.5 KB · Views: 16
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 9, 2011
Messages
938
Motherboard
HP 250 G5 (81EF) Clover UEFI
CPU
i3 5005u
Graphics
HD 5500 (1366x768)
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
I've installed hackintosh a few weeks ago, everything seemed to run smoothly, but since I am using it mostly for Xcode, I started seeing some issues.
For example if I try to open Xcode, Android Studio and Web Storm my laptop will freeze totally for 3 seconds (mouse not responsive) but that just happens sometimes, then I'll get some error messages, and then it will take me back to the login screen. The issue is only present when I'm using demanding programs such as those mentioned above. Most of the time the error I am getting is the "AppleKeyStore" one but sometimes I may get other error messages. (example below)

I also "fixed" the power management by following this guide :
(wanted to mention since I believe the problem and the CPU Management could be related)
Another detail which might help is that the laptop is getting hot really fast, battery is draining really fast as well and I feel like the fans won't spin as strong as they would on Windows (for example when Android Studio Opens).

Any ideas?
Sounds like WindowServer is crashing due to lack of QE/CI acceleration. Look into /Library/Logs/DiagnosticReports and see if you have any crash logs related to the WindowServer process.
 
Joined
Jul 12, 2020
Messages
13
Motherboard
GL703-GE
CPU
8750H Coffee Lake
Graphics
Intel UHD 630 / GTX 1050 TI
You were right! I do have lots of them. Here's a sample of one crash log.
I also forgot to mention (maybe it helps) that my laptop has a GTX 1050 TI which I disabled using wegnoegpu boot arg.
Related to the QE/CI acceleration, is there a way to check this? I just assumed acceleration is working since I got the transparent dock and smooth transitions with animations.
Also the framebuffer I used for my UHD 630 was the one that popped up in Hardware Id's in Windows.
 

Attachments

  • WindowServer_2020-07-27-193204.txt
    60.4 KB · Views: 25
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 9, 2011
Messages
938
Motherboard
HP 250 G5 (81EF) Clover UEFI
CPU
i3 5005u
Graphics
HD 5500 (1366x768)
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
You were right! I do have lots of them. Here's a sample of one crash log.
I also forgot to mention (maybe it helps) that my laptop has a GTX 1050 TI which I disabled using wegnoegpu boot arg.
Related to the QE/CI acceleration, is there a way to check this? I just assumed acceleration is working since I got the transparent dock and smooth transitions with animations.
Also the framebuffer I used for my UHD 630 was the one that popped up in Hardware Id's in Windows.
Transparent dock and menu bar means QE/CI is working 99% of the times. Upload a copy of ioreg to verify.
 
Joined
Jul 12, 2020
Messages
13
Motherboard
GL703-GE
CPU
8750H Coffee Lake
Graphics
Intel UHD 630 / GTX 1050 TI
Alright !
Here's the copy you requested.
 

Attachments

  • IOREG.ioreg
    8.9 MB · Views: 7
Joined
Jul 12, 2020
Messages
13
Motherboard
GL703-GE
CPU
8750H Coffee Lake
Graphics
Intel UHD 630 / GTX 1050 TI
I'm using 00009B3E.
Here's also some detailed info on my config.
 

Attachments

  • Screenshot 2020-07-30 at 23.55.07.png
    Screenshot 2020-07-30 at 23.55.07.png
    161.2 KB · Views: 26
Top