Contribute
Register

HackinDROM App for OpenCore EFI Creation and Update

Joined
May 22, 2020
Messages
12
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i9 10900k
Graphics
Sapphire Radeon Pulse RX 580
As soon as I try and open HackinDROM it crashes. I've followed all instructions and uninstalled, reinstalled, restarted. What data do I need to provide for help with this?
Same thing here. Can't use HackinDROM anymore. I'm on 10.15.7. When Catalina got supported HackinDROM worked for a bit and I managed to use it to update from 0.6.7 to 0.6.9. This week I tried to update OC from 0.6.9 to 0.7.3 but HackinDROM is not working anymore. Icon appears but as soon as I click on the icon it just disappears and nothing happens. Tried older versions of HackinDROM too but didn't get any version to work.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
17,227
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
As soon as I try and open HackinDROM it crashes. I've followed all instructions and uninstalled, reinstalled, restarted. What data do I need to provide for help with this?

Same thing here. Can't use HackinDROM anymore. I'm on 10.15.7. When Catalina got supported HackinDROM worked for a bit and I managed to use it to update from 0.6.7 to 0.6.9. This week I tried to update OC from 0.6.9 to 0.7.3 but HackinDROM is not working anymore. Icon appears but as soon as I click on the icon it just disappears and nothing happens. Tried older versions of HackinDROM too but didn't get any version to work.
  1. Are you using HackinDROM 2.0.0 Beta?
  2. Which version of macOS?
 
Joined
Nov 28, 2018
Messages
11
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 5600 XT
  1. Are you using HackinDROM 2.0.0 Beta?
  2. Which version of macOS?
Yes on the 2.0 beta, mine was 10.15.7 as well. I ended up updating kexts then upgraded OS X to 11.6, only then I was able to use HackinDROM to update to OC 0.7.3. Everything works now. Only quirk is unlike the tutorials my OC installation only shows as red each time I load HackinDROM I've never seen green.
 
Joined
May 22, 2020
Messages
12
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i9 10900k
Graphics
Sapphire Radeon Pulse RX 580
  1. Are you using HackinDROM 2.0.0 Beta?
  2. Which version of macOS?
1. Yes. I've also tried older versions but none of them seem to work anymore.
2. I'm on Catalina 10.15.7, latest security patches installed.

I just ended up updating OC manually to 0.7.3 like we used to do back in the day using your EFI folder for z490 Vision D (thanks for all your help/work btw, you're a legend!).
Could be that some of the latest security patches for Catalina broke HackinDROM for me 'cos it used to work for a while just fine. I've given full disk access to HackinDROM, removed (then restart computer) and installed it again but nothing helps.
 
Joined
May 15, 2020
Messages
1,170
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900KF
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
1. Yes. I've also tried older versions but none of them seem to work anymore.
2. I'm on Catalina 10.15.7, latest security patches installed.

I just ended up updating OC manually to 0.7.3 like we used to do back in the day using your EFI folder for z490 Vision D (thanks for all your help/work btw, you're a legend!).
Could be that some of the latest security patches for Catalina broke HackinDROM for me 'cos it used to work for a while just fine. I've given full disk access to HackinDROM, removed (then restart computer) and installed it again but nothing helps.
Hello thanks for reporting,
I know about this issue and it is related to app's auto-update process which breaks on some Hackintoshs for unknown reason.
Will disable auto-update until I find a better implementation
 
Joined
May 24, 2021
Messages
13
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 M Gaming
CPU
i5-9600K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Hopefully the auto-update changes fix things, but if not, maybe these Console.log messages might be useful?

Both are errors from `com.apple.TCC`
Code:
Prompting policy for hardened runtime; service: kTCCServiceAppleEvents requires entitlement com.apple.security.automation.apple-events but it is missing for ACC:{ID: Inqnuam.HackinDROM, PID[2535], auid: 501, euid: 501, binary path: '/private/var/folders/6y/3tlymm9911b1r61sdhd9kkth0000gn/T/AppTranslocation/8A2FED56-2206-412E-BA15-298107D45914/d/HackinDROM.app/Contents/MacOS/HackinDROM'}, REQ:{ID: com.apple.appleeventsd, PID[446], auid: 55, euid: 55, binary path: '/System/Library/CoreServices/appleeventsd'}

{ID: Inqnuam.HackinDROM, PID[2535], auid: 501, euid: 501, binary path: '/private/var/folders/6y/3tlymm9911b1r61sdhd9kkth0000gn/T/AppTranslocation/8A2FED56-2206-412E-BA15-298107D45914/d/HackinDROM.app/Contents/MacOS/HackinDROM'} attempted to call TCCAccessRequest without the com.apple.private.tcc.manager.check-by-audit-token entitlement
 
Joined
Jan 25, 2020
Messages
52
Motherboard
Gigabyte X99 Designare-EX
CPU
E5 1660 V3
Graphics
Vega 56
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
Hi Inqnuam,
I used HackinDROM Beta 2.0 in Big Sur 11.6 and nothing changed in the status bar when I opened it. I couldn't find the HackinDROM icon
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
17,227
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@Mace @runofthemill @Slemovitz @3leafclover

Does HackinDROM 2.0.0 start properly if you perform the two actions shown below?
  • defaults delete Inqnuam.HackinDROM
  • rm -rf ~/Library/Caches/Inqnuam.HackinDROM

Screen Shot 2021-10-04 at 7.02.35 AM.png
 
Joined
Apr 20, 2019
Messages
4
Motherboard
Asus Rog Strix Z390i Gaming
CPU
i7-8700T
Graphics
GTX 1050 Ti
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@Mace @runofthemill @Slemovitz @3leafclover

Does HackinDROM 2.0.0 start properly if you perform the two actions shown below?
  • defaults delete Inqnuam.HackinDROM
  • rm -rf ~/Library/Caches/Inqnuam.HackinDROM

I am currently on Catalina 10.15.7 with all the patches applied. I have installed HackinDROM Beta 2.0 ... the only thing the program does is to display an icon on system bar but when i click on the icon it disappears. I have tried the console commands above and the behavior is the same.
 
Top