Contribute
Register

Guide: X79 OS X Controlled SpeedStep (CPU Power Management)

Status
Not open for further replies.

shilohh

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2012
Messages
1,768
Motherboard
Asus Prime Z490-A
CPU
i9-10850K
Graphics
Sapphire Radeon Pulse RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Guide: Asus X79 OS X Controlled SpeedStep

shilohh I followed the steps in my system, ( 3930K + rampage iv formula bios 4804), seems to work but the multiplier goes crazy up and down constantly and work more down is 2.52 ghz, I may have wrong?

Only in bios activate c states c1E c3 c6 EIST= disabled and turbo on.

I have clover , is the problem clover ?

thanks in advance.
Clover does work correctly but you have to disable all ssdt auto patch features and do not drop oem. Post your config.plist and I'll try to fix it. Also your SSDT must be placed in the ACPI patched folder. Clover is pretty wonky because even after disabling all the auto patch features, it still does things behind your back. I just ran into an issue where I can't boot unless I have the exact monitor plugged into the exact port as when I installed. To me this is another fatal flaw of clover. I'm dropping clover.
 

shilohh

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2012
Messages
1,768
Motherboard
Asus Prime Z490-A
CPU
i9-10850K
Graphics
Sapphire Radeon Pulse RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Guide: Asus X79 OS X Controlled SpeedStep

Just letting you know It Does not work on Intel X79 Boards. Get a power management kp on boot

"1. PM Unlocked BIOS (you do NOT have MSR register 0xE2 bit 15 set) (The old MSR E2 patch for AppleIntelCPUPowerManagement.kext will NOT work)."

You'll probably need a patched bios.
 
Joined
Apr 28, 2011
Messages
903
Motherboard
ASRock Fatal1ty Z370 Gaming-ITX/ac
CPU
i7-8700
Graphics
UHD 630
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Guide: Asus X79 OS X Controlled SpeedStep

Nice job, shilohh! Did you compile AICPUPMI.kext from pike source? I can't find it.
 

shilohh

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2012
Messages
1,768
Motherboard
Asus Prime Z490-A
CPU
i9-10850K
Graphics
Sapphire Radeon Pulse RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Guide: Asus X79 OS X Controlled SpeedStep

Nice job, shilohh! Did you compile AICPUPMI.kext from pike source? I can't find it.
Thanks,
A friend compiled from source on a R4E with a 3930k. If the attached version KPs your system when you run it, you'll need to compile your own. The source can be found on PikerAlpha's github.
 
Joined
Apr 28, 2011
Messages
903
Motherboard
ASRock Fatal1ty Z370 Gaming-ITX/ac
CPU
i7-8700
Graphics
UHD 630
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Guide: Asus X79 OS X Controlled SpeedStep

Thanks,
A friend compiled from source on a R4E with a 3930k. If the attached version KPs your system when you run it, you'll need to compile your own. The source can be found on PikerAlpha's github.

Your version works well with my rig, but it's also 3.2 version. Here's attached a compiled kext of AICPUPM.kext v. 3.3
Installed in S\L\E with KextBeast and loaded results in Terminal with
Code:
cat /var/log/system.log | grep "AICPUPMI:"
 

Attachments

  • AppleIntelCPUPowerManagementInfo.kext 3.3.zip
    11.4 KB · Views: 142

shilohh

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2012
Messages
1,768
Motherboard
Asus Prime Z490-A
CPU
i9-10850K
Graphics
Sapphire Radeon Pulse RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Guide: Asus X79 OS X Controlled SpeedStep

This is proper Proper Power Management and Speed Step? Don't think so... But getting somewhere...
Care to qualify your statement?? Please add something constructive. Thanks

PS. Don't be bitter that you spent your money on hardware with inferior performance to X79.
 
Joined
Mar 28, 2011
Messages
251
Motherboard
Asus Tuf X299 Mark 1
CPU
i9-7900X
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Guide: Asus X79 OS X Controlled SpeedStep

Clover does work correctly but you have to disable all ssdt auto patch features and do not drop oem. Post your config.plist and I'll try to fix it. Also your SSDT must be placed in the ACPI patched folder. Clover is pretty wonky because even after disabling all the auto patch features, it still does things behind your back. I just ran into an issue where I can't boot unless I have the exact monitor plugged into the exact port as when I installed. To me this is another fatal flaw of clover. I'm dropping clover.

thanks shilohh , here all files , my dsdt , ssdt and config clover.
 

Attachments

  • files.zip
    18.4 KB · Views: 182

shilohh

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2012
Messages
1,768
Motherboard
Asus Prime Z490-A
CPU
i9-10850K
Graphics
Sapphire Radeon Pulse RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Guide: Asus X79 OS X Controlled SpeedStep

thanks shilohh , here all files , my dsdt , ssdt and config clover.
Your config had a lot of problems. When you have a patched DSDT and a SSDT you don't want clover to perform any of its auto patching on them (that completely screws everything up ACPI wise).

I removed your external drive icon patch because it's not needed when you simply set hot swap to disabled in the bios. EDIT: just uploaded another version that still has the icon fix in case you don't have that in your BIOS.

I added the auto trim patch (you may need to remove it if you use a SSDT that doesn't have TRIM support) and gave you a correct serial number using the unique 5 characters from your old one.

Compare this one to your old one. And let me know how it goes.

EDIT: Just realized your on a R4F. The config Is almost identical to the one I use on my R4E so let me know if you have any USB issues.
 

Attachments

  • Xerox24config.plist.zip
    1.6 KB · Views: 78
  • W_IconFix_config.plist.zip
    1.7 KB · Views: 167
Joined
Mar 28, 2011
Messages
251
Motherboard
Asus Tuf X299 Mark 1
CPU
i9-7900X
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Guide: Asus X79 OS X Controlled SpeedStep

Your config had a lot of problems. When you have a patched DSDT and a SSDT you don't want clover to perform any of its auto patching on them (that completely screws everything up ACPI wise).

I removed your external drive icon patch because it's not needed when you simply set hot swap to disabled in the bios. EDIT: just uploaded another version that still has the icon fix in case you don't have that in your BIOS.

I added the auto trim patch (you may need to remove it if you use a SSDT that doesn't have TRIM support) and gave you a correct serial number using the unique 5 characters from your old one.

Compare this one to your old one. And let me know how it goes.

EDIT: Just realized your on a R4F. The config Is almost identical to the one I use on my R4E so let me know if you have any USB issues.



I have tried 2 configs and do not give me problems usb , usb3 and 2 work ok in this moment , everything seems to work well, the multiplier continues as before.

you better make a new installation?

I use your patch dsdt in my dsdt, I looked like the same board , this right? I sent a unmodified dsdt.

thanks shilohh
 

Attachments

  • 4804dsdtR4F.aml.zip
    14.2 KB · Views: 72
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top