Contribute
Register

[GUIDE/Workaround] Using Intel HD530 with Dual Monitors

Joined
Sep 16, 2019
Messages
2
Motherboard
Gigabyte B250-HD3P
CPU
Intel Core i5-6500
Graphics
HD530
Hi,
I was running 10.14.3 for some weeks with dual monitor perfectly working on HD530 using the hot plug workaround. I always use the latest versions of WEG, Lilu and Clover.
Yesterday, I updated to 10.14.6 which went smoothly, but I lost the dual monitor functionality.
As I read, Apple made changes to graphics in this version. Does anybody have made similar observations after the update?
 
Joined
Apr 5, 2011
Messages
144
Motherboard
Asus P8P67 B3 3.0
CPU
i5-2500K
Graphics
HD 6870
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
Android
@inbe I have used the [GUIDE] General Framebuffer Patching Guide (HDMI Black Screen Problem) and [Guide] Intel Framebuffer patching using WhateverGreen to patch my HD530 with two monitors.

Have in mind that you need to go through the procedure yourself since each mobo / GPU / monitor combination is not exactly the same.

Still the multimonitor apple support for HD530 is kind of buggy (meaning for example that I always boot with one monitor on and then when on login screen I plug the second monitor. Booting with both monitors on works 50% of the time).
 
Joined
Sep 16, 2019
Messages
2
Motherboard
Gigabyte B250-HD3P
CPU
Intel Core i5-6500
Graphics
HD530
I solved the problem. AGDP disabled the second monitor. It was no problem under 10.14.3 but in 10.14.6 I needed to disable it. :)
 
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 26, 2019
Messages
2
Motherboard
Gigabyte z170mx gaming 5
CPU
i7 6700k
Graphics
hd530
I solved the problem. AGDP disabled the second monitor. It was no problem under 10.14.3 but in 10.14.6 I needed to disable it. :)
Hi @inbe, now i'm using 10.12.4 with dual monitor(1hdmi + 1dvi), it works fine with hot plug. But recently I want to updated to 12.14.6 and make a clean installation, so I just tested in another SSD, and I found that other things works perfectly except displaying with dual monitors. Could you please give me some tips how to get dual monitor worked with hd530 in 10.12.6 after installation?
Thanks in advance.
 
Joined
Sep 26, 2019
Messages
2
Motherboard
Gigabyte z170mx gaming 5
CPU
i7 6700k
Graphics
hd530
I solved the problem. AGDP disabled the second monitor. It was no problem under 10.14.3 but in 10.14.6 I needed to disable it. :)
I figured out that I just needed make a prevent AGDP patch due to iMac 17 restriction.
But now I have another problem, which is after I click the "Shut Down" button, the computer will not be correctly shutdown, the fans are still working. Have you the same problem?
 
Joined
Feb 20, 2019
Messages
2
Motherboard
Asrock H110M-itx/ac
CPU
i5-6500
Graphics
HD 530
Hello everyone:
I have a Asrock H110M itx/ac runs Mojave 10.14.5 well. The HDMI is the primary monitor for a long time and I like to add another monitor. According to this thread, page 3, I found user unijhesk used identical motherboard as mine. Wildwillow suggested him activate the 4th port (0x07) and check the primary / secondary monitor in turn. I made some changes on config.plist. But there is no any AppleIntelFrameBuffer@3, port 0x07 on IORegistry, nor on Hackintool. What did I miss? Thank you guys so much.
 

Attachments

Last edited:
Joined
Jun 24, 2016
Messages
38
Motherboard
ASUS VIII Formula
CPU
i7 6700k
Graphics
Intel HD 530
Mobile Phone
Android
Hi Everyone,

Anyone can help me? I can't run the dual monitor on my setup currently I'm on 10.14.6 Thanks!
 
Joined
Feb 19, 2020
Messages
1
Motherboard
ASUS H110T
CPU
i5 6500
Graphics
HD 530
Waste a whole week to get ride of hot-plugin. I guess a HDMI switch is the only solution for now.
 
Joined
Feb 20, 2019
Messages
2
Motherboard
Asrock H110M-itx/ac
CPU
i5-6500
Graphics
HD 530
I gave up as well. Now I use a AMD R9 270 to make it work. One output from HD530, another from R9 270. 60+fps on minecraft. Easy and satisfied.
 
Top