Contribute
Register

[Guide] USB power property injection for Sierra (and later)

Sniki

Moderator
Joined
Jan 5, 2016
Messages
2,316
Motherboard
HP Elite 8300 SFF
CPU
i7-3770
Graphics
HD 3000 | GTX 1650 LP
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
No "Problem Reporting" files attached.
Read post #1, "Problem Reporting".
OK 1 more stupid question before posting the Files, does MLB & Rom & serial number get injected on IOreg, just for security reasons since i have working services iM/FT.
so if they do inject i will clear them and reboot without them before capturing the ioreg.
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
184,623
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
OK 1 more stupid question before posting the Files, does MLB & Rom & serial number get injected on IOreg, just for security reasons since i have working services iM/FT.
so if they do inject i will clear them and reboot without them before capturing the ioreg.

I know for sure serial# is there. I don't know about MLB/ROM as I don't use them (no need for iMessage).
 
Joined
Sep 23, 2016
Messages
25
Motherboard
Asrock Z97 Extreme6
CPU
Intel i7 4790K @ 4.6 Ghz
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi all! RehabMan, I have an issue. When I turn off my hackintosh , my usb 3 HDD's don't turn off.. meaning there is power on my USB ports... Is there a solution for this? I am on 10.12.5 with Asrock Z97 extreme6 mobo.
Thank you.
 

Sniki

Moderator
Joined
Jan 5, 2016
Messages
2,316
Motherboard
HP Elite 8300 SFF
CPU
i7-3770
Graphics
HD 3000 | GTX 1650 LP
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I know for sure serial# is there. I don't know about MLB/ROM as I don't use them (no need for iMessage).

Here are the Files.
 

Attachments

  • Rehabman.zip
    718 KB · Views: 113

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
184,623
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Here are the Files.

You have unbalanced renames.

You're using H_EC->EC patch in config.plist/ACPI/DSDT/Patches... but this patch applies only to ACPI/patched/DSDT.aml, not the SSDTs you have in ACPI/patched. And in ACPI/patched, I find SSDTs with H_EC references:
Code:
SPEEDY-NUC:patched rehabman$ grep -l H_EC *.dsl
DSDT.dsl
SSDT-0.dsl
SSDT-9.dsl

It means that in your final set (had you checked patchmatic -extract output, you would have seen it), DSDT.aml will refer to EC, but the SSDTs to H_EC.
You have to do the renames manually in SSDTs that are in ACPI/patched.

It is why it is best to do more of hotpatch setup... where you omit the SSDTs from ACPI/patched, do all renames within config.plist, and use DropOem=false.

You have no patches to your SSDTs anyway, so omitting SSDTs from ACPI/patched and using DropOem=false is a no brainer.
 

Sniki

Moderator
Joined
Jan 5, 2016
Messages
2,316
Motherboard
HP Elite 8300 SFF
CPU
i7-3770
Graphics
HD 3000 | GTX 1650 LP
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
You have unbalanced renames.

You're using H_EC->EC patch in config.plist/ACPI/DSDT/Patches... but this patch applies only to ACPI/patched/DSDT.aml, not the SSDTs you have in ACPI/patched. And in ACPI/patched, I find SSDTs with H_EC references:
Code:
SPEEDY-NUC:patched rehabman$ grep -l H_EC *.dsl
DSDT.dsl
SSDT-0.dsl
SSDT-9.dsl

It means that in your final set (had you checked patchmatic -extract output, you would have seen it), DSDT.aml will refer to EC, but the SSDTs to H_EC.
You have to do the renames manually in SSDTs that are in ACPI/patched.

It is why it is best to do more of hotpatch setup... where you omit the SSDTs from ACPI/patched, do all renames within config.plist, and use DropOem=false.

You have no patches to your SSDTs anyway, so omitting SSDTs from ACPI/patched and using DropOem=false is a no brainer.

Ok thanks,that shouldn`t be a problem,i can manually rename them, i just wanted to make sure that its patched correctly on DSDT and something else isn`t needed.

About Hotpatching,im trying to read everynight a bit, because it`s different way of patching & something new for me,which im looking forward to do so and plan to update my L440 Guide to Hotpatching way.
It seems much better way and less work with files.
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
184,623
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Ok thanks,that shouldn`t be a problem,i can manually rename them, i just wanted to make sure that its patched correctly on DSDT and something else isn`t needed.

Save yourself some time and trouble... remove all patched SSDTs from ACPI/patched and set DropOem=false.
It is easy and quick... as I said... a "no brainer".
There is no need to transition to full hotpatch (DSDT) until you're ready.
 

Sniki

Moderator
Joined
Jan 5, 2016
Messages
2,316
Motherboard
HP Elite 8300 SFF
CPU
i7-3770
Graphics
HD 3000 | GTX 1650 LP
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Save yourself some time and trouble... remove all patched SSDTs from ACPI/patched and set DropOem=false.
It is easy and quick... as I said... a "no brainer".
There is no need to transition to full hotpatch (DSDT) until you're ready.
Im not quite sure what you mean exactly,will check your guide 1 more time but i think you mean:
- Remove SSDT`s from Patched folder that are present on origin folder (OEM SSDT`s like ssdt-0;ssdt-11) and just fix them with Rename x to X already available on your clover laptop config files(hotpatch them ) and just Leave the SSDT`s that are not OEM like for SSDT-Trackpad,SSDT-audio,SSDT-USB ?

if thats the case,how do i set the layout id for the B0D3 to HDAU which is for my HDMI Audio through that rename method
are all these present on this guide that you made : https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/guide-using-clover-to-hotpatch-acpi.200137/ or theres another one that i need to look for ?

Update: i assume those changes like setting the HDMI Audio Layout ID should be implemented with a SSDT-HDAU
i think i found the reference for every patching needed right ? :
https://github.com/RehabMan/OS-X-Clover-Laptop-Config/blob/master/hotpatch/
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
184,623
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Im not quite sure what you mean exactly,will check your guide 1 more time but i think you mean:
- Remove SSDT`s from Patched folder that are present on origin folder (OEM SSDT`s like ssdt-0;ssdt-11) and just fix them with Rename x to X already available on your clover laptop config files(hotpatch them ) and just Leave the SSDT`s that are not OEM like for SSDT-Trackpad,SSDT-audio,SSDT-USB ?

Yes. And DropOem=false.

if thats the case,how do i set the layout id for the B0D3 to HDAU which is for my HDMI Audio through that rename method
are all these present on this guide that you made : https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/guide-using-clover-to-hotpatch-acpi.200137/ or theres another one that i need to look for ?

layout-id inject (and hda-gfx, etc) can be done easily with config.plist/Devices/AddProperties.
See example plists from my guide.

Update: i assume those changes like setting the HDMI Audio Layout ID should be implemented with a SSDT-HDAU
i think i found the reference for every patching needed right ? :
https://github.com/RehabMan/OS-X-Clover-Laptop-Config/blob/master/hotpatch/

And yes, they can also be injected with _DSM in an add-on SSDT such as what I have in SSDT-HDAU (see SSDT-Config for how to configure the layout-id).
 
Joined
Aug 1, 2012
Messages
508
Motherboard
Asus Z490 Prime A
CPU
i9-10900K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi all,

@RehabMan I've followed this guid but have some issues:

  • I'm experiencing this behaviour as per this thread .
  • Under Windows (VM FUSION file in OSX) none of the USB ports is able anymore to correctly recognise USB sticks.
  • In waking up the machine I'm experiencing the message "Disk NOT ejected properly" if something is attached to an USB port.
  • The machine is a GA-Z170X-UG .
Thank in advance!
 

Attachments

  • EFI.zip
    1.4 MB · Views: 99
  • Elektra.zip
    2.6 MB · Views: 77
  • layout.zip
    246.8 KB · Views: 90
Top