Guide to Installing Snow Leopard on HP Probook

Discussion in 'HP ProBook 4530s' started by RehabMan, Nov 7, 2012.

  1. VioletDragon

    VioletDragon

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2013
    Messages:
    10,973
    Motherboard:
    GA-H77N-WIFI
    CPU:
    Core i7-3770
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 4000
    Mac:
    MacBook, Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Apr 8, 2016 at 2:13 AM #41
    VioletDragon

    VioletDragon

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2013
    Messages:
    10,973
    Motherboard:
    GA-H77N-WIFI
    CPU:
    Core i7-3770
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 4000
    Mac:
    MacBook, Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    I think it's the SSD. I have a external hard drive caddy I put it in and I plugged it via USB how ever the partitions wouldn't mount they were refusing to mount I also had issues erasing the drive I put my old SSD back in my 4530s and got no problems. I've done a refund with Amazon I'm going to get another one but I'm going to go with a Sandisk because I haven't had no issues with that. But it's a bit weird that the partitions wouldn't mount with the EVO 850 I think it's defective.
     
  2. sherlocks

    sherlocks

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2012
    Messages:
    192
    Motherboard:
    15ZD960-GX3DK
    CPU:
    Intel Core i3-6100U
    Graphics:
    Intel HD Graphics 520
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    May 26, 2016 at 3:11 PM #42
    sherlocks

    sherlocks

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2012
    Messages:
    192
    Motherboard:
    15ZD960-GX3DK
    CPU:
    Intel Core i3-6100U
    Graphics:
    Intel HD Graphics 520
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Good guid thanks rehabman
    I arrive back to the furture.

    I have only audio issue.
    My sound patch 10.7~10.11 all works.
    DSDT layout id + dummy file + clover fly patch.

    But cant use in 10.6.8
    Ioreg show work like 10.7~10.11.

    I think clover fly patch is problem.

    My codec is alc270. I have 5 applehda fly patch in clover config.plist
     
    Last edited: May 26, 2016
  3. RehabMan

    RehabMan Moderator

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    190,432
    Motherboard:
    Intel DH67BL
    CPU:
    Core i7-2600K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    May 26, 2016 at 3:15 PM #43
    RehabMan

    RehabMan Moderator

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    190,432
    Motherboard:
    Intel DH67BL
    CPU:
    Core i7-2600K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
  4. Dewitts

    Dewitts

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,161
    Motherboard:
    HP Probook 4530s
    CPU:
    i5 2410m
    Graphics:
    HD3000 & Radeon 6490m
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Oct 29, 2016 at 3:26 PM #44
    Dewitts

    Dewitts

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,161
    Motherboard:
    HP Probook 4530s
    CPU:
    i5 2410m
    Graphics:
    HD3000 & Radeon 6490m
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    I have a bit of an issue, I had SL working on my probook a long time ago and always kept the install tucked away on a hard drive.
    My friend's macbook pro somehow would not pass the log in screen (enter password, white screen then return to log in) so I tried recovery and lion installer wouldn't work because the drive is locked.
    Disk util would not mount MacintoshHD.
    I never did buy LION so i'm unable to source the same OS she had on there when it failed (not available on the app store) so I thought i'd use my SL install disk.
    Sadly it just doesn't want to read, probably from the hours of use it had years ago when I was trying to get it to work on my ancient incompatible laptop lol.
    ANYWAY, my logic and method now has to wipe the HD in ubunu (done)
    Clone my SL install to her HD via USB (in process)
    Leave her with SL until she can get hold of her old mac mini and hope the LION installer app is still there to use.

    My problem is, as my install has been somewhat adapted for my probook, some things might not work properly E.G. there is currently no sound, no output device showing in the options.

    Can you help me undo what has been changed so she has a working install?
     
  5. RehabMan

    RehabMan Moderator

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    190,432
    Motherboard:
    Intel DH67BL
    CPU:
    Core i7-2600K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Oct 29, 2016 at 3:47 PM #45
    RehabMan

    RehabMan Moderator

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    190,432
    Motherboard:
    Intel DH67BL
    CPU:
    Core i7-2600K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Purchase Snow Leopard DVD from Apple. Follow the guide in post #1.
     
  6. Dewitts

    Dewitts

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,161
    Motherboard:
    HP Probook 4530s
    CPU:
    i5 2410m
    Graphics:
    HD3000 & Radeon 6490m
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Nov 6, 2016 at 5:19 PM #46
    Dewitts

    Dewitts

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,161
    Motherboard:
    HP Probook 4530s
    CPU:
    i5 2410m
    Graphics:
    HD3000 & Radeon 6490m
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    got one, it's not reading properly hence why i'm trying to clone it
     
  7. RehabMan

    RehabMan Moderator

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    190,432
    Motherboard:
    Intel DH67BL
    CPU:
    Core i7-2600K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Nov 10, 2016 at 12:59 AM #47
    RehabMan

    RehabMan Moderator

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    190,432
    Motherboard:
    Intel DH67BL
    CPU:
    Core i7-2600K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    From where did you purchase it?
     
  8. Argggh

    Argggh

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2014
    Messages:
    28
    Motherboard:
    HP ProBook 4530s (Clover)
    CPU:
    i5-2450M
    Graphics:
    HD3000, 1024x768
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Feb 28, 2018 at 10:32 PM #48
    Argggh

    Argggh

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2014
    Messages:
    28
    Motherboard:
    HP ProBook 4530s (Clover)
    CPU:
    i5-2450M
    Graphics:
    HD3000, 1024x768
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Excuse the silly question but where is the UpdateHelper download in that link? Am I looking for a file called UpdateHelper?

    hacking a probook 4530s...

    Many thanks
    Paul
     
  9. RehabMan

    RehabMan Moderator

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    190,432
    Motherboard:
    Intel DH67BL
    CPU:
    Core i7-2600K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Mar 3, 2018 at 3:36 PM #49
    RehabMan

    RehabMan Moderator

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    190,432
    Motherboard:
    Intel DH67BL
    CPU:
    Core i7-2600K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Click on 'Resources' then page until you find UpdateHelper.
     
  10. Argggh

    Argggh

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2014
    Messages:
    28
    Motherboard:
    HP ProBook 4530s (Clover)
    CPU:
    i5-2450M
    Graphics:
    HD3000, 1024x768
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Mar 3, 2018 at 3:52 PM #50
    Argggh

    Argggh

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2014
    Messages:
    28
    Motherboard:
    HP ProBook 4530s (Clover)
    CPU:
    i5-2450M
    Graphics:
    HD3000, 1024x768
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice