[GUIDE] [Skylake] El Capitan MSI Z170A-Tomahawk + i5 6600K + GTX 970

Discussion in 'El Capitan Desktop Guides' started by Leeum, Feb 28, 2016.

  1. BigDaddyJee

    BigDaddyJee

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Mobo:
    MSI H170 GAMING M3 MS-7978
    CPU:
    i5-6600K
    Graphics:
    AMD RADEON R9 380X
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Sep 17, 2016 at 7:45 AM #41
    BigDaddyJee

    BigDaddyJee

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Mobo:
    MSI H170 GAMING M3 MS-7978
    CPU:
    i5-6600K
    Graphics:
    AMD RADEON R9 380X
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    have you get it to work man ?
     
  2. PIETRO17

    PIETRO17

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Messages:
    7
    Mobo:
    MSI H170 Gaming M3
    CPU:
    GTX 970
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Sep 18, 2016 at 6:17 PM #42
    PIETRO17

    PIETRO17

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Messages:
    7
    Mobo:
    MSI H170 Gaming M3
    CPU:
    GTX 970
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    no, but i saw that my motherboard is now supported and i follow the guide from the website
     
  3. seathasky

    seathasky

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2014
    Messages:
    12
    Oct 27, 2016 at 11:58 PM #43
    seathasky

    seathasky

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2014
    Messages:
    12
    Ty for the guide, i have the same Motherboard but 6700k and a gtx 980ti. I was able to use this guide as a base for installing Sierra w/ latest combo update, the only thing that was different was that after i updated to the latest Sierra update from the app store, I had to use AGDPfix 1.3 and also had to use OsxAptioFix2Drv-free2000.efi instead of the one you recommended after getting errors on bootup.
     
    Lorenzo522 likes this.
  4. Lorenzo522

    Lorenzo522

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Nov 12, 2016 at 10:28 AM #44
    Lorenzo522

    Lorenzo522

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Yes mee too.
    And I have the exact hardware configuration.
    And are you able to use Nvidia card?
    Sierra set the graphics always on "OSX Default Grafics driver". ( I read a lot of guides but with no luck)
    Have you solved this issue?
     
  5. seathasky

    seathasky

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2014
    Messages:
    12
    Nov 14, 2016 at 11:41 PM #45
    seathasky

    seathasky

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2014
    Messages:
    12
    You have to change your system definitions to 7.1. [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  6. fr0nk

    fr0nk

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2016
    Messages:
    27
    Mobo:
    MSI H170 M3
    CPU:
    i5 6500
    Graphics:
    MSI r9 380 4Gb
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Nov 17, 2016 at 10:56 AM #46
    fr0nk

    fr0nk

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2016
    Messages:
    27
    Mobo:
    MSI H170 M3
    CPU:
    i5 6500
    Graphics:
    MSI r9 380 4Gb
    Mobile Phone:
    Android



    can you re upload all file?
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 17, 2016
  7. thetrystero

    thetrystero

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2011
    Messages:
    206
    Mobo:
    The Prodigy Dark Knight PRO
    CPU:
    i5 3570K
    Graphics:
    EVGA GTX 650 1GB DDR5
    Dec 3, 2016 at 3:08 PM #47
    thetrystero

    thetrystero

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2011
    Messages:
    206
    Mobo:
    The Prodigy Dark Knight PRO
    CPU:
    i5 3570K
    Graphics:
    EVGA GTX 650 1GB DDR5
    @Leeum did you get the m.2 Bluetooth and WiFi that came with the board to work? Which kext did you use for that?
     
  8. chivi31

    chivi31

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2015
    Messages:
    25
    Mobo:
    GA-Z87X-UD3H
    CPU:
    i7 4770K
    Graphics:
    GTX 1060 WINDFORCE OC 6G
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Dec 7, 2016 at 7:41 PM #48
    chivi31

    chivi31

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2015
    Messages:
    25
    Mobo:
    GA-Z87X-UD3H
    CPU:
    i7 4770K
    Graphics:
    GTX 1060 WINDFORCE OC 6G
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Hi there,

    I facing troubles following this guide. I want to install El Capitan but I get a black screen once I select "External" (Mac OS install USB). First appear the apple logo but 20/30seconds later, appears a block icon ....

    Anyone could help me?

    My hardware is:
    MSI Z170A Tomahawk
    GTX 960


    Thanks in advance guys ;)
     
  9. BryanMcClure

    BryanMcClure

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2015
    Messages:
    2
    Mobo:
    Intel HM175
    CPU:
    i7 7700HQ
    Graphics:
    GTX 1050 Ti
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Dec 12, 2016 at 10:43 PM #49
    BryanMcClure

    BryanMcClure

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2015
    Messages:
    2
    Mobo:
    Intel HM175
    CPU:
    i7 7700HQ
    Graphics:
    GTX 1050 Ti
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    I have the same motherboard and CPU as you except I am using the onboard graphics. Did you happen to get the wifi/Bluetooth to work? Also do you have the audio kext you could upload? I have a small black flicker at the top left of my screen up at the menu bar any idea on what that could be? Any help you can give would be greatly appreciated
     
  10. anatoliy.kant

    anatoliy.kant

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2016
    Messages:
    16
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-Z170X-Ultra Gaming
    CPU:
    i7-6700k
    Graphics:
    Asus GTX 780
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jan 4, 2017 at 9:52 PM #50
    anatoliy.kant

    anatoliy.kant

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2016
    Messages:
    16
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-Z170X-Ultra Gaming
    CPU:
    i7-6700k
    Graphics:
    Asus GTX 780
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    I also interested it.
     

Share This Page