Contribute
Register

[GUIDE] Remove extra Clover BIOS boot entries & prevent further problems

Joined
May 22, 2011
Messages
974
Motherboard
GigaByte Z390 M Gaming
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 560
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Im really confused. Could you please help me I have to much entries. I have 3 HDD and 1 SSD on my hackintosh one of them primary Boot Drive Samsung SSD all others are just for Backup. Im using just one OS no windows. Im adding my bcfg boot dump result. Which one should I remove?



 
Joined
Apr 5, 2012
Messages
104
Motherboard
MSI Z270 Gaming Pro Carbon
CPU
i5-7600
Graphics
RX 580
Mobile Phone
Android
Im really confused. Could you please help me I have to much entries. I have 3 HDD and 1 SSD on my hackintosh one of them primary Boot Drive Samsung SSD all others are just for Backup. Im using just one OS no windows. Im adding my bcfg boot dump result. Which one should I remove?
It appears that the listing is showing physical drives at 02, 03, 08, 09, 0A, and 0B –*more than 3 perhaps due to partitions or boot sectors. [Note: 0A and 0B are legitimate hexadecimal numbers.] I would remove all others, and then do a boot dump again to see the results. It may take a few times to get it right. If the option says "DevPath - PciRoot" then it needs to be removed. One time I had to remove ALL of the entries on my machine, so that the boot dump showed no entries at all. When I rebooted the computer, all was well. I am no expert on why this works, or exactly what it does, so I can't say this will for sure work with your system. I just found the technique useful for problems that seem to occur with Clover.

If your backup drives contain boot sectors with an installed boot loader (like a clone of your startup disk), you will continue to run into problems.
 
Joined
Nov 9, 2015
Messages
37
Motherboard
Alienware 15 R2
CPU
Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-6700HQ CPU @ 2.60GHz
Graphics
Nvidia GeForce 970m / Skylake Intel Graphics 530
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Just A question but how can you reverse this method?
 
Joined
Apr 5, 2012
Messages
104
Motherboard
MSI Z270 Gaming Pro Carbon
CPU
i5-7600
Graphics
RX 580
Mobile Phone
Android
Just A question but how can you reverse this method?
I have no idea. In my experience, after I removed all entries, the list was repopulated on the next restart. I do not know how, or where the information comes from. Perhaps Slice would know, or would know who to ask about more details as to what is happening. It is beyond me.
 
Joined
May 22, 2011
Messages
974
Motherboard
GigaByte Z390 M Gaming
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 560
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
It appears that the listing is showing physical drives at 02, 03, 08, 09, 0A, and 0B –*more than 3 perhaps due to partitions or boot sectors. [Note: 0A and 0B are legitimate hexadecimal numbers.] I would remove all others, and then do a boot dump again to see the results. It may take a few times to get it right. If the option says "DevPath - PciRoot" then it needs to be removed. One time I had to remove ALL of the entries on my machine, so that the boot dump showed no entries at all. When I rebooted the computer, all was well. I am no expert on why this works, or exactly what it does, so I can't say this will for sure work with your system. I just found the technique useful for problems that seem to occur with Clover.

If your backup drives contain boot sectors with an installed boot loader (like a clone of your startup disk), you will continue to run into problems.
Thank you. I guess I made it right. I boot without problem. Thank you again.
 
Joined
Feb 19, 2013
Messages
45
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z170x ud5 th
CPU
i5-6600k OC'd to 4GHZ
Graphics
AMD Radeon HD 7970 x2
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
I just wanted to chime in that I'm experiencing the same thing on my system (Gigabyte GA-170x-ud5 th with a skylake i5-6600k.) I kept watching the number of dupe boot partitions grow, and eventually went through the tedious process of deleting them. Flashed the bios on my mobo to the latest just in case that would help as well. Had built up to close to 100 entries in about three weeks of average use of the system. Deleted them all and assumed that it had to do with the windows 10 ssd I had connected which I almost never use. Disconnected it thinking it would solve the problem, but alas- it continues, and it seems like a new partition is being created on every restart... In so far as other volumes, there is a raid-0 pair that I created in SoftRaid, but they aren't a bootable volume. Updated my system to 10.11.3 today as well via app store and everything else seems to be functioning as expected. Any ideas of what could be causing this in my set up?
 
Joined
Dec 22, 2015
Messages
39
Motherboard
gigabyte z170x gaming 3
CPU
i5-6600k
Graphics
hd530
Any ideas of what could be causing this in my set up?
* Did you remove windows drive *before* clearing all your entries the last time?
* Check for other dormant ESP partitions, diskutil list. Print it out / paste here.
* Mount them each in turn with clover configurator, to see whats inside them. ls -l / paste output here.
 
Joined
Jan 1, 2016
Messages
5
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z170X-UD5 TH
CPU
i7-6700
Graphics
2x R9 280X
Mac
Mac Pro
Hi,
same hardware (Ga Z170 ud5th)..with only one EFI/clover on a 950 pro....And same problem.. Each restart give a new boot entry in bios...

:roll2:
 
Joined
Jan 24, 2016
Messages
2
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
I too am getting a new boot entry on every single restart, on a Gigabyte H110M-A. I'm a little perplexed, though, because I only have a single hard drive, with only one EFI partition and only one bootloader (Clover). It seems like I'm in the minority here.

Is it possible that the Apple Recovery partition is messing things up? If so, is it safe to wipe that partition? Here's my diskutil dump:

Code:
   #:                       TYPE NAME                    SIZE       IDENTIFIER   0:      GUID_partition_scheme                        *1.0 TB     disk0
   1:                        EFI EFI                     209.7 MB   disk0s1
   2:                  Apple_HFS Mac                     999.3 GB   disk0s2
   3:                 Apple_Boot Recovery HD             650.0 MB   disk0s3
 
Top