Contribute
Register

[Guide] Razer Blade, Late 2016, FHD

Joined
Jun 29, 2017
Messages
62
Motherboard
Aero 15 OLED SA
CPU
i7-9750H
Graphics
Intel UHD 630/GTX 1660 4k(3840x2160)
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
@uar I have been working on rebuilding my hackintosh setup for as close to 100% functionality as possible and can confirm modifying the bios to disable c9 does activate all cores in Sierra (Haven't tried High Sierra yet). If anyone needs instructions on how to modify bios and disable c9(not 100% straight forward for AMI Bios) just give me a shout. I am also working on disabling switchable graphics and enabling the 1060 as primary GPU(also in bios settings).

@uar have you been able to get the new release of VooDooI2C working properly yet?

@uar Also, have you ever gotten HWMonitor and the accompanying FakeSMC kexts properly working on youor build? I have never been able to utilize HWMonitor and extras.
 
Last edited:
  • Like
Reactions: uar
Joined
Sep 14, 2017
Messages
20
Motherboard
Razer Blade 15 (2018)
CPU
Intel Core i7-8750H
Graphics
GTX 1070 Max-Q
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I have the Voodoo rewrite working but still no multitouch support due to synaptics. From what the dev said, it's being worked on in some form, but no eta.
Getting the 1060 to work would be real nice. Looking forward to updates on that :thumbup:
 
Joined
Jun 29, 2017
Messages
62
Motherboard
Aero 15 OLED SA
CPU
i7-9750H
Graphics
Intel UHD 630/GTX 1660 4k(3840x2160)
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
I have the Voodoo rewrite working but still no multitouch support due to synaptics. From what the dev said, it's being worked on in some form, but no eta.
Getting the 1060 to work would be real nice. Looking forward to updates on that :thumbup:
While my goal is to get it to work fully, If it works at all it will be a battery killer. I plan to have different configs setup. 1 for disabling the dGPU for normal Laptop use and another with it enable for video production. I will keep you all updated.
 
Joined
Sep 28, 2017
Messages
38
Motherboard
Lenovo IdeaPad 320S-13IKB
CPU
Intel Core i5-8250U
Graphics
Intel UHD Graphics 620 + NVIDIA GeForce MX150
Audio fixed?
 

uar

Joined
Jul 21, 2015
Messages
228
Motherboard
Razer Blade, Clover
CPU
i7-6700HQ
Graphics
HD 530 / GTX 1060, 1920x1080
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
@uar I have been working on rebuilding my hackintosh setup for as close to 100% functionality as possible and can confirm modifying the bios to disable c9 does activate all cores in Sierra (Haven't tried High Sierra yet). If anyone needs instructions on how to modify bios and disable c9(not 100% straight forward for AMI Bios) just give me a shout. I am also working on disabling switchable graphics and enabling the 1060 as primary GPU(also in bios settings).
I would love that. Keep up, I think you'll be able to achieve this. Let me know how it goes! :clap:
@uar have you been able to get the new release of VooDooI2C working properly yet?
No, the cursor flies on any other version of VoodooI2C I try.
@uar Also, have you ever gotten HWMonitor and the accompanying FakeSMC kexts properly working on youor build? I have never been able to utilize HWMonitor and extras.
Nope, I tried to accomplish this before, but never made it to work properly.
While my goal is to get it to work fully, If it works at all it will be a battery killer. I plan to have different configs setup. 1 for disabling the dGPU for normal Laptop use and another with it enable for video production. I will keep you all updated.
There is a better chance of getting it triggered via HDMI port as its connected to it. If you make it to work internally, it will be a huge achievement. Like you said only BIOS patching can make this happen.
Audio fixed?
Use VoodooHDA for now. Still some testing here on AppleALC. It will be included in the bundle if I make it to work without issues.
 
Joined
Sep 14, 2017
Messages
20
Motherboard
Razer Blade 15 (2018)
CPU
Intel Core i7-8750H
Graphics
GTX 1070 Max-Q
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
No, the cursor flies on any other version of VoodooI2C I try.
Did you do all the GPI0 pinning stuff required? I can try and write a patch for the blade that does it, but I'm not sure if the pin is the same on every blade or if it's different for every computer. Newest Voodoo works, just single touch like 1.0.4 so not sure if it's even that much more worth updating until Synaptics gets supported
 
Joined
Jun 23, 2016
Messages
2
Motherboard
Asus H61M-K
CPU
Intel core i7/ intel core i5
Graphics
radeon hd 6770m /gtx 750
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
I don't get the Trackpad running. When I install VoodoooI2C it won't boot up. Can you upload a photo guide or something like that. That would help me very much.

But thanks for your help so far.
 
Joined
Jun 29, 2017
Messages
62
Motherboard
Aero 15 OLED SA
CPU
i7-9750H
Graphics
Intel UHD 630/GTX 1660 4k(3840x2160)
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
@uar DUDE!!!! got Hdmi out working as well as the 1060 being recognized by OS working. Decided not to try changing primary GPU to 1060, not because it will brick the computer(from my research, it wont work ,but it is correctable) As of me typing this post, I havent implemented hdmi audio YET but that will be done soon. Once all of that is done I will begin working on a way to enable and disable the dgpu via clover(im hoping multiple dsdts will be a simple enough fix). @uar we should definitely work together to bring complete functionality to our Hacks if you're willing. I included screenshots for evidence.

A7twaIH.png

QoFXOKW.png
 
Joined
Jun 29, 2017
Messages
62
Motherboard
Aero 15 OLED SA
CPU
i7-9750H
Graphics
Intel UHD 630/GTX 1660 4k(3840x2160)
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
@RehabMan Please take a look at my previous post in reference to this one. Do you think 2 different DSDT's could work as a means to enable and disable the dGPU from clover?
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
186,497
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@RehabMan Please take a look at my previous post in reference to this one. Do you think 2 different DSDT's could work as a means to enable and disable the dGPU from clover?

You can disable the DGPU with an SSDT. When you want to NOT do that, just drop the SSDT with Clover options.
 
Top