Contribute
Register

[Guide] Razer Blade 15 (2018) Detailed Install Guide High Sierra 10.13.6 (17G2208-17G5019)

Joined
Dec 8, 2011
Messages
547
Motherboard
Razer Blade 15 - Clover
CPU
i7-8750H
Graphics
UHD 630/GTX 1060 - 1920x1080
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
Android
As anyone been able to get Catalina fully working on the RB 15?
Another user has done so pretty much the same as High Sierra and Mojave but Bluetooth was an issue. If you do a thread search it should pop up.

I currently have zero plans to upgrade to Catalina anytime soon as a lot of Audio based programs that I use are not yet compatible, so I won't be updating the guide for it yet.
 
Joined
Jan 10, 2012
Messages
24
Motherboard
I still didn't read
CPU
the RULES
Graphics
so ignore me
Mac
MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
PowerBook
Mobile Phone
iOS
I am running voltageShift with -130 -40 -130 0 0 0 0
Additionally I have used OneKeyCpuFriend to generate a low power profile with disabled turbo boost
Are you sure VoltageShift works on your razer blade? The website stated it only works on haswell and broadwell chipsets.

 
Joined
Nov 20, 2019
Messages
3
Motherboard
MSI Z170 Pro Gaming AC/Razer Blade 15 Advanced 2018
CPU
6600k/8750h
Graphics
GTX 1080ti/GTX1070 max-q
Don't worry actually, just tried again and it worked, also audio has been fixed. Can't thank you enough RehabMan and all other contributors!!
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 13, 2018
Messages
8
Motherboard
2018 Razer Blade 15 Advanced
CPU
i7-8750H
Graphics
GTX 1060
Mac
MacBook Pro
hey everyone, another question I have searched for online but have not found what I am looking for, maybe someone can either explain to me why it can't work or just anything to help me, but here it goes:

for the nvidia GPU (1060 in my case) I know in the guide it said you can only use it when you have an external monitor plugged in. Does this mean that I can't use it for any rendering process UNLESS I have an external monitor in? or will it still be able to work (as in rendering scenes through something like c4d, or adobe media encoder) even if I am not plugged into an external, just not the graphics end of it. I don't know if I am making much sense but any help would be amazing!(you can probably see why I have had a hard time googling my question lol ) Also if it doesn't work unless I am on an external monitor, is there anyway to get its rendering power to work while just using the native laptop screen.

Thanks in advance and thank you to all the OG's that have put this guide together and have helped me and everyone here, y'all rule!
 
Joined
Oct 30, 2018
Messages
118
Motherboard
Razer Blade 15-Clover
CPU
i7-8750H
Graphics
UHD 630+GTX 1060, 1920x1080
Mobile Phone
iOS
hey everyone, another question I have searched for online but have not found what I am looking for, maybe someone can either explain to me why it can't work or just anything to help me, but here it goes:

for the nvidia GPU (1060 in my case) I know in the guide it said you can only use it when you have an external monitor plugged in. Does this mean that I can't use it for any rendering process UNLESS I have an external monitor in? or will it still be able to work (as in rendering scenes through something like c4d, or adobe media encoder) even if I am not plugged into an external, just not the graphics end of it. I don't know if I am making much sense but any help would be amazing!(you can probably see why I have had a hard time googling my question lol ) Also if it doesn't work unless I am on an external monitor, is there anyway to get its rendering power to work while just using the native laptop screen.

Thanks in advance and thank you to all the OG's that have put this guide together and have helped me and everyone here, y'all rule!
Will not work unless hooked in.
 
Joined
Nov 13, 2018
Messages
8
Motherboard
2018 Razer Blade 15 Advanced
CPU
i7-8750H
Graphics
GTX 1060
Mac
MacBook Pro
Alright...I seem to be having a few problems. The first one being kinda annoying but me being a noob, idk if it actually is having any effect on the computer itself, but the only way for me to boot into os is by booting it in verbose.

The second problem is that I have enabled by graphics card and it shows up in the system report, but when I try n use photoshop on my 4k LG monitor, it's SOOOO laggy. When I bring photoshop down to the built in display, it works just fine.

Also, in the photoshop preferences, the GPU doesn't show up in the performance graphics settings. I can see it in system reports, but I don't think I am actually using it at all.

Lastly, what boot args am I supposed to have? Like I said before, I cant boot unless I do it in verbose. If I don't, the progress bar just gets to full and then it never actually boots up fully.

This has been such a pain in my side, so again, thank you in advance and lmk if you need anything from me to help
 
Joined
Nov 26, 2019
Messages
4
Motherboard
Asus z270i
CPU
I5 6600k
Graphics
EVGA GTX 1080 TI SC2
Mac
iMac
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
Hello, im having trouble installing mac os x. It saying that this version of mac os x is not supported. I followed every step in this guide but used a different downloader to get a copy of 10.13.6 High Sierra.

EDIT:

Downloader i used to get the copy of High Sierra: https://github.com/corpnewt/gibMacOS
 
Joined
Nov 13, 2018
Messages
8
Motherboard
2018 Razer Blade 15 Advanced
CPU
i7-8750H
Graphics
GTX 1060
Mac
MacBook Pro
Hello, im having trouble installing mac os x. It saying that this version of mac os x is not supported. I followed every step in this guide but used a different downloader to get a copy of 10.13.6 High Sierra.

EDIT:

Downloader i used to get the copy of High Sierra: https://github.com/corpnewt/gibMacOS
I had the same problem and used https://github.com/munki/macadmin-scripts to get the proper OS. The way I had to do it tho is set up a virtual machine. I think I used something like VMfusion or something like that. You need a few GB of space open on your drive and its slow as hell, but I got to download the correct one. Then you just open up sharing and transfer it onto your physical computer and make the bootloader with unibeast like normal, just make sure you clear out all the other OS versions in your applications folder before you put the one from the VM in there
 
Joined
Nov 26, 2019
Messages
4
Motherboard
Asus z270i
CPU
I5 6600k
Graphics
EVGA GTX 1080 TI SC2
Mac
iMac
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
I had the same problem and used https://github.com/munki/macadmin-scripts to get the proper OS. The way I had to do it tho is set up a virtual machine. I think I used something like VMfusion or something like that. You need a few GB of space open on your drive and its slow as hell, but I got to download the correct one. Then you just open up sharing and transfer it onto your physical computer and make the bootloader with unibeast like normal, just make sure you clear out all the other OS versions in your applications folder before you put the one from the VM in there
Ah okay, ill see if that works. Were you able to grab the 17G2208 build? Because when i use the script, its only letting me download 17G..66 which is the one i dont want
 
Joined
Nov 26, 2019
Messages
4
Motherboard
Asus z270i
CPU
I5 6600k
Graphics
EVGA GTX 1080 TI SC2
Mac
iMac
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
For anyone that needs build 17G2208, you can use gibMacOS and run the script. Press m at the main menu and type in 10.13 and you should see the build number is the 7th (what i saw on my screen). Then run $ ./BuildmacOSInstallApp.command to build the installer app and drag to applications. You can use unibeast or use the terminal to create the bootable usb.

EDIT:

Terminal Command for High Sierra Bootable USB:

sudo /Applications/Install\ macOS\ High\ Sierra.app/Contents/Resources/createinstallmedia --volume /Volumes/MyVolume

Change my volumes to name of usb
 
Last edited:
Top