Contribute
Register

[Guide] Patching LAPTOP DSDT/SSDTs

Joined
Feb 9, 2012
Messages
307
Motherboard
Gigabyte X299 Desgnare EX
CPU
i9-9900x
Graphics
W5700
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I don't see any patch in your config.plist/ACPI/DSDT/Patches that attempts to rename D05E under RP03 to ETH2.
But the rename is not needed.
And you can inject the cosmetic properties into the RP03.PXSX scope instead.

eg. in an SSDT:

Code:
Method(_SB.PCI0.RP03.PXSX._DSM, 4)
{
            Store (Package (0x0E)
                {
                    "built-in",
                    Buffer (One)
                    {
                         0x00                                         
                    },

                    "device-id",
                    Buffer (0x04)
                    {
                         0xA0, 0x43, 0x00, 0x00                       
                    },

                    "AAPL,slot-name",
                    Buffer (0x09)
                    {
                        "Built-In"
                    },

                    "device_type",
                    Buffer (0x14)
                    {
                        "Ethernet Controller"
                    },

                    "model",
                    Buffer (0x4A)
                    {
                        "Qualcomm Atheros Killer E2500 PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet"
                    },

                    "compatible",
                    Buffer (0x0D)
                    {
                        "pci14e4,43a0"
                    },

                    "name",
                    Buffer (0x16)
                    {
                        "Killer E2500 Ethernet"
                    }
                }, Local0)
            DTGP (Arg0, Arg1, Arg2, Arg3, RefOf (Local0))
            Return (Local0)
}

Screen Shot 2018-04-10 at 1.06.46 PM.png


It won't show up if I did not use ETH1. (I put your code to SSDT, no luck and it keep renaming to D05E <-- no idea where this came from)

And I tried to change the name D05E to ETH1 but KP.

Screen Shot 2018-04-10 at 1.05.16 PM.png


Other idea?
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
188,247
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
View attachment 324543

It won't show up if I did not use ETH1. (I put your code to SSDT, no luck and it keep renaming to D05E <-- no idea where this came from)

And I tried to change the name D05E to ETH1 but KP.

View attachment 324541

Other idea?

You must provide PR files that represent the problem scenario. No advice possible without it.

No "Problem Reporting" files attached.
Read FAQ, "Problem Reporting" again. Carefully. Attach all requested files/output.
https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/faq-read-first-laptop-frequent-questions.164990/
Use the gen_debug.sh tool mentioned in the FAQ, that way it is less likely you'll omit something.
 
Joined
Feb 9, 2012
Messages
307
Motherboard
Gigabyte X299 Desgnare EX
CPU
i9-9900x
Graphics
W5700
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Sorry, I made mistake to rename part. :)) It shows up now.

Another question is in the Previous question about sleep/wake- monitor's built-in USB peripheral functions disabled issue.

Do you have any idea of that?

Post #2727

I appreciate a lot of your help and time to spend this.
 

Attachments

  • debug_28967.zip
    4.6 MB · Views: 46

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
188,247
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Sorry, I made mistake to rename part. :)) It shows up now.

Another question is in the Previous question about sleep/wake- monitor's built-in USB peripheral functions disabled issue.

Do you have any idea of that?

Post #2727

I appreciate a lot of your help and time to spend this.

Thunderbolt issues are off-topic here.
 
Joined
Feb 9, 2012
Messages
307
Motherboard
Gigabyte X299 Desgnare EX
CPU
i9-9900x
Graphics
W5700
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Thunderbolt issues are off-topic here.

Sorry, it is actually not TB3, it is about built-in USB function. I know how to make XHC USB patch from your guide. Thank you for the great guide. But this one is in RP21 and how to fix USB issue in that area?
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
188,247
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Sorry, it is actually not TB3, it is about built-in USB function. I know how to make XHC USB patch from your guide. Thank you for the great guide. But this one is in RP21 and how to fix USB issue in that area?

Post #2727 shows images that relate to TB3.
The device at RP21 is your TB3 controller.
 
Joined
Feb 9, 2012
Messages
307
Motherboard
Gigabyte X299 Desgnare EX
CPU
i9-9900x
Graphics
W5700
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Post #2727 shows images that relate to TB3.
The device at RP21 is your TB3 controller.
Yeah, you are right!

Should I make a new thread for this issue? I will do that.

BTW, Thank you so much for such a long helpful conversation!
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
188,247
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Yeah, you are right!

Should I make a new thread for this issue? I will do that.

BTW, Thank you so much for such a long helpful conversation!

I think you will find many topics on Thunderbolt.
And I think you will find no clear answers/solutions. It is very much a work in progress (for a long time now) and very complex.
 
Joined
Feb 16, 2016
Messages
20
Motherboard
Gigabyte-H97M-DS3P
CPU
i7-4790K
Graphics
HD 4600, RX 580 8GB
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
  3. Other
Good Evening/Morning,

I have this fresh installed High Sierra ( thanks to your guide and contributions @RehabMan ), so far, everything is working now, I even have patched Discrete GPU by following your guide and I believe it is working, however, I tried to work fresh, deleted and re-generated from Clover by F4, and the moment I try
Code:
iasl -da -dl -fe refs.txt DSDT.aml SSDT*.aml
AFTER
Code:
pbpaste>refs.txt
Following your guide, I get many errors, (I have attached Terminal Output, and required files from your guide, "Q. What are typical "Problem Reporting" files?")

Thank you so much for giving your so much time and effort.
 

Attachments

  • debug_15074.zip
    5.6 MB · Views: 40
  • EFI.zip
    49.5 MB · Views: 63
  • Terminal Saved Output.txt
    177.9 KB · Views: 83
Joined
Sep 24, 2012
Messages
99
Motherboard
Alienware m15 R1
CPU
i7-8750H
Graphics
Intel HD 630/GTX 1070
Hello, could you fix the errors:

I dumped the aml files from Bios.

I used the code to disassembly aml files:
Code:
iasl -da -dl DSDT.aml SSDT*.aml

It gives me these:
Code:
Intel ACPI Component Architecture
ASL+ Optimizing Compiler version 20161210-64(RM)
Copyright (c) 2000 - 2016 Intel Corporation

Input file DSDT.aml, Length 0x26D29 (159017) bytes
ACPI: DSDT 0x0000000000000000 026D29 (v02 DELL   CBX3     01072009 INTL 20160422)
External object resolution file   SSDT-zpodd.aml
Input file SSDT-zpodd.aml, Length 0x51E (1310) bytes
ACPI: SSDT 0x0000000000000000 00051E (v02 AcpiRe zpodd    00001000 INTL 20160422)
Pass 1 parse of [SSDT]
Pass 2 parse of [SSDT]
External object resolution file SSDT-xh_rvp3s.aml
Input file SSDT-xh_rvp3s.aml, Length 0x7FC (2044) bytes
ACPI: SSDT 0x0000000000000000 0007FC (v02 INTEL  xh_rvp3s 00000000 INTL 20160422)
Pass 1 parse of [SSDT]
Pass 2 parse of [SSDT]
External object resolution file SSDT-xh_rvp16.aml
Input file SSDT-xh_rvp16.aml, Length 0xA2E (2606) bytes
ACPI: SSDT 0x0000000000000000 000A2E (v02 INTEL  xh_rvp16 00000000 INTL 20160422)
Pass 1 parse of [SSDT]
ACPI Error: [GPLD] Namespace lookup failure, AE_ALREADY_EXISTS (20161210/dswload-462)
ACPI Exception: AE_ALREADY_EXISTS, During name lookup/catalog (20161210/psobject-310)
Could not parse external ACPI tables, AE_ALREADY_EXISTS
 

Attachments

  • AML.zip
    570.5 KB · Views: 42
Last edited:
Top