Contribute
Register

[Guide] Patching LAPTOP DSDT/SSDTs

Joined
Feb 2, 2016
Messages
5
Motherboard
Asus B360
CPU
I5 8400
Graphics
Gtx 1650ti
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Classic Mac
  1. Centris
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
However when i use normal SSDT i can smoothly boot
Can you please help me find a Way to control the speed of my 4540s, Because the laptop is overheating please
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
186,727
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi Rehabman i did everything you asked me, but when i try to install SSDT Mod patch for my 4540s fan, my clover cannot boot it
However when i use normal SSDT i can smoothly boot
Can you please help me find a Way to control the speed of my 4540s, Because the laptop is overheating please

Your 4540s has a guide.
Follow it is as written.
https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/...book-zbook-using-clover-uefi-hotpatch.232948/

Please fill out your profile as per FAQ:
https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/faq-read-first-laptop-frequent-questions.164990/
 
Joined
Mar 15, 2013
Messages
24
Motherboard
GA-Z370M-D3H
CPU
i5-8400
Graphics
UHD 630
Mac
  1. iMac
hi sir RehabMan
my Laptop Acer Aspire ES1-572-321G 7th gen i3 7100U

Question about Sleep are not working.

a few days ago I put one question for my laptop. my laptop sleep not working. Rehab sir I try again extract my dsdt and ssdt with patchmatics and refs.txt, and my dsdt and ssdt errors self removed and no need to fixing errors. sleep awake are fully working no graphics glitches. and I also use your kabylake config.plist download from GitHub, Already 10.12.6 are native supported. Thanks for these,

sir now I do it any Fixing in my dsdt and ssdt or not ?
 
Joined
Dec 23, 2017
Messages
21
Motherboard
Asus Q325ua Laptop-Clover
CPU
i7-7500U
Graphics
HD 620
I haven't dug through the 265 pages of this thread, but I'm stuck and hopeful someone could help me understand something. I tried Googling it but couldn't find anything.

I've tried the F4 and FNF4 at the bootloader, but the EFI/Clover/ACPI folder is empty. I'm assuming I'm just not understanding something, but that's where I'm stopped in the guide so far. Thank you for any help you can provide. On that note, I'm not even sure my EFI partition is setup properly...but one problem at a time I think.. xD

*EDIT*: Not sure if it's helpful, but I've uploaded the debug output from the script in the FAQ.

*EDIT2* Since I'm fairly convinced my problem above was related to the extensive mucking about on my first install, I've decided to just nuke everything and start over, reinstalling what I know works and going through more Rehabman's guides.
 

Attachments

  • debug_25470.zip
    3.5 MB · Views: 50
Last edited:

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
186,727
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I haven't dug through the 265 pages of this thread, but I'm stuck and hopeful someone could help me understand something. I tried Googling it but couldn't find anything.

I've tried the F4 and FNF4 at the bootloader, but the EFI/Clover/ACPI folder is empty. I'm assuming I'm just not understanding something, but that's where I'm stopped in the guide so far. Thank you for any help you can provide. On that note, I'm not even sure my EFI partition is setup properly...but one problem at a time I think.. xD

*EDIT*: Not sure if it's helpful, but I've uploaded the debug output from the script in the FAQ.

*EDIT2* Since I'm fairly convinced my problem above was related to the extensive mucking about on my first install, I've decided to just nuke everything and start over, reinstalling what I know works and going through more Rehabman's guides.

No files in ACPI/origin. Press F4 and Fn+F4 at the main Clover screen.
Also, your config.plist is wrong.
See here:
https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/guide-booting-the-os-x-installer-on-laptops-with-clover.148093/

Don't forget to update Clover to latest RehabMan build. It is required for AutoMerge=true, which this guide (and other subguides) assumes.
 
Joined
Dec 23, 2017
Messages
21
Motherboard
Asus Q325ua Laptop-Clover
CPU
i7-7500U
Graphics
HD 620
Hi Rehabman,

Yes, I mentioned having tried both F4 and FN F4, but it did not add the files. I forgot to come back to edit after my complete reinstall, but I am successfully populating those files now as of an hour or so ago. As I suspected, I think I previously messed up my EFI partition. It appears to be in good working order now.

I believe I have the latest build, but I'll doublecheck. Thanks!
 
Joined
Dec 23, 2017
Messages
21
Motherboard
Asus Q325ua Laptop-Clover
CPU
i7-7500U
Graphics
HD 620
Disassembling ACPI files

Although the extracted native files can be opened directly in MaciASL, it is not recommended. Opening an AML file directly in MaciASL will cause MaciASL to disassemble the file (with iasl) standalone, and if the AML has complex references to other AMLs, it will not disassemble it correctly. You'll be left with many hard to fix errors.

As a result, it is better to disassemble all files as a group using iasl in Terminal. To prepare, place all DSDT and SSDT files in a single directory (DO NOT copy ACPI files that don't begin with DSDT or SSDT), and change the names such that they have an .aml extension.

Then disassemble in OS X Terminal:

cd "to directory where you placed all SSDT/DSDT"
iasl -da -dl DSDT.aml SSDT*.aml

It's me again.. ><

So I'm at this part in the guide. I moved the DSDTs and SSDT files to a new folder on my desktop and then ran the terminal command. It tells me I don't have permission to do that.

What simple thing has my fried brain over looked this time? =/

*Edited for spelling/grammer because was up all night. Again.
 

Attachments

  • debug_23089.zip
    1.7 MB · Views: 51

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
186,727
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
It's me again.. ><

So I'm at this part in the guide. I moved the DSDTs and SSDT files to a new folder on my desktop and then ran the terminal command. It tells me I don't have permission to do that.

What simple thing has my fried brain over looked this time? =/

*Edited for spelling/grammer because was up all night. Again.

You will need to show the actual error such that we can see what exactly you're doing.
 
Joined
Dec 23, 2017
Messages
21
Motherboard
Asus Q325ua Laptop-Clover
CPU
i7-7500U
Graphics
HD 620
Hey there. Sorry for the late reply. Took a much needed nap. This is killing my brain.. xD

Attached is a screenshot showing that I typed what I saw in the guide, the files in their folder, and if you look closely at the bottom right, you'll see the folder on the desktop. Hopefully you can read the terminal output, which says "-bash: /usr/bin/iasl: Permission denied"

I'm assuming that what I'm not understanding is that "SSDT*.aml" part... I'm typing it as I see it, but am I missing the meaning of the astrik perhaps?
 

Attachments

  • Screen Shot 2017-12-25 at 4.53.47 PM.png
    Screen Shot 2017-12-25 at 4.53.47 PM.png
    895.1 KB · Views: 135
Top