Contribute
Register

[Guide] Patching DSDT/SSDT for LAPTOP backlight control

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
186,728
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Dell Haswell Brightness Fix needed

I’m trying to get the Brightness slider working on my Dell Inspiron 7437 with El Capitan installed. It has a Intel Haswell 4th Generation Core i7-4500U Processor, Video Card: Intel HD Graphics 4400. I’ve tried the following combinations without success. I hope someone can help me.

Extracted files using Clover F4
——
External(MDBG, MethodObj, 1)
External(_GPE.MMTB, MethodObj, 0)
External(_SB_.PCI0.LPCB.H_EC.ECWT, MethodObj, 2)
External(_SB_.PCI0.LPCB.H_EC.ECRD, MethodObj, 1)
External(_SB_.PCI0.PEG0.PEGP.SGPO, MethodObj, 2)
External(_SB.PCI0.GFX0.DD02._BCM, MethodObj, 1)
External(_SB.PCI0.SAT0.SDSM, MethodObj, 4)
External(_SB.PCI0.SAT1.SDSM, MethodObj, 4)
External(_GPE.VHOV, MethodObj, 3)
——
pbpaste>refs.txt
iasl -da -dl -fe refs.txt *.aml
——

Using MaciASL with the repository http://raw.github.com/RehabMan/Laptop-DSDT-Patch/master
Combination 1:
Combination 2.1:
  • IntelBacklight.kext
  • SSDT-7.dsl patched:
“[igpu] Rename GFX0 to IGPU”
“[igpu] Haswell HD4400/HD4600/HD5000”
“[igpu] Brightness fix (Haswell/Broadwell)”

Combination 2.2:
  • IntelBacklight.kext
  • SSDT-7.dsl patched:
“[igpu] Rename GFX0 to IGPU”
“[igpu] Haswell HD4400/HD4600/HD5000”
“[igpu] Brightness fix (Haswell/Broadwell)”
“[igpu] Rename B0D3 to HDAU”

All aml files placed in EFI/CLOVER/ACPI/patched
Kexts placed in EFI/CLOVER/kexts/10.11 folder AND using Kext Utility installed in system

Read post #1, "Problem Reporting".
 
Joined
Sep 14, 2016
Messages
12
Read post #1, "Problem Reporting".
I've attached 2 versions. 1 with just Brightness Fix and 2 is with ACPI Haswell Brightness fix. Thanks in advance for any advice you can give.
 

Attachments

  • RehabMan-BrightnessFix.zip
    409.2 KB · Views: 50
  • RehabMan-ACPIBrightness.zip
    414 KB · Views: 52

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
186,728
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Joined
Sep 14, 2016
Messages
12
You did not implement QE/CI. It is a pre-requisite.

See guide for correct config.plist: https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/guide-booting-the-os-x-installer-on-laptops-with-clover.148093/

Thank you very much for the assistance. It now works as expected. This is what I did
- I used your config_HD4600_4400_4200.plist for a config.plist
- patched DSDT.aml for brightness fix
- Installed 3 kexts (IntelBacklight, FakePCIID, FakePCIID_Intel_HD_Graphics)

I will now move on to making the function keys work and my next problem of Sleep waking up after a couple of seconds.

BTW, It took me awhile to get this working because I ran into a strange problem. When I installed config_HD4600_4400_4200.plist at reboot, I got the clover menu and it didn't display the boot drives (see attached picture). I spent sometime comparing the plists but was unable to figure out what was happening. I eventually, took my original, and copied over the relevant settings. It's now working, but for my personal curiosity, can you tell me what could have prevented it from showing the drives? It's a bit a mystery to me. Thanks
 

Attachments

  • IMG_5235.JPG
    IMG_5235.JPG
    85.7 KB · Views: 70

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
186,728
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
BTW, It took me awhile to get this working because I ran into a strange problem. When I installed config_HD4600_4400_4200.plist at reboot, I got the clover menu and it didn't display the boot drives (see attached picture). I spent sometime comparing the plists but was unable to figure out what was happening. I eventually, took my original, and copied over the relevant settings. It's now working, but for my personal curiosity, can you tell me what could have prevented it from showing the drives? It's a bit a mystery to me. Thanks

You forgot HFSPlus.efi. Must read the guide carefully.
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2016
Messages
1,011
Motherboard
ASUS X556UA-Clover
CPU
i5-6200U
Graphics
HD 520,1366x768
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hey @RehabMan
I don't know if it's related, but it's about key mapping.
Is there any way to map the Fn key only?
I saw that it doesn't send any scancode for it's own on Windows, only when combining another key (like Fn+F6)

Is there a way?
I think i found the scanTo value - 3F, but no scanFrom :(
Thanks :)
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
186,728
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hey @RehabMan
I don't know if it's related, but it's about key mapping.
Is there any way to map the Fn key only?
I saw that it doesn't send any scancode for it's own on Windows, only when combining another key (like Fn+F6)

Is there a way?
I think i found the scanTo value - 3F, but no scanFrom :(
Thanks :)

There are very few laptops that send an independent code for the Fn key.
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2016
Messages
1,011
Motherboard
ASUS X556UA-Clover
CPU
i5-6200U
Graphics
HD 520,1366x768
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
There are very few laptops that send an independent code for the Fn key.
Thank you.
Any idea how I can get the scanTo values for media control? Play/Pause+Next+Previous.

I got codes from a Windows program (guess they are scanFrom):
Play/Pause - 179
Previous - 177
Next - 176

Sounds logical? Or it's decimal and I need to convert those values to hexadecimal?
Will they give the same scanFrom value on macOS?

Thanks!
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
186,728
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Thank you.
Any idea how I can get the scanTo values for media control? Play/Pause+Next+Previous.

Those PS2 keys have standard codes. You will see them in the system log when you use the debug PS2 kext.

Further discussion is off-topic. This thread is regarding display backlight control...
 
Top