Contribute
Register

[GUIDE] OC 10.13.6 Z490 Gigabyte Aorus Xtreme + Core i5 10400 + Nvidia GTX 1060

Joined
May 11, 2011
Messages
1,720
Motherboard
Gigabyte B550 Vision D
CPU
Ryzen 5900X
Graphics
RX 6800
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. MacBook Air
  4. MacBook Pro
  5. Mac mini
  6. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
  2. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I tried the EFI file attached in the post and tried a few others and changing values with no success
this is what I get
View attachment 523287

double-checked the BIOS setting and everything seems fine

These are my specs:
I9-11900k
Asus Z590-A
trying to install it on a Crucial P2 250GB M.2
and use the IGPU
I just need to boot it so I can use Xcode
Hi there,

First of all which EFI did you use? Please can you state the name of it?
Secondly which version of macOS are you trying to install? ie. High Sierra/Mojave/Catalina/Big Sur?
I see you also have a Nvidia RTX 3080 in your build profile. If you have it installed
it is best to remove it first, and just purely try the Intel IGPU to see if it boots.
 
Joined
May 11, 2011
Messages
1,720
Motherboard
Gigabyte B550 Vision D
CPU
Ryzen 5900X
Graphics
RX 6800
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. MacBook Air
  4. MacBook Pro
  5. Mac mini
  6. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
  2. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I am happy to say that I finally snagged a new GPU today. After months of waiting I finally got what I wanted for my build - a Gigabyte Aorus Master Nvidia RTX 3070 (which arrived earlier today).

My original intent for the Z490 build was to have it fitted with a Nvidia RTX 3080 FE, but not being able to get hold of one for months (at a price I could agree with), I decided to change my choice. So the Aorus Master 3070 it has become. Hopefully will be putting it through its paces soon.
 
Joined
Jul 1, 2021
Messages
2
Motherboard
Asus Prime Z490M Plus
CPU
i7-10700
Graphics
UHD 630
Hello, I would like to know how you solved the problem with the integrated graphics? I can't get Intel UHD 630 to work, I've been stuck for 4 days on this, Intel UHD 630 only recognizes 7 Mb, sorry for my English
 
Joined
May 11, 2011
Messages
1,720
Motherboard
Gigabyte B550 Vision D
CPU
Ryzen 5900X
Graphics
RX 6800
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. MacBook Air
  4. MacBook Pro
  5. Mac mini
  6. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
  2. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hello, I would like to know how you solved the problem with the integrated graphics? I can't get Intel UHD 630 to work, I've been stuck for 4 days on this, Intel UHD 630 only recognizes 7 Mb, sorry for my English
Which version of macOS are you running? Also need to be specific with the exact version.
 
Joined
Aug 20, 2021
Messages
1
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z590 UD AC
CPU
i7-11700k
Graphics
RX 5500XT
Hello, I downloaded your EFI folder for Big Sur and it boots first try but then my USB stop working so I get stuck in macOS recovery and I don't know what else to do.
 
Joined
May 11, 2011
Messages
1,720
Motherboard
Gigabyte B550 Vision D
CPU
Ryzen 5900X
Graphics
RX 6800
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. MacBook Air
  4. MacBook Pro
  5. Mac mini
  6. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
  2. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hello, I downloaded your EFI folder for Big Sur and it boots first try but then my USB stop working so I get stuck in macOS recovery and I don't know what else to do.
My EFI is designed mainly for Z490 users. If you have problems booting it might be you need to add in your own UUID and system board serials into the config.plist under the PlatformInfo section which can be generated using SSDTPRGen. In any case you can refer to CaseySJ's guide and the main Dortania guide here for general help.

> https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/...lt-3-amd-ryzen-7-3700x-amd-rx-5600-xt.304553/

> https://dortania.github.io/OpenCore-Install-Guide/

To edit the config.plist file you must have a PLIST editor installed such as ProperTree, PList Pro etc. Opencore Configurator (OCC) can also work, but you must know which version of Opencore bootloader (OC) is used in the EFI folder, and download the appropriate OCC version to edit the file - otherwise it will cause problems ie. you can't use latest version of OCC with an earlier version of OC because it will add things into the file that aren't there yet in the bootloader (causing it to crash). My earliest EFI used Opencore v0.6.1 as bootloader, and subsequent versions from April 2021 on used OC v0.6.5 and v0.6.8 (which are marked on the ZIP). So you'll need Opencore Configurator v2.11.1.1 to edit OC v0.6.1, OCC v2.22.2.0 for OC v0.6.5 and OCC v.2.35.0.0 to edit OC v0.6.8.

As I see you are using Z590 board, there is also a guide you can check for it here by OChang. But I see you are also using 11th gen Intel. You may have difficulties with running macOS as 11th gen Intel is not officially supported.
> https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/ohchangs-build-gigabyte-z590-vision-g-i7-10700k-amd-rx580.310986/
 
Joined
Nov 20, 2011
Messages
8
Motherboard
Gigabyte z490m
CPU
i7-10700
Graphics
RX 560
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hello guys,
thanks to your help i was able to boot a backup disk of a previous macbook with high sierra on my hackintosh with gygabite z490m + 10700.
The system however has messed up with my previous Big sur partition/apfs, it does not start anymore!
I also did a test with a new clean install of bigsur in a new partition, it was working but after an High sierra start big sur volumes are no more bootable!
Also instead of seeing an apfs container now i see two, i am using a different install of big sur to do the tests. I would like to recover the first partition with all the data I was working of, the disk is readable but doesn't boot.

I before it was something like :
disk1
- mac (big sur)
- test (big sur)
- data (only data)

now is like:
disk1
- mac
- mac - dati
- test
- test - Dati
- data

In opencore bootfase before it was
- mac
- test
- Recovery

and now:
- mac - dati
- test - Dati
not bootable anymore :(

did I have really to recreate a fresh big sure installation and manually migrate?
Any helps or tips?
I tried to repair from disk utility with no effects. :(
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 20, 2011
Messages
8
Motherboard
Gigabyte z490m
CPU
i7-10700
Graphics
RX 560
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
the high sierra volume was on different fisical disc in a usb-c case, instead the big sur disc is an internal nvme
it seemd apfs on high sierra messed up with apfs big sure container, I'm the first one or it is something know?
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 11, 2011
Messages
1,720
Motherboard
Gigabyte B550 Vision D
CPU
Ryzen 5900X
Graphics
RX 6800
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. MacBook Air
  4. MacBook Pro
  5. Mac mini
  6. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
  2. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hello guys,
thanks to your help i was able to boot a backup disk of a previous macbook with high sierra on my hackintosh with gygabite z490m + 10700.
The system however has messed up with my previous Big sur partition/apfs, it does not start anymore!
I also did a test with a new clean install of bigsur in a new partition, it was working but after an High sierra start big sur volumes are no more bootable!
Also instead of seeing an apfs container now i see two, i am using a different install of big sur to do the tests. I would like to recover the first partition with all the data I was working of, the disk is readable but doesn't boot.

I before it was something like :


now is like:


In opencore bootfase before it was


and now:

not bootable anymore :(

did I have really to recreate a fresh big sure installation and manually migrate?
Any helps or tips?
I tried to repair from disk utility with no effects. :(
Sorry to hear of your troubles, but technically speaking High Sierra cannot boot your Big Sur partition. There would be a lot of new changes made to Big Sur in relation to security and the APFS file system in general that simply stops High Sierra from using the Big Sur partition. Your best chance here for data recovery would be to disconnect any existing connected macOS drives, reinstall Big Sur on a newer separate drive, and then migrate the data over with Migration Assistant. Use the latest versions of my EFI files for the Big Sur install.
 
Joined
Nov 20, 2011
Messages
8
Motherboard
Gigabyte z490m
CPU
i7-10700
Graphics
RX 560
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
really thanks for your reply!
I think my problem here is related to the fact that high sierra tried to do something on the other disc (reading, trim, indexing, I don't know...).
The same operetion on a macbook pro 2019 doesn't cause this.
On this computer I initially created my hack directly for big sure and i was quitly proud of it :(

I'm really the only one that suffer this?

Ps. I never tried to boot big sur from high sierra, I used an usb open core 0.6.8 for it and for big sur I had a complete installation with OC 0.7.2 and port mapping.

This means that next time I want to use my hSierra I need to disconnect every BigSur drive from the system?

Anyway on a different bigsur installation I can read correctly and see the partitions in finder, but is a little messed in disk utility or in Open core menu :(
 
Top