Contribute
Register

[GUIDE] OC 10.13.6 Z490 Gigabyte Aorus Xtreme + Core i5 10400 / i9 11900K + Nvidia GTX 1060

Joined
Oct 23, 2016
Messages
36
Motherboard
Dell Inspiron 15 7570
CPU
Core i7-8550U
Graphics
Intel UHD Graphics 620 & Nvidia Geforce 940mx, 3840 x 2160
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I see. Well in that case it could still work. You just need to remove the Intel GPU values from Devices/Properties and boot with nv_disable=1 for the initial installation. After that, install the CUDA and Nvidia drivers (and enable them), use boot-args dart=0 darkwake=0 slide=0 kext-dev-mode=1 npci=0x2000 nvda_drv=1 (or those in my current config.plist) and you should be good to go.

In fact the Nvidia does have some decoding capabilities too iirc but only after enabling its driver.
I’ve tried your settings including with different smbios’ and nothing got hardware decoding to work. VideoProc has never acknowledged the presence of a decoder. Although it does line up to whatevergreen’s specifications as when I use shikigva=256, the aforementioned things that should work do and those that say no, don’t. Those settings are clearly mojave+ though so maybe there’s an nvidia shiki setting out there for high Sierra. But I haven’t found anything on the matter as support pages are continuously updated. Thanks though.
Configuration Mode iTunes Trailers iTunes Movies TV+ Prime Trailers Prime/Netflix IQSV
NV, IMP/MP​
shikigva=256​
SW1​
SW2​
SW3​
HW​
NO NO
 
Joined
May 11, 2011
Messages
2,315
Motherboard
Gigabyte B550 Vision D
CPU
Ryzen 5900X
Graphics
RX 6800
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. MacBook Air
  4. MacBook Pro
  5. Mac mini
  6. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
  2. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Have you run it under High Sierra? As support for Nvidia card's is there. I got part of the Nvidia card to be recognised in Videoproc because I had also installed the Nvidia video drivers + CUDA. But....I've looked again at your spec. One thing I've just realised from looking at it is, you are booting from a laptop! You do know that the specs I put here DO NOT WORK for a laptop? They are specifically for Z490 E-ATX and discrete GPU setup. Yours is a Nvidia Optimus laptop setup - unfortunately there is no support for them (at least on the Nvidia part).

You also said your chip has no Intel IGPU - I'm afraid I think you do. Your video output would be/should be via the Intel 620 IGPU as the Nvidia card part of Optimus is activated via software only. You can double check this if it is the case by running CPU-Z in Windows and see if Intel IGPU shows up. But as macOS has no Optimus drivers, the Nvidia GPU is essentially rendered moot - ie. when you boot with nv_disable=1 it will run only in VESA mode.

Despite this you should still be able to get VDA decoding going. I'd advise you to check out my Acer Nitro 5 setup here, which has Nvidia Optimus chipset with UHD 630, but where I enabled my Intel's VDA decoding via Clover. It will run the system via the Intel IGPU only > https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/...10-13-6-intel-vram-trackpad-fix-guide.308477/
 
Joined
Oct 23, 2016
Messages
36
Motherboard
Dell Inspiron 15 7570
CPU
Core i7-8550U
Graphics
Intel UHD Graphics 620 & Nvidia Geforce 940mx, 3840 x 2160
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Have you run it under High Sierra? As support for Nvidia card's is there. I got part of the Nvidia card to be recognised in Videoproc because I had also installed the Nvidia video drivers + CUDA. But....I've looked again at your spec. One thing I've just realised from looking at it is, you are booting from a laptop! You do know that the specs I put here DO NOT WORK for a laptop? They are specifically for Z490 E-ATX and discrete GPU setup. Yours is a Nvidia Optimus laptop setup - unfortunately there is no support for them (at least on the Nvidia part).

You also said your chip has no Intel IGPU - I'm afraid I think you do. Your video output would be/should be via the Intel 620 IGPU as the Nvidia card part of Optimus is activated via software only. You can double check this if it is the case by running CPU-Z in Windows and see if Intel IGPU shows up. But as macOS has no Optimus drivers, the Nvidia GPU is essentially rendered moot - ie. when you boot with nv_disable=1 it will run only in VESA mode.

Despite this you should still be able to get VDA decoding going. I'd advise you to check out my Acer Nitro 5 setup here, which has Nvidia Optimus chipset with UHD 630, but where I enabled my Intel's VDA decoding via Clover. It will run the system via the Intel IGPU only > https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/...10-13-6-intel-vram-trackpad-fix-guide.308477/
Oh no, I should have specified. My bad! Only my laptop is listed on my profile. The desktop I’m talking about is an Alienware Alpha R2, i5-6400T with a GTX960. I’ve actually been running this thing perfectly as a hackintosh for 5 years now lol, but I’ve been on clover the whole time. Wanted to transition to opencore with High Sierra & an nvidia gpu so I came here to check out the feasibility of it.

I successfully got it booting through OC but noticed that drm & hardware decoding wasn’t working, which I never cared about until recently when I got a monitor worthy of media consumption. I know we don’t have the same setup but these things usually translate with the right changes. I came to your post looking for inspiration because you were the most recent High Sierra guide with an active discussion thread.
 
Joined
May 11, 2011
Messages
2,315
Motherboard
Gigabyte B550 Vision D
CPU
Ryzen 5900X
Graphics
RX 6800
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. MacBook Air
  4. MacBook Pro
  5. Mac mini
  6. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
  2. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I see! In that case that's easily rectifiable.

Your IGPU isn't being recognised in the Alienware R2 because maybe its emulating something that it shouldn't. I had to use the CPUID values for Coffee Lake and Kaby Lake for my setup because my Z490 motherboard is not supported in official High Sierra - hence the CPU spoofing via the CPUID emulation mask and the IGPU spoofing via the Device/Properties section. But since yours is a proper Skylake chipset, you shouldn't really need the masking at all. So in your case simply leave the Kernel/Emulate CPUID and masking section totally blank, but you do need a compatible SMBIOS - iMac17,1 might do the trick for you as that is based on Skylake chipset. You'll need those plus 03001219 for AAPL,ig-platform-id, 12190000 for the device-id and framebuffer-patch-enable 01000000 under Device/Properties > Device > PciRoot(0x0)/Pci(0x2,0x0) in order to enable the VDA decoding.

Also the Skylake chipset is still very much compatible with Clover, so there's no need for an OC setup unless really necessary.
 
Joined
Oct 23, 2016
Messages
36
Motherboard
Dell Inspiron 15 7570
CPU
Core i7-8550U
Graphics
Intel UHD Graphics 620 & Nvidia Geforce 940mx, 3840 x 2160
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I see! In that case that's easily rectifiable.

Your IGPU isn't being recognised in the Alienware R2 because maybe its emulating something that it shouldn't. I had to use the CPUID values for Coffee Lake and Kaby Lake for my setup because my Z490 motherboard is not supported in official High Sierra - hence the CPU spoofing via the CPUID emulation mask and the IGPU spoofing via the Device/Properties section. But since yours is a proper Skylake chipset, you shouldn't really need the masking at all. So in your case simply leave the Kernel/Emulate CPUID and masking section totally blank, but you do need a compatible SMBIOS - iMac17,1 might do the trick for you as that is based on Skylake chipset. You'll need those plus 03001219 for AAPL,ig-platform-id, 12190000 for the device-id and framebuffer-patch-enable 01000000 under Device/Properties > Device > PciRoot(0x0)/Pci(0x2,0x0) in order to enable the VDA decoding.

Also the Skylake chipset is still very much compatible with Clover, so there's no need for an OC setup unless really necessary.
Interestingly enough, that's the smbios I've been using these last few years. Yes, if the igpu was visible then these settings would definitely work, it doesn't even show in windows. I've tried those properties over these last few days of testing, the igpu doesn't exist on this device. According to DELL, it's permanently disabled in the firmware itself. Makes sense as this was an incredibly niche device at the time of its release.

Thanks for the help @Middleman but I've come to realize that there's nothing we can do for decoding without an igpu. Chrome's DRM system works on all major streaming sites although nothing goes past 720p, if even. I've since switched to the iMacPro1,1 smbios in anticipation of eventually going the egpu route with Dell's graphics amplifier and some AMD gpu for otb compatibility. Until then I'll be chugging along on High Sierra and maybe next fall, I'll be watching Netflix on whatever the next version of macOS is.
 

Jamesbond007

Moderator
Joined
May 21, 2011
Messages
6,503
Motherboard
Z390 Designare
CPU
i7 9700KF
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
You’re most welcome!

Yes the Z490 is a very good build, definitely worth considering because of the potentials to upgrade it to 11th gen plus the PCIe 4.0 compatibility. That and having TB3 onboard makes it a really convincing build.

As for the Arcee build, actually that’s for my other AMD Catalina build at work. I couldn’t find the B550 Vision D and 5900X parts in the listing so had to stick with those for the time being!
So you are using OpenCore to boot High Sierra on this computer? Which version?

I seem to remember you saying some time before that you use Clover to boot High Sierra on such a system? Or am I mistaken?
 
Joined
May 11, 2011
Messages
2,315
Motherboard
Gigabyte B550 Vision D
CPU
Ryzen 5900X
Graphics
RX 6800
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. MacBook Air
  4. MacBook Pro
  5. Mac mini
  6. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
  2. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
So you are using OpenCore to boot High Sierra on this computer? Which version?

I seem to remember you saying some time before that you use Clover to boot High Sierra on such a system? Or am I mistaken?
Yes that's correct, I'm using OpenCore to boot High Sierra. I believe it is using OC 0.6.0 (because it's derived from VectorSeven's EFI).

As for the booting with Clover, you are correct but actually I was referring to Clover booting on Catalina not High Sierra. Yes I do have that working too on the Z490 (thanks to the work of Maldon). In fact, Maldon's Z490 Clover config also works with Big Sur! I just tried it recently, and it booted totally fine.
 
Joined
Oct 6, 2018
Messages
8
Motherboard
Hewlett-Packard 18E7
CPU
Intel Core i5-4590 CPU @ 3.30GHz × 4
Graphics
Intel Haswell Desktop, HD 4600
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Hi @Middleman, I installed High Sierra 10.13.6 on my Asrock Z490 with i5 10600k today, but I'm facing a problem when trying to update to 2020-005 security update, with which I'm stuck at boot picker after install. Did you manage to update or are you still running an older version? Thanks

Edit: tried updating to version 17G13033, same problem: black screen, returning to boot picker after a couple of seconds

Edit: I get further with your EFI, so I guess I'll just need to revise mine lol
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 26, 2015
Messages
44
Motherboard
ASUS Z490-A
CPU
Intel i7-10700K
Graphics
iGPU UHD630 and dGPU Nvidia K420
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
hi
Not long ago, it was said that it was impossible to boot a Z490 based 11-gen system on High Sierra, and it was also said that it could not run Opencore. Well folks, this is the guide you've all been waiting for! This system is both High Sierra AND Mojave compatible!

View attachment 508825

View attachment 508813

View attachment 508814

View attachment 508815
View attachment 508816

View attachment 508817
View attachment 508818

View attachment 508822
View attachment 508909
View attachment 508823
View attachment 509084

View attachment 508819

View attachment 508820

View attachment 508821

View attachment 510479

Background to the system
My main Z68 Asus system at home for gaming and work was getting a bit long in the tooth, and I wanted an upgrade to the latest available equipment (to handle Cyberpunk 2077 and the like), as well as have it set up with all the bells and whistles of RGB lighting. Instead of settling for a mid-range board this time I decided to settle on a top-end Z490 board from Gigabyte - specifically the Z490 Aorus Xtreme, which is an extremely high-specced motherboard that comes with Thunderbolt 3 as well as PCIe 4.0 support. As the PCIe 4.0 compatible CPUs weren't yet available from Intel at the time of writing, I'd decided to settle on a low-end Core i5 10400 to run the system until the 11th gen CPUs were available.

Initially I'd wanted to use a smaller case such as Thermaltake 20MT - but found out as the Xtreme uses an E-ATX sized board, I had to find a larger case as it is too small. I'd then found a Thermaltake 20GT ARGB - but saw this option was not available where I was based, so I had to settle for the next best model which was the 20GT RGB Plus.

I did not expect it, but the 20GT RGB Plus is a huge case, and with tempered glass all round, it is also one of the heaviest I've yet owned (at 20kg). It comes with its own RGB controller as well as a small set of RGB fans. It is also well built. This time I'd decided on spending a bit more on the furnishings of the system, so I decided on a 70% Thermaltake 30% Gigabyte mix, buying most of my parts from both brands. I sourced the fans, motherboard and all other parts from local dealers including the Gigabyte 1TB copper-plated PCIe 4.0 NVMe SSD and Thermaltake RGB 32GB Toughram (which can be controlled by software).

For the graphics card, I originally wanted the Nvidia GTX 3080 for this setup. But as I couldn't get hold of one, decided to settle on a GTX 1060 6GB card which I carried over from the previous system. I'd wanted to be able to run both Windows and macOS so had two NVMes installed into the board's 2/3 NVMe slots.

View attachment 508910

I specifically wanted to run High Sierra on the system - mainly because I had my Nvidia card and didn't want to lose any compatibility with it. Luckily my GTX 1060 is a Pascal card so it has the full compatibility.

The installation took roughly about 2 weeks to build on and off. I first routed and cleanly installed all the necessary power and signalling cables for the PSU, fans and motherboard, then began to install the fans and finally SSD drives and graphics card. For the fans I connected most of them to a central TT USB controller, which was then connected to the mainboard for full syncing.

View attachment 508911

I then installed Windows from a USB onto the Gigabyte NVMe, then later set up macOS on the Samsung NVMe.

For the RGB software in Windows I used TT's own RGB Sync software for the RAM as well as Gigabyte's AORUS controller software, and NZXT's CPU monitoring software.

(A note for Samsung users - if you want to install macOS onto the 970 Evo NVMe, it would be wise to update the firmware with Samsung Magician first before installing macOS onto it).


View attachment 508826
COMPONENTS
Other tools needed
  • 2 x 16GB USB Keys (for Unibeast & Windows 10)
  • Spare Hackintosh/Mac (for editing if necessary)
  • USB 3.0 external slot drive (for copying/editing files and data)
  • Superduper or Carbon Copy Cloner (for cloning drives)
  • Windows 10 installation on spare SSD/HD or NVMe drive (optional)
  • A copy of MountEFI https://github.com/corpnewt/MountEFI
  • A copy of Opencore Configurator
  • A copy of Clover Configurator

What works

NVMe detection and bootup
Nvidia Web Graphics Driver & Intel GPU
USB 3.1, 3.0 & 2.0 (hot-plugging and eject on USB 3.1 works)
Full sound with volume adjustment and digital out
Full screen 1040P
Video playback
Graphics acceleration
Thunderbolt 3
VDA Decoding
WiFi

What doesn't

2.5GBe & 10GBe Ethernet (both ports)
VDA Decoding

SETUP

Making USB bootable installer:


Getting a copy of macOS High Sierra:
If you have a Windows only system you can follow this guide to make a bootable USB stick
but download High Sierra:
https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/guide-booting-the-usb-installer-using-opencore.296375/

If you have a Mac, you can grab a copy of macOS using this script and running it in Terminal:
https://github.com/corpnewt/gibMacOS

Most of the following instructions were run on a Mac:

To run script, right-click gibMacOS.command and select Open.

When you run the script it will show you a list of available downloads. You must select the 'full install' of High Sierra 10.13.6

Once it has downloaded you need to create the Mojave installer on the USB. To do this type this in Terminal:

Code:
sudo /Applications/Install\ macOS\ High\ Sierra.app/Contents/Resources/createinstallmedia --volume /Volumes/MyVolume

Once it's done, you'll need to copy the following attached EFI folder onto your USB stick's bootable EFI partition. The file is a ZIP so must be decompressed first.

First you must run MountEFI to mount the USB's EFI partition. Right-click to open MountEFI.command script and then select your USB's number in the Terminal list. Type in your password, and your EFI root directory will appear in your Finder. Select the EFI partition and drag the EFI folder you downloaded into root.

You'll need to then run Opencore Configurator (right-click to Open) to add in your unique system UUID and board serials. So select the config.plist under /EFI/OC/config.plist and edit it.

Go to PlatformInfo on the left, and select Datahub - Generic - PlatformNVRAM tab on the top. Select generate underneath the UUID field on the right. It should create a unique system UUID key. You'll need to also do this for your system Serial Number and MLB field keys on the left. If your Serial Number or Board ID doesn't generate, you'll need to get a copy from Clover Configurator. Simply run Clover Configurator, go to the SMBIOS section, select the Mac model using the arrows key on the bottom right corner highlighting iMac18,3 and then simply copy the Serial Number on the left to Serial Number in Opencore, Board Serial Number on the right to MLB in Opencore Configurator, and the ROM value to the two ROM value fields in Opencore Configurator. What you should end up with is something looking like this. Then Save the file.

View attachment 508827

Make sure the top half of Databub section on top does NOT contain a UUID key or any other keys.

Preparing the BIOS:

To make macOS bootable you'll need to make it Hackintosh-friendly.

Boot into BIOS and change to the following settings:

AHCI Mode
VT-d disabled
Above 4GB Decoding Enabled
CSM Disabled
TPM Disabled
Secure Boot disabled
UEFI Boot Mode


Installing macOS

I have included and added the relevant OC build and patches and updates to the attached EFI folder.
The EFI contains the following SSDTs, drivers and kexts derived from VectorSeven's OCHack EFI and CaseySJ's Z490 build:

SSDTs:
SSDT-AWAC.aml
SSDT-EC-USBX.aml
SSDT-PLUG.aml
SSDT-TB3.aml
SSDT-UIAC.aml

Drivers:
HfsPlus.efi
OpenCanopy.efi
OpenRuntime.efi

Kexts:
AirportBrcmFixup.kext
AppleALC.kext
FakePCIID_Intel_HDMI_Audio.kext
FakePCIID_Intel_I225-V.kext
FakePCIID.kext
HibernationFixup.kext
itlwm.kext
Lilu.kext
SMCProcessor.kext
SMCSuperIO.kext
USBInjectAll.kext
VirtualSMC.kext
WhateverGreen.kext

Thanks to VectorSeven for the hard work of configurating files for the Z490 and High Sierra.

(UPDATE)

Why does this EFI setup work for High Sierra & Mojave?

I had a look through some of VectorSeven's config.plist settings compared to a typical OC list, and comparing the settings I think it works because part of it uses CPU spoofing along with a compatible SMBIOS for High Sierra/Mojave.
This is equivalent to setting the FakeCPUID in Clover. In the Kernel, he had originally used the value EB060800 for a Kaby Lake system, but I changed it to EA060900 (for Coffee Lake), and used a SMBIOS of iMac18,3 instead. There were many other settings, with some lines even missing from the config.plist. I have since restored them according to the Dortania guide. The only four settings that have not been changed are EnableWriteUnProtector=Yes, AppleDebug=No, PickerMode=External, and Keyswap=Yes. But I think the key change was definitely the CPUID spoofing, which allowed the system to boot.
dude
compliments for you valuable guide
just a question:
unable to find ROM value onto Clover Confiurator
could you help me please?
thx in advance
iapaus
 

Feartech

Moderator
Joined
Aug 3, 2013
Messages
25,928
Motherboard
Asus N752VX-OpenCore
CPU
i7-6700HQ / HM170
Graphics
HD 530 1920 x 1080
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
hi

dude
compliments for you valuable guide
just a question:
unable to find ROM value onto Clover Confiurator
could you help me please?
thx in advance
iapaus
This is an OpenCore guide.....
 
Top