Contribute
Register

[Guide][New VoodooI2C] Asus Vivobook S15 X510UAR 10.13+

Joined
Oct 6, 2018
Messages
53
Motherboard
Asus Vivobook X510UA-BQ490
CPU
i5-8250u
Graphics
UHD 620, 1920x1080
Would this guide also work for the i7 version of the Asus s510?
Match your system specs against what's listed in post#1 (saintno1997's) and also your ACPI against saintno1997's. Nobody will know if it works unless you try something. Good luck!
 
Joined
Jul 27, 2019
Messages
1
Motherboard
Asus
CPU
i5 - 8250u
Graphics
mx150
Hi
Is possible to dualboot macos and windows on same drive?
 

trs96

Moderator
Joined
Jul 31, 2012
Messages
14,440
Motherboard
GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
CPU
i5-4690K
Graphics
HD4600 / RX 570
Mac
iMac, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
Android
Possible but not recommended. Too many potential problems. Windows and macOS still don't get along after all these years. Would be better to run Windows in a VM with Parallels.
 
Joined
Feb 13, 2011
Messages
278
Motherboard
Asus Vivobook S15 / x510UAR
CPU
i5-8250U
Graphics
UHD 620
Mobile Phone
Android
Hi
Is possible to dualboot macos and windows on same drive?
no problem at all - done that since day 1. I've been hackintoshing since the very beginnings (deadmoo, Maxxus etc.)..

If you want to boot macOS as your fav OS:
- clone the EFI partiton into a new partition on the same drive
- rename the new partition to e.g. MS EFI
- set BIOS to boot from it
- install Windows. The Windows boot EFI will be installed to MS EFI
- set BIOS to boot from EFI and set it to do so as default
- install macOS. Clover will be installed to EFI and should detect both, macOS and the EFI which boots Windows.
If not, configure Clover to find MS EFI and label the entry "Windows"

DONE!

Anytime you update Clover booted into macOS, it will install into EFI, leaving MS EFI untouched.
Anytime you update or upgrade Windows, it will update MS EFI and leave EFI untouched.

BOOM!
 
Joined
Feb 13, 2011
Messages
278
Motherboard
Asus Vivobook S15 / x510UAR
CPU
i5-8250U
Graphics
UHD 620
Mobile Phone
Android
@whatnameisit : the mode does not matter: a constant < 1 sec. pointer delay/ lag/ freeze I have been experiencing in both, interrupts and polling mode.

To see if your h'tosh config reacts to this value at all, please increase it to let's say 2000 (ms is the unit) for a test (PrefEdit allows to edit in place even in /L/E), Enter, save, rebuild kext cachse, reboot. You should now have a 2 secs. lag when you let's say copy any item (Desktop or Finder) via CMD + C, or close a windows via CMD + W or an app via CMD + Q etc., + make a movement on the touchpad during or right after your keyboard action.

If you do notice a change/ regression, next set the value to 0, repeat above procedure, test again. Maybe you now see how lagless touchpad freedom feels (after having gotten so used to the delay that you thought it's how it's meant to be).

Would be great if you could test because you have wits that are reliable and trustworthy.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 6, 2018
Messages
53
Motherboard
Asus Vivobook X510UA-BQ490
CPU
i5-8250u
Graphics
UHD 620, 1920x1080
@bugsb I checked and indeed increasing the value of the QuietTime entry in the HID kext lags input by some time, but it's not that noticeable in my usage, and that's between 500 and 2000. Most definitely I can't feel the difference between 0 and 500 so I restored it back to the default value of 500 XD
Thanks for the info though and the praise that I don't think I deserve...:)
 
Joined
Feb 13, 2011
Messages
278
Motherboard
Asus Vivobook S15 / x510UAR
CPU
i5-8250U
Graphics
UHD 620
Mobile Phone
Android
mind that setting QuietTimeAfterTyping to 0 as suggested is a bad idea because it basically deactivates palm rejection, which is a good feature, needless to explain. I am playing around with values betw. 50 and 150 right now. It's all about finding the value according to one's workflow-speed. It should be as high as possible without causing the observed unergonomic "stickiness" (lags/ delays).

As a side note: I was experiencing that esp. High Sierra is very picky about that kext's permissions and how it is integrated into the kext cache. Our classic commands (and also KCPM Utility Pro) have been failing me, resulting in a KP on reboot after each change, then having to boot with -x. What DOES always work after each change is Kext Updater: Tools/ Rebuild kext cache & repair perms[..], reboot
 
Last edited:
Top