Contribute
Register

[Guide] Native Power Management for Laptops

Joined
Jun 15, 2016
Messages
40
Motherboard
MSI Laptop
CPU
Intel i3-4005u 1.7ghz
Graphics
Intel HD 4400 ,1366x768
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Does anyone know ?
Intel HD 4400 should stay at 200 , even when playing video ? The only time I see max speed is on benchmark.

Is it possible , like on windows , to have cpu-gpu constantly at max frequency when on power and enable speed step only when on battery ?
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
186,497
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Is it possible , like on windows , to have cpu-gpu constantly at max frequency when on power and enable speed step only when on battery ?

Not that I know of.
And that would causes excessive heat anyway... no reason to do it either.
 
Joined
Jun 15, 2016
Messages
40
Motherboard
MSI Laptop
CPU
Intel i3-4005u 1.7ghz
Graphics
Intel HD 4400 ,1366x768
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Made some changes to dsdt and config.plist.

Can you check ?
 

Attachments

  • MacBook.zip
    2.2 MB · Views: 61
Joined
Jun 15, 2016
Messages
40
Motherboard
MSI Laptop
CPU
Intel i3-4005u 1.7ghz
Graphics
Intel HD 4400 ,1366x768
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
for proper native power management.
 
Joined
Jul 5, 2016
Messages
131
Motherboard
eGlobal S200
CPU
i7-8850h
Graphics
uhd630
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
You should test pstates with AppleIntelInfo.kext as is written in post #1.

the test result is uploaded. could you help me to check whether the PM work or not ? thanks
 

Attachments

  • AppleIntelInfo.txt
    21.6 KB · Views: 86

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
186,497
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Joined
Dec 1, 2016
Messages
39
Motherboard
HP 827F - Clover
CPU
i7-8550U 2.3GHZ
Graphics
GeForce MX150 / HD 620
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Hi @RehabMan, I have a question? in THe CoffeLake using one of your config.plist the native power management is enabled by default because of the CLover>ACPI>SSDT>GENERATE>PLUGINTYPE>true? but I have very high clock speeds even when idle. WHat should I do? thank you for your answer
 

Attachments

  • debug_3931.zip
    2.2 MB · Views: 67
  • Screen Shot 2018-08-06 at 1.40.22 PM.png
    Screen Shot 2018-08-06 at 1.40.22 PM.png
    191.4 KB · Views: 108
Top