Contribute
Register

[Guide] Native Power Management for Laptops

Joined
Oct 17, 2013
Messages
72
Motherboard
P850 - PSPKFC -Oc4004
CPU
Intel Core i7 3630QM @ 2400 MHz (max : 3400)
Graphics
NVIDIA® GeForce® GT 630M 2GB with Optimus + Intel® HD Graphics 4000
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
[GUIDE] Power Management for Sandy Bridge/Ivy Bridge/Haswell/other Laptops

Hello Dear RehabMan, Please don't forget me once you have a chance to reply my last post :)

Thanks a lot
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
191,028
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
[GUIDE] Power Management for Sandy Bridge/Ivy Bridge/Haswell/other Laptops

Please find it below:

View attachment 115364

View attachment 115365

~ eDey$ kextstat|grep -y acpiplat
13 2 0xffffff7f8245f000 0x65000 0x65000 com.apple.driver.AppleACPIPlatform (3.1) <12 11 7 6 5 4 3 1>

~ eDey$ kextstat|grep -y appleintelcpu
22 0 0xffffff7f8233d000 0x2b000 0x2b000 com.apple.driver.AppleIntelCPUPowerManagement (216.0.0) <7 6 5 4 3 1>
29 0 0xffffff7f82338000 0x3000 0x3000 com.apple.driver.AppleIntelCPUPowerManagementClient (218.0.0) <7 6 5 4 3 1>
Problem is in SSDT. It is using Scope (_SB) ... should be Scope (_PR) (is where your Processor objects are declared in DSDT).

Change all _SB to _PR in the SSDT.

What method did you use to generate this SSDT?
 
Joined
Oct 17, 2013
Messages
72
Motherboard
P850 - PSPKFC -Oc4004
CPU
Intel Core i7 3630QM @ 2400 MHz (max : 3400)
Graphics
NVIDIA® GeForce® GT 630M 2GB with Optimus + Intel® HD Graphics 4000
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
[GUIDE] Power Management for Sandy Bridge/Ivy Bridge/Haswell/other Laptops

Problem is in SSDT. It is using Scope (_SB) ... should be Scope (_PR) (is where your Processor objects are declared in DSDT).

Change all _SB to _PR in the SSDT.

What method did you use to generate this SSDT?
Thanks Sir,

i will try this after back from work, i'm away now :confused: ,

you know there is two versions:

1- Probook installer 6.1 ( last version available not sure it support Yosemite, it say Mavericks )
2- Probook installer Clover edition which support Yosemite

i think clover edition will generate SMBios for clover not read by chimera so i used 6.1 for generating SMBios then SSDT
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
191,028
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
[GUIDE] Power Management for Sandy Bridge/Ivy Bridge/Haswell/other Laptops

Thanks Sir,

i will try this after back from work, i'm away now :confused: ,

you know there is two versions:

1- Probook installer 6.1 ( last version available not sure it support Yosemite, it say Mavericks )
2- Probook installer Clover edition which support Yosemite

i think clover edition will generate SMBios for clover not read by chimera so i used 6.1 for generating SMBios then SSDT
There is a newer version of 6.1 which may work on Yosemite. (6.1.14b beta): http://www.tonymacx86.com/hp-probook-mavericks/87816-hp-probook-installer-6-1-4x30s-4x40s-support-217.html#post924308

I'm using Clover myself, so don't really know... haven't tested it.

I added a note to post #1, suggesting the use of the latest ssdtPRgen.sh instead.
 
Joined
Oct 17, 2013
Messages
72
Motherboard
P850 - PSPKFC -Oc4004
CPU
Intel Core i7 3630QM @ 2400 MHz (max : 3400)
Graphics
NVIDIA® GeForce® GT 630M 2GB with Optimus + Intel® HD Graphics 4000
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Joined
Oct 17, 2013
Messages
72
Motherboard
P850 - PSPKFC -Oc4004
CPU
Intel Core i7 3630QM @ 2400 MHz (max : 3400)
Graphics
NVIDIA® GeForce® GT 630M 2GB with Optimus + Intel® HD Graphics 4000
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
[GUIDE] Power Management for Sandy Bridge/Ivy Bridge/Haswell/other Laptops

Problem is in SSDT. It is using Scope (_SB) ... should be Scope (_PR) (is where your Processor objects are declared in DSDT).

Change all _SB to _PR in the SSDT.
Man i tried replacing all _SB to _PR and seems it work now :D
because i see the X86platform exists now in the Registry under CPU 0 and some changes in P States
just waiting your confirmation take a look

Screen Shot 1436-02-03 at 9.15.06 PM.pngScreen Shot 1436-02-03 at 9.15.59 PM.png

Thank You So Much
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
191,028
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
[GUIDE] Power Management for Sandy Bridge/Ivy Bridge/Haswell/other Laptops

Man i tried replacing all _SB to _PR and seems it work now :D
because i see the X86platform exists now in the Registry under CPU 0 and some changes in P States
just waiting your confirmation take a look

View attachment 115507View attachment 115508

Thank You So Much
Yup.
 
Joined
Oct 17, 2013
Messages
72
Motherboard
P850 - PSPKFC -Oc4004
CPU
Intel Core i7 3630QM @ 2400 MHz (max : 3400)
Graphics
NVIDIA® GeForce® GT 630M 2GB with Optimus + Intel® HD Graphics 4000
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
[GUIDE] Power Management for Sandy Bridge/Ivy Bridge/Haswell/other Laptops

but why my CPU temp is still High compared to windows (idle:~48C) Mac (idle:~58) ? is this normal
Screen Shot 1436-02-03 at 9.28.32 PM.png
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
191,028
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
[GUIDE] Power Management for Sandy Bridge/Ivy Bridge/Haswell/other Laptops

but why my CPU temp is still High compared to windows (idle:~48C) Mac (idle:~58) ? is this normal
View attachment 115512
Do you have nvidia disabled yet?
 
Joined
Oct 17, 2013
Messages
72
Motherboard
P850 - PSPKFC -Oc4004
CPU
Intel Core i7 3630QM @ 2400 MHz (max : 3400)
Graphics
NVIDIA® GeForce® GT 630M 2GB with Optimus + Intel® HD Graphics 4000
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
[GUIDE] Power Management for Sandy Bridge/Ivy Bridge/Haswell/other Laptops

Do you have nvidia disabled yet?

Just i used GraphicsEnabler=No
I did nothing more to disable Nvidia! Should i do?
And
Dunno if true but Is it because in Win im using nvidia so CPU is not loaded at idle
While here its loaded more at idle?
 
Top