Contribute
Register

Guide: Multibooting UEFI on Separate Drives

Joined
Jan 7, 2019
Messages
73
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
I7-9700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Hi, I need help installing Windows in a separate drive. I read the first post but I haven't a full understanding.

I've installed Macos (Mojave) in one drive. Running succesfully.

Then, I built a bootable USB installer with windows 10 with dd terminal command. It works.

When I run the USB installer, a warning of missing media controller is shown.

Any help appreciated.
 

Attachments

  • warning.jpg
    warning.jpg
    334 KB · Views: 87
Joined
Jan 2, 2020
Messages
12
Motherboard
ASUS B365M-A
CPU
i3-9100F
Graphics
Vega 56
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
does anyone know why Windows puts itself in front of my MacOS drive in the BIOS boot order everytime after I used Windows?
 
Joined
Jan 10, 2018
Messages
21
Motherboard
HP8300 Elite SFF
CPU
i7-3770
Graphics
GT 1030
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
I meant to say a laptop dvd drive.

The ExpressCage MB732SPO-B is in my hands now so I can answer any specific question about it. It takes a laptop drive for sure. In fact both of the standard heights - 9.5 and 12.7 mm. In case of the thinner one the front plastic cover plays the role of a divider/filler for the additional space not filled up by the DVD itself.

I can say that this dock is a very very well thought up product that's worth any penny.
 
Joined
Jan 14, 2017
Messages
76
Motherboard
Lenovo Thinkpad E570 (OpenCore 0.7.2 UEFI)
CPU
i5-7200U
Graphics
HD 620
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi, I need help installing Windows in a separate drive. I read the first post but I haven't a full understanding.

I've installed Macos (Mojave) in one drive. Running succesfully.

Then, I built a bootable USB installer with windows 10 with dd terminal command. It works.

When I run the USB installer, a warning of missing media controller is shown.

Any help appreciated.
i had probably the same issue (cant tell because i cant read your language ;) ). try disconnecting all other hdd´s including the one with mac os on it.
 
Joined
Apr 24, 2018
Messages
20
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-B85m-D3PH
CPU
i7-4790K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
This guide works til this day. Had Mojave already running on my first SSD, went to installing Windows on my second one. Had to remove all other SATA drives from BIOS for the installer to work. No problems with Clover or boot priority.
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2020
Messages
6
Motherboard
Gigabyte H87-D3H
CPU
i5-4670
Graphics
Intel HD 4600
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Some help pls.
I've recently installed Mojave on my oldish PC. I used a fresh SSD and I have it running after a few issues with a PS2 keybaord (all sorted).
I've a separate Win10 SSD I used in that same machine. and a 3rd HDD for storage.
I plugged all the drives and started the PC. Got to the bootloader and I can select and boot MacOS, but can't go into windows. I see 3 NTFS drives (HD1, HD2, HD3). 1 & 3 gives me a blinking cursor. 2 just hangs.
I don't understand the guide on the first post. My windows is already installed and working, it's what I was using previously.
What should I do to enable dual boot?
 

Going Bald

Moderator
Joined
Aug 14, 2010
Messages
23,259
Motherboard
GA-X58A-UD7-F7
CPU
W3670
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Some help pls.
I've recently installed Mojave on my oldish PC. I used a fresh SSD and I have it running after a few issues with a PS2 keybaord (all sorted).
I've a separate Win10 SSD I used in that same machine. and a 3rd HDD for storage.
I plugged all the drives and started the PC. Got to the bootloader and I can select and boot MacOS, but can't go into windows. I see 3 NTFS drives (HD1, HD2, HD3). 1 & 3 gives me a blinking cursor. 2 just hangs.
I don't understand the guide on the first post. My windows is already installed and working, it's what I was using previously.
What should I do to enable dual boot?
Did you install Clover Legacy Mode or UEFI? Since you are seeing HD1, HD2, HD3 for Windows drives, if none of them say boot UEFI from UEFI in the label under the icons when you select one of them Windows is installed Legacy Mode. You have a choice at this point: the GA-H87-D3H has a UEFI BIOS - you can install Clover UEFI and run a conversion app on the Win10 drive to convert it from Legacy Mode to UEFI and it will boot.
You can install Clover Legacy Mode and enable CSM in the UEFI BIOS and not bother with converting the Legacy boot Wind10. Make sure the Scan >Legacy is enabled in your Clover config.plist.
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2020
Messages
6
Motherboard
Gigabyte H87-D3H
CPU
i5-4670
Graphics
Intel HD 4600
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
you can install Clover UEFI and run a conversion app on the Win10 drive to convert it from Legacy Mode to UEFI and it will boot
pretty sure I installed clover UEFI. Can't remember if windows was installed as Legacy. What sort of conversion apps are there?

Edit:
ok, because I was pretty sure I installed Clover UEFI, I decided to convert my windows install to UEFI (mbr2gpt /convert). All went well, I disconnected the mac drive just in case, booted a few times. All good.
Then plugged both drives (note, I have a 3rd one for data) but PC would boot directly to windows. Had to force to boot from P3: UEFI something to get into clover.
Changed boot order in BIOS. Now Clover gives me the option for Windows and Mac
Thanks!
How do I make it boot by default after "x" seconds into windows?
 
Last edited:

Going Bald

Moderator
Joined
Aug 14, 2010
Messages
23,259
Motherboard
GA-X58A-UD7-F7
CPU
W3670
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
pretty sure I installed clover UEFI. Can't remember if windows was installed as Legacy. What sort of conversion apps are there?

Edit:
ok, because I was pretty sure I installed Clover UEFI, I decided to convert my windows install to UEFI (mbr2gpt /convert). All went well, I disconnected the mac drive just in case, booted a few times. All good.
Then plugged both drives (note, I have a 3rd one for data) but PC would boot directly to windows. Had to force to boot from P3: UEFI something to get into clover.
Changed boot order in BIOS. Now Clover gives me the option for Windows and Mac
Thanks!
How do I make it boot by default after "x" seconds into windows?
config.plist edit change default drive to Win10 drive, set delay for however many seconds you want:

Typical Clover config.plist boot section - change hi-lited items:
<key>Boot</key>
<dict>
<key>Arguments</key>
<string></string>
<key>Debug</key>
<false/>
<key>DefaultVolume</key>
<string>Win10</string>
<key>Legacy</key>
<string>PBR</string>
<key>Secure</key>
<false/>
<key>Timeout</key>
<integer>3</integer>
<key>XMPDetection</key>
<false/>
</dict>

To get the Win10 drive name open file explorer, right click the Win10 drive, select properties, type name in the box, hit apply, hit OK.
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2020
Messages
6
Motherboard
Gigabyte H87-D3H
CPU
i5-4670
Graphics
Intel HD 4600
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
mmm
Got Clover Configurator and did these updates. But I can't see any countdown when booting. It goes into clover bootloader and waits for input. Before it was the same, it wouldn't boot to any OS unless I select it.
 
Top