Contribute
Register

Guide: Multibooting UEFI on Separate Drives

trs96

Moderator
Joined
Jul 31, 2012
Messages
17,363
Motherboard
GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
CPU
i5-4690K
Graphics
HD4600 / RX 570
Mac
iMac, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
Android
I have important files on the SSD running Mac Os so I'm afraid of losing them.
Most important thing: Disconnect your SSD with macOS on it before installing Windows. Some people even go as far as never having it connected when booting Windows on their hackintosh.
 
Joined
Jan 23, 2016
Messages
77
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z170X Designare
CPU
i7-6700K
Graphics
RX 570
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
Most important thing: Disconnect your SSD with macOS on it before installing Windows. Some people even go as far as never having it connected when booting Windows on their hackintosh.
So, do you think that if I disconnect all the hard disks running Catalina when I want to use Windows there will be no problems? Same bios config and everything fine? And the same for when I want to use Mac Os, disconnect the Windows drive?
 
Joined
Feb 5, 2020
Messages
63
Motherboard
Dell 9020 MT
CPU
i7-4790
Graphics
RX 570
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
So, do you think that if I disconnect all the hard disks running Catalina when I want to use Windows there will be no problems? Same bios config and everything fine? And the same for when I want to use Mac Os, disconnect the Windows drive?
I think the main thing is - as @trs96 says - disconnect MacOS drive when installing Windows.

Apart from that, I consider it sound advice to not leave the MacOS related disks on when running Windows, and vice versa. Main thing you want to avoid is to write to, or select, the wrong disk when doing something irreversible - like a format. If the disks at peril are not powered on, you're safe.

I opted to solve this predicament using one of these:

https://www.amazon.de/gp/product/B07MXBKGW4/?tag=tonymacx8603-21

That way, I can actively control power on/off of individual disks without opening up the PC. Worth it? Depends on how many times you need to boot in either OS, and how much free time you have to fix any cock-ups if you make a mistake :) For me, it's worth every penny as I want to use my computer time on accomplishing things with it, not recovering it because I screwed it up ;-)
 

Going Bald

Moderator
Joined
Aug 14, 2010
Messages
23,138
Motherboard
GA-X58A-UD7-F7
CPU
W3670
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Classic Mac
iMac
I think the main thing is - as @trs96 says - disconnect MacOS drive when installing Windows.

Apart from that, I consider it sound advice to not leave the MacOS related disks on when running Windows, and vice versa. Main thing you want to avoid is to write to, or select, the wrong disk when doing something irreversible - like a format. If the disks at peril are not powered on, you're safe.

I opted to solve this predicament using one of these:

https://www.amazon.de/gp/product/B07MXBKGW4/?tag=tonymacx8603-21

That way, I can actively control power on/off of individual disks without opening up the PC. Worth it? Depends on how many times you need to boot in either OS, and how much free time you have to fix any cock-ups if you make a mistake :) For me, it's worth every penny as I want to use my computer time on accomplishing things with it, not recovering it because I screwed it up ;-)
I prefer something like this:
https://www.amazon.de/dp/B074VJYDT4/?tag=tonymacx8603-21
or this:
https://www.amazon.de/dp/B00GDG76ES/?tag=tonymacx8603-21

If the drive is not in the tray it is not connected to the computer at all and cannot be touched by another OS.
 
Joined
Feb 13, 2017
Messages
94
Motherboard
GB GA-H270M-DS3H
CPU
i7-7700K
Graphics
AMD Radeon RX 570 8 GB
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Performa
Mobile Phone
iOS
Recently installed Win 10 onto a separate SSD and have been dual booting for last couple weeks w/o issues. Yesterday I think I may have messed up something in my config.plist as I was checking some settings in Clover Config.

Now only the Win boot options show in Clover. I've found posts online about adding HFSplus.efi but not clear how to do that from Win side. I can see the Mac drive in the BIOS settings and on the Windows side.

Is my only option to boot from a Mac USB to add or repair the system? Other options?

Thanks in advance for any help.
 

Going Bald

Moderator
Joined
Aug 14, 2010
Messages
23,138
Motherboard
GA-X58A-UD7-F7
CPU
W3670
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Classic Mac
iMac
Recently installed Win 10 onto a separate SSD and have been dual booting for last couple weeks w/o issues. Yesterday I think I may have messed up something in my config.plist as I was checking some settings in Clover Config.

Now only the Win boot options show in Clover. I've found posts online about adding HFSplus.efi but not clear how to do that from Win side. I can see the Mac drive in the BIOS settings and on the Windows side.

Is my only option to boot from a Mac USB to add or repair the system? Other options?

Thanks in advance for any help.
No, you can mount the EFI partition of the Mac drive, open the Clover config.plist with any plist editor that will run in Windows, edit the plist to fix it, save, reboot and try to boot Mac OS. plist Editor Pro works OK and there is a free trial period.
 
Joined
Feb 13, 2017
Messages
94
Motherboard
GB GA-H270M-DS3H
CPU
i7-7700K
Graphics
AMD Radeon RX 570 8 GB
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Performa
Mobile Phone
iOS
No, you can mount the EFI partition of the Mac drive, open the Clover config.plist with any plist editor that will run in Windows, edit the plist to fix it, save, reboot and try to boot Mac OS. plist Editor Pro works OK and there is a free trial period.
You mount the EFI partition in Windows? I'm not clear how to do that.
 

Going Bald

Moderator
Joined
Aug 14, 2010
Messages
23,138
Motherboard
GA-X58A-UD7-F7
CPU
W3670
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Classic Mac
iMac
You mount the EFI partition in Windows? I'm not clear how to do that.
Therre are many guides on youtube showing how it is done. Basically, you use diskpart to assign a drive letter to the EFI partition so Windows Explorer can see it.
 
Joined
Feb 13, 2017
Messages
94
Motherboard
GB GA-H270M-DS3H
CPU
i7-7700K
Graphics
AMD Radeon RX 570 8 GB
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Performa
Mobile Phone
iOS
Alright - did all that. Now for the stupid question....how do I know what to fix when I don't know what I changed? Is there something I should look at specifically with this type of error?
 

Going Bald

Moderator
Joined
Aug 14, 2010
Messages
23,138
Motherboard
GA-X58A-UD7-F7
CPU
W3670
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Classic Mac
iMac
Alright - did all that. Now for the stupid question....how do I know what to fix when I don't know what I changed? Is there something I should look at specifically with this type of error?
You did not backup the config.plist before you made changes? This is cardinal rule in any programming effort. If something works at all, but you want to refine it, back it up first so you have a copy to fall back on if your changes do not work the way you expect.

As for what to look for in the config.plist - anything that says Hide and is followed by an enabled yes or true.
 
Top