Contribute
Register

Guide: Multi Booting Legacy on Separate Drives

Going Bald

Moderator
Joined
Aug 14, 2010
Messages
22,527
Motherboard
GA-X58A-UD7 Rev.1 BIOS F7
CPU
Intel Xeon W3670
Graphics
RX580
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Classic Mac
iMac
I have a question regarding a very special situation (I already searched but haven't found any helpful hints):

I have a running machine (all components are Hackintosh compatible) with Windows 10. The problem is that I use a UEFI mainboard and Windows 10 was installed in Legacy mode.
Now I wanted to install Sierra on a separate SSD and wondered if it is still possible to select either Sierra or Win10 on launch or do I have to reinstall Win10 in UEFI mode and follow the UEFI multi boot guide?
I have a question regarding a very special situation (I already searched but haven't found any helpful hints):

I have a running machine (all components are Hackintosh compatible) with Windows 10. The problem is that I use a UEFI mainboard and Windows 10 was installed in Legacy mode.
Now I wanted to install Sierra on a separate SSD and wondered if it is still possible to select either Sierra or Win10 on launch or do I have to reinstall Win10 in UEFI mode and follow the UEFI multi boot guide?
https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/guide-multi-booting-legacy-on-separate-drives.212994/
 
Joined
Apr 5, 2017
Messages
2
Motherboard
ASUS Z170 Pro Gaming
CPU
i7 6700k
Graphics
MSI GTX970

Going Bald

Moderator
Joined
Aug 14, 2010
Messages
22,527
Motherboard
GA-X58A-UD7 Rev.1 BIOS F7
CPU
Intel Xeon W3670
Graphics
RX580
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Classic Mac
iMac
This doesn't really answer my question ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

I have a running system with a UEFI mainboard and Windows 10 installed in Legacy mode.
Since you only linked to this guide, should I install Sierra in Legacy mode although the hardware isn't Legacy hardware?
Yes it did answer your question of how to do it.
Sierra or any other Mac OS is not installed Legacy or UEFI, although people talk about it as if they were. The boot loader is what is installed to boot with Legacy or UEFI mode. If your BIOS/UEFI settings have CSM enabled and the boot can be from either EFI or legacy BIOS emulator, then you can install the boot loader either way. For UEFI hardware with Windows installed Legacy, if you want Clover to dual boot Windows, then Clover must be installed Legacy mode.
OTOH, you can install Clover UEFI if EFI mode booting is enables in BIOS/UEFI and it will boot Mac OS, but not Windows - in which case you use the right arrow to get to the last icon that says exit Clover and most times this will automatically switch the boot function to the Windows boot loader. Does not work 100% of times, but you have good chance it will. If it does not, Function hot key to allow you to pick a boot device will let you boot either - just an extra bit of hassle.
 
Joined
Sep 19, 2010
Messages
85
Motherboard
Dell T5500 (Tylersburg 5520)
CPU
X5670
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Air, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
...in which case you use the right arrow to get to the last icon that says exit Clover and most times this will automatically switch the boot function to the Windows boot loader.
Holy Toledo, Batman! That actually worked. I have an OS X hard drive "installed UEFI" and dual-boot MBR Win7/Linux drive with GRUB. I could boot from BIOS to either, but it was a bit cumbersome. This trick makes it easy, even though it takes several seconds for Clover to completely exit and load GRUB.
 
Joined
Jun 18, 2011
Messages
19
Motherboard
GA-Z68A-D3H-B3
CPU
Intel Core i5-2500K
Graphics
GTX 1060
The "exit Clover" workaround works for me too but in a weird way. My situation: two separate drives, one is an OS X drive with Clover Legacy, the other is a Windows 10 MBR drive. When I exit Clover as suggested by Going Bald, after a few seconds Clover starts again but now with smaller icons and a sharper look (maybe the resolution is higher?). Now, when I try to boot into Windows 10 from Clover, it works. Anyone have an idea what's going on?
 

Going Bald

Moderator
Joined
Aug 14, 2010
Messages
22,527
Motherboard
GA-X58A-UD7 Rev.1 BIOS F7
CPU
Intel Xeon W3670
Graphics
RX580
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Classic Mac
iMac
The "exit Clover" workaround works for me too but in a weird way. My situation: two separate drives, one is an OS X drive with Clover Legacy, the other is a Windows 10 MBR drive. When I exit Clover as suggested by Going Bald, after a few seconds Clover starts again but now with smaller icons and a sharper look (maybe the resolution is higher?). Now, when I try to boot into Windows 10 from Clover, it works. Anyone have an idea what's going on?
You probably have Clover installed on both drives. Does Clover start if you make the Win10 drive first in boot order?

Another possibility is Clover installed both in OS X root and in the EFI partition.
 
Joined
Jun 18, 2011
Messages
19
Motherboard
GA-Z68A-D3H-B3
CPU
Intel Core i5-2500K
Graphics
GTX 1060
You probably have Clover installed on both drives. Does Clover start if you make the Win10 drive first in boot order?

Another possibility is Clover installed both in OS X root and in the EFI partition.
Thanks for the reply. If I make the Win10 drive first in the boot order, it just boots straight into Windows, running off the System Reserved partition that was created when I installed Windows. Clover doesn't start.

Yeah, I have a feeling that it might something to do with how I installed and configured Clover. I did install Clover twice, initially with MultiBeast (following the UniBeast method) and then later using the standalone Clover installer (in order to update my Clover to the latest version and install some necessary drivers). Could it be that one installs to OS X root and the other to the EFI partition?

Maybe you could clear something up for me. Should Clover Legacy be able to boot a Windows MBR drive without any additional fiddling? Or do you need to configure that Windows drive for EFI as explained elsewhere on the web (and this forum)? Thanks.
 

Going Bald

Moderator
Joined
Aug 14, 2010
Messages
22,527
Motherboard
GA-X58A-UD7 Rev.1 BIOS F7
CPU
Intel Xeon W3670
Graphics
RX580
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Classic Mac
iMac
Thanks for the reply. If I make the Win10 drive first in the boot order, it just boots straight into Windows, running off the System Reserved partition that was created when I installed Windows. Clover doesn't start.

Yeah, I have a feeling that it might something to do with how I installed and configured Clover. I did install Clover twice, initially with MultiBeast (following the UniBeast method) and then later using the standalone Clover installer (in order to update my Clover to the latest version and install some necessary drivers). Could it be that one installs to OS X root and the other to the EFI partition?

Maybe you could clear something up for me. Should Clover Legacy be able to boot a Windows MBR drive without any additional fiddling? Or do you need to configure that Windows drive for EFI as explained elsewhere on the web (and this forum)? Thanks.
Clover installed Legacy mode can directly boot Legacy Windows on MBR with no need to configure anything - just select the System Reserved icon at the Clover screen.
 
Joined
Jun 18, 2011
Messages
19
Motherboard
GA-Z68A-D3H-B3
CPU
Intel Core i5-2500K
Graphics
GTX 1060
Clover installed Legacy mode can directly boot Legacy Windows on MBR with no need to configure anything - just select the System Reserved icon at the Clover screen.
Okay, that's what I suspected. My Legacy Clover can boot Legacy Windows, but only after I "Exit Clover" the first time. It's like there's something that's not configured quite right the first time Clover loads. It needs to reload before it works with Windows properly.
 

Going Bald

Moderator
Joined
Aug 14, 2010
Messages
22,527
Motherboard
GA-X58A-UD7 Rev.1 BIOS F7
CPU
Intel Xeon W3670
Graphics
RX580
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Classic Mac
iMac
Okay, that's what I suspected. My Legacy Clover can boot Legacy Windows, but only after I "Exit Clover" the first time. It's like there's something that's not configured quite right the first time Clover loads. It needs to reload before it works with Windows properly.
check to see if you have an EFI folder both on your EFI partition and another in your OS X root.
 
Top