Contribute
Register

Guide: Multi Booting Legacy on Separate Drives

Joined
Nov 18, 2015
Messages
120
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 580
Ok in /dev/sda linux ?
Reading the Guide seemed to have to install Grub not in /dev/sdc (linux HDD in my system) but in /dev/sdc1 ("/" root partition of linux installation): have I misunderstood something?
 
Joined
Mar 18, 2017
Messages
514
Motherboard
Asus Prime X299 Deluxe
CPU
i9-7940X
Graphics
2x Vega 56
Mac
iMac, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
iOS
Reading the Guide seemed to have to install Grub not in /dev/sdc (linux HDD in my system) but in /dev/sdc1 ("/" root partition of linux installation): have I misunderstood something?
For me is Ok : grub must bet set here to load linux at booting :

Sometimes the problem is during install with live CD to install grub in another partition and after if you install W10 &/ OS X this will erase grub, there is a way to re-install grub in /dev/sda linux with the "grub rescue CD"
 
Joined
Mar 18, 2017
Messages
514
Motherboard
Asus Prime X299 Deluxe
CPU
i9-7940X
Graphics
2x Vega 56
Mac
iMac, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
iOS
The way you tell with yours screens shots :
- 200 MB EFI part
- 60 to 120 GB for W10 with windows /boot
- 120 GB or higher for OS X
- 60 to 120 GB with grub insert in /dev/sda
- other partitions for W10 data , OS X data or rescue

For me the best way is to create all those partitions before as you show with Gparted or Partition magic or another tool.

All the OS partitions W10, OS X, Linux must set as actives

I have a 200 GB partition empty on one HDD : I'll try to install linux this week and report if it's oK
 
Joined
Nov 18, 2015
Messages
120
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 580
For me is Ok : grub must bet set here to load linux at booting :

Sometimes the problem is during install with live CD to install grub in another partition and after if you install W10 &/ OS X this will erase grub, there is a way to re-install grub in /dev/sda linux with the "grub rescue CD"
I installed Linux last. Do You mean to re-install grub in /dev/sda or dev/sda1: it's different
 
Joined
Mar 18, 2017
Messages
514
Motherboard
Asus Prime X299 Deluxe
CPU
i9-7940X
Graphics
2x Vega 56
Mac
iMac, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
iOS
Yes with no grub in / dev/ sda you may no booting linux.

My experience from 2006/2007 in beginning to use linux is that you have to be very careful during install : linux like a capricious child ;-) some experience of using terminal command is often requiried;
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 18, 2015
Messages
120
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 580
Yes with no grub in / dev/ sda no may no booting linux.

My experience from 2006/2007 in began to use linux is that you have to be very careful during install : linux like a capricious child ;-) some experience of using terminal command is often requiried;
This Guide says:
"The only things to keep in mind are that you need to install Grub to the root of your Linux install and that for some reason Clover will not see the Ubuntu root if it is formatted EXT4, so format it EXt3 instead.
Using the automatic installation will always install grub to the MBR, so at the install screen select Something Else and set up your partitions manually, making sure the install for grub is the root partition."
I'll try to check from a linux live-usb if there is a grub installation in /dev/sdc1
 
Joined
Mar 18, 2017
Messages
514
Motherboard
Asus Prime X299 Deluxe
CPU
i9-7940X
Graphics
2x Vega 56
Mac
iMac, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
iOS
This Guide says:
"The only things to keep in mind are that you need to install Grub to the root of your Linux install and that for some reason Clover will not see the Ubuntu root if it is formatted EXT4, so format it EXt3 instead.
Using the automatic installation will always install grub to the MBR, so at the install screen select Something Else and set up your partitions manually, making sure the install for grub is the root partition."
I'll try to check from a linux live-usb if there is a grub installation in /dev/sdc1
Try this way : the instant during install to choose to locate the right partition to install grub is very short : be careful and it will done.
 
Joined
Apr 5, 2017
Messages
2
Motherboard
ASUS Z170 Pro Gaming
CPU
i7 6700k
Graphics
MSI GTX970
I have a question regarding a very special situation (I already searched but haven't found any helpful hints):

I have a running machine (all components are Hackintosh compatible) with Windows 10. The problem is that I use a UEFI mainboard and Windows 10 was installed in Legacy mode.
Now I wanted to install Sierra on a separate SSD and wondered if it is still possible to select either Sierra or Win10 on launch or do I have to reinstall Win10 in UEFI mode and follow the UEFI multi boot guide?
 
Joined
Mar 18, 2017
Messages
514
Motherboard
Asus Prime X299 Deluxe
CPU
i9-7940X
Graphics
2x Vega 56
Mac
iMac, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
iOS
Clover wil detect windows 10 if you follow the Efi mutl boot guide : i think you have not to reinstall windows
 
Top