Contribute
Register

[Guide] MSI GE72 7RD Apache - Mojave 10.14.5

Joined
Mar 28, 2011
Messages
16
Motherboard
MSI GE72 7RD Apache (Clover)
CPU
i7-7700HQ/HM175
Graphics
HD630 (1920x1080)

First of all, big shout to to @RehabMan and everyone else involved with the amazing project here. Also @e12350, whose topic inspired and helped me to try Mojave on my setup on which I had previously installed High Sierra here. I have to say this time around, the setup was much easier and without issues, perhaps the patches have evolved by a lot since last time!


Specifications

  • Laptop: MSI GE72 7RD Apache
  • Motherboard/Chipset: 1799/Intel HM175
  • Processor: Intel Kabylake i7-7700HQ
  • RAM: 8GB x 2 = 16GB
  • Storage: 256GB NVMe SSD (Windows 10) + 1TB 7200 RPM HDD (Storage) + 128GB SSD (50-50 for Mojave and Time Machine)
  • Network: Atheros 2500 Killer GB LAN + Intel Wifi
  • Graphics: Intel HD 630 128MB Dedicated + GTX 1050 4GB
  • Sound: ALC899
  • Display: 17.3" 1920x1080 120Hz/5ms
  • Clover: Rehabman's latest Clover

What's not working
  • Intel WiFi, I don't have a need for Wifi otherwise would swap this for something compatible.
  • GTX 1050, disabled as Optimus so can't make it work.
  • SD Card, don't need, won't be doing anything to fix.
Process
  • I cheated and used Unibeast 9.0 to create the install USB. If that does not work for you then follow Rehabman's guide here.
  • Installed Mojave
  • After first boot, installed latest Clover build by Rehabman present here and used his Config.plist for HD630 here.
  • Following settings under Clover Configurator, not sure which ones were by default so try:
    • ACPI: HDAS to HDEF for Audio, HECI to IMEI, MEI to IMEI, GFX0 to IGPU, EHC1 to EH01, EHC2 to EH02.
    • BOOT: Verbose, dart=0, nv_disable=1, -cdfon, -igfxnohdmi, lilucpu=9
    • DEVICES: Audio Inject NO, ResetHDA, 0x59168086 under IntelGFX although I believe no need for this
    • GRAPHICS: 0x591b0006 under ig-platform-id
    • KERNEL & KEXT PATCHES: As per recommendation here
  • Collected the following Kexts mostly from Rehabman's collection here and put them under EFI/Clovers/Kexts/Other (DISCLAIMER: I know the recommendation is to install them to L/E/ on main MAC drive but I wanted to experiment, it worked. Also note that some of these may not be needed in my case anyway.)
    • ACPIBatteryManager.kext
    • AppleBacklightFixup.kext
    • AtherosE2200Ethernet.kext
    • FakePCIID_XHCIMux.kext
    • FakePCIID.kext
    • FakeSMC_ACPISensors.kext
    • FakeSMC_CPUSensors.kext
    • FakeSMC_GPUSensors.kext
    • FakeSMC.kext
    • SATA-100-series-unsupported.kext
    • VoodooPS2Controller.kext
    • WhateverGreen.kext
    • Lilu.kext
    • AppleALC.kext (Install Lilu.kext and AppleALC.kext to L/E/ if having issues)
  • Rebooted after this and voila, everything worked except Audio
Audio
  • Used the guide here.
  • You will have to test your "layout-id" value, on mine 99 under Config.plist > Devices > Properties > PciRoot(0)/Pci(0x1f,3) worked. With 7 it would only work on Headphones and with 11, speakers only but 99 works perfectly with everything now.
  • Possible layouts for ALC898/899 can be found here, which are: 1, 2, 3, 5, 7, 11, 13, 28, 65, 98, 99, 101
Backlight
  • Already did the kext file from Rehabman's Backlightfixup above. Simply put patched file accompanying it, SSDT-PNLF.aml, to /EFI/CLOVER/ACPI/patched
  • Reboot
DP Port
  • I have external monitor connected to the DP port since I hate the big HDMI port and cable.
  • I was having a lot of issues while enabling it so kept searching around until I found Intel Framebuffer Guide. Please note that if you don't see your Display showing under IGPU in IORegistryExplorer, you have to change the value for "AAPL, ig-platform-id". You can find all the ones available for you in the second post of the guide. You have to reverse and enter it under: " CONFIG.Plist > Devices > Properties > PciRoot(0)/Pci(0x02,0).
  • This value for HD630 Mobile worked for me: 59 1E 00 00 (You have to enter it in reverse i.e. 00 00 1E 59)
  • Followed the above Guide to initialise my up-teenth attempt at fixing DP port output.
  • Once above was done, followed the guide by Rehabman here to initialise the FB patches where you enable the FB connectors, pipe and type. Mine happened to be on FB1 so following were used:
    framebuffer-con1-enable =1
    framebuffer-con1-pipe = 12000000
    framebuffer-con1-type = 00040000
  • Rebooted and the Display was detected without any issue. Note that I don't need DP/HDMI Audio so have not actually followed through with the checklist on Rehabman's DP/HDMI Audio fix topic linked to above.

Disable Nvidia
  • Already had the required .aml file from previous build. Simply used that.
  • You can follow the guide here.
I am sure I have left somethings out as I never did follow the process of creating a new DSDT.aml with fixes/patches done but everything is working without an issue so far so I am not going to do that for now.

Disable Hibernation & related options from Terminal:

Code:
sudo pmset -a hibernatemode 0
sudo rm /var/vm/sleepimage
sudo mkdir /var/vm/sleepimage
sudo pmset -a standby 0
sudo pmset -a autopoweroff 0
Post Install Update 1:
30th October 2018
Post Install Update 2:
15th May 2019
  • Upgraded to 10.14.5 from 10.14.1 directly
  • Simply updated using About > Software Update
  • Kept hitting/getting stuck on "Forcing CS_RUNTIME for entitlement" error
  • After repeat attempts, simply upgraded Clover to latest available + latest WhateverGreen.kext, problem was still not solved.
  • Rebooted and used fake graphics ID 12345678 for the upgrade installation partition, this time it booted to the "Estimating time" screen but panic reboot again.
  • Removed Displayport cable that I have for the additional monitor hooked up and rebooted with the fake GFX ID as mentioned above and it went through.
  • Rebooted into a working successfully upgraded version.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 28, 2011
Messages
16
Motherboard
MSI GE72 7RD Apache (Clover)
CPU
i7-7700HQ/HM175
Graphics
HD630 (1920x1080)


GEEKBENCH RESULTS

High Sierra

Mojave

Windows 10

HWMonitor during Geekbench on Mojave

 
Joined
Mar 28, 2011
Messages
16
Motherboard
MSI GE72 7RD Apache (Clover)
CPU
i7-7700HQ/HM175
Graphics
HD630 (1920x1080)
@RehabMan

I have a Gaming Keyboard & Mouse connected to this setup. While both are working fine themselves, on the keyboard, the Numlock/Capslock and Scroll lock indicator LEDs are not lighting up. They do light up on the laptop keyboard itself. So what is causing this?

Also, I was tinkering with DP output for a few hours yesterday. There's no guide about it here except the DP/HDMI Audio one which seems to be somewhat related? Just wondering where my starting point should be. DP plug if disconnected or connected causes a reboot, have not checked HDMI but I am using a DP > Monitor. I did try yesterday with different frame-buffer pipes including 12 as mentioned in the DP/HDMI Audio guide but did not help.

Thanks!
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
191,123
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
Core i7-2600K
Graphics
Intel HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
@RehabMan

I have a Gaming Keyboard & Mouse connected to this setup. While both are working fine themselves, on the keyboard, the Numlock/Capslock and Scroll lock indicator LEDs are not lighting up. They do light up on the laptop keyboard itself. So what is causing this?
This is a USB keyboard/mouse?
And you're saying pressing the capslock on the USB keyboard is affecting your laptop internal PS2 keyboard LEDs?

Also, I was tinkering with DP output for a few hours yesterday. There's no guide about it here except the DP/HDMI Audio one which seems to be somewhat related? Just wondering where my starting point should be. DP plug if disconnected or connected causes a reboot, have not checked HDMI but I am using a DP > Monitor. I did try yesterday with different frame-buffer pipes including 12 as mentioned in the DP/HDMI Audio guide but did not help.
You would need to attach PR files, as per FAQ.
 
Joined
Mar 28, 2015
Messages
112
Motherboard
MSI GS65 8SE
CPU
i7-8750H
Graphics
UHD 630 + RTX 2060
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
Android
DP/HDMI ports - currently in the process of making them work. Fun fact, I selected 0x59120000 under ig-platform-id (Desktop HD630 value) and it booted right to the external display connected with the DP port. There was nothing on the laptop screen though.
Are these ports connected to the Intel Graphics or NVDIA Graphics?
 
Joined
Mar 28, 2011
Messages
16
Motherboard
MSI GE72 7RD Apache (Clover)
CPU
i7-7700HQ/HM175
Graphics
HD630 (1920x1080)
This is a USB keyboard/mouse?
And you're saying pressing the capslock on the USB keyboard is affecting your laptop internal PS2 keyboard LEDs?
Yes, USB.

Laptop Keyboard/Trackpad: Working okay without issues. Caps lock LED light turns on and off as normal.

USB Keyboard: While everything is working fine on it. Including the Caps lock key, the LED indicator on the USB Keyboard does not light up when Caps lock is pressed even though it does work. While this change is also not reflected on the Laptop keyboard like it does in Windows.

Are these ports connected to the Intel Graphics or NVDIA Graphics?
The ports are connected to the Intel Graphics as double checked in Windows + if I set the Desktop ID of Kablylake 630 under platform-id, it boots the MAC onto the DP connected monitor.

I am yet to do further tinkering about DP port fixing.
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
191,123
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
Core i7-2600K
Graphics
Intel HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
USB Keyboard: While everything is working fine on it. Including the Caps lock key, the LED indicator on the USB Keyboard does not light up when Caps lock is pressed even though it does work.
May be a device specific problem. Test the same keyboard on a real Mac.

While this change is also not reflected on the Laptop keyboard like it does in Windows.
Not sure what you mean by this. Try to explain in more detail.
 
Joined
Mar 28, 2011
Messages
16
Motherboard
MSI GE72 7RD Apache (Clover)
CPU
i7-7700HQ/HM175
Graphics
HD630 (1920x1080)
May be a device specific problem. Test the same keyboard on a real Mac.

Not sure what you mean by this. Try to explain in more detail.
Could be a device specific issue, don't have a real Mac to confirm it though.

Under Windows, if I press CAPS LOCK on USB Keyboard, it will indicate it is turned on, on the Keyboard LED itself + the Laptop Keyboard Capslock LED also responds at the same time i.e. CAPS LOCK ON will turn on LED indicator for caps lock on both the USB Keyboard + Laptop Keyboard.

Anyhow, its not that important of an issue. I shall begin working on the DP output fix and pick your brains with the proper problem reporting procedure. Even DP is a secondary issue for me. I am happy with the system so far. No glitches yet.

Thanks again for the great work!!!
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
191,123
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
Core i7-2600K
Graphics
Intel HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
Under Windows, if I press CAPS LOCK on USB Keyboard, it will indicate it is turned on, on the Keyboard LED itself + the Laptop Keyboard Capslock LED also responds at the same time i.e. CAPS LOCK ON will turn on LED indicator for caps lock on both the USB Keyboard + Laptop Keyboard.
No such "feature" in macOS.
 
Joined
Mar 28, 2011
Messages
16
Motherboard
MSI GE72 7RD Apache (Clover)
CPU
i7-7700HQ/HM175
Graphics
HD630 (1920x1080)
@RehabMan
@e12350

Happy to report DP port output worked out for me. Did the patches as per DP/HDMI Audio fix pinned topic by Rehabman, followed by Intel FB Patching guide (both linked above in OP).

I had to test around with different ig-platform-id under Devices > Properties.

59 1E 00 00 is one of the many that can be used for HD630 Mobile platform and entered that as reverse: 00 00 1E 59, a reboot and it was detected. Also, I was getting some long list of errors/or may be not errors just stuff scrolling through on Shutdown and Reboot. Probably two pages, now half a page and it reboots.
 
Top