Contribute
Register

[GUIDE] macOS Catalina on ASRock DeskMini 310 with 9th Gen Intel Core CPU, Dual-Boot

Feartech

Moderator
Joined
Aug 3, 2013
Messages
17,843
Motherboard
Asus N752VX-OpenCore
CPU
i7-6700HQ / HM170
Graphics
HD 530 1920 x 1080
Mac
iMac
Mobile Phone
iOS
I'm sure I'll be an OC user after it transitions from BETA to Production.
it works pretty good at the moment, have been using for a few months now with no issues

you could setup a usb stick to test with to practise booting up etc, a lot of peeps have also said how quicker it is on bootup as well :)
 

EDL

Joined
Jan 31, 2020
Messages
53
Motherboard
Deskmini 310
CPU
i7 8700
Graphics
UHD 630
Mac
Mac mini
Mobile Phone
iOS
Switching is so easy (and I think safe) if you take "our" OC Deskmini-EFIs / working EFIs for your hw (and switching back too).

If you want to boot your hack as fast as an authentic Mac - especially with Filevault - there is no way around it. ;)
 
Joined
Sep 22, 2011
Messages
640
Motherboard
HP EliteDesk 800 G4 Mini
CPU
I7-8700T
Graphics
UHD 630
Mac
Mac mini
Mobile Phone
iOS
Switching is so easy (and I think safe) if you take "our" OC Deskmini-EFIs (and switching back too).

If you want to boot your hack as fast as an authentic Mac - especially with Filevault - there is no way around it. ;)
See my Clover boot times here. I will try @Feartech 's suggestion and create an OC USB stick. I'm not opposed to OC - it's just that I rely on my systems for absolute fail-safe operation and Clover hasn't let me down. I have a degree of loyalty to Slice and his Clover team because of their hard work and great support. Nothing against OC (and I love the Acidanthera folks!).
 

EDL

Joined
Jan 31, 2020
Messages
53
Motherboard
Deskmini 310
CPU
i7 8700
Graphics
UHD 630
Mac
Mac mini
Mobile Phone
iOS
See my Clover boot times here.
Around 18s on my side (SanDisk Extreme Pro NVMe) BUT I'm using Filevault ... I waited more than twice as long for the Filevault password input using Clover - now, in 3 or 4 Seconds it's there and then the progress bar run's as fast as on a Mac. :cool:

I would guess you could save five seconds of your live on every boot, @deeveedee :D
 
Joined
Apr 26, 2018
Messages
112
Motherboard
Gigabyte H110M-H +
CPU
i5 - 9400
Graphics
RX 560
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
just a question here, does anyone use istat menu to monitor the cpu temp, for some reason my only show 5core, i am using a i5 9400 it should of been a 6 core i have attached a image, is this normal
Screen Shot 2020-06-20 at 14.44.10.png
 
Joined
Apr 26, 2018
Messages
112
Motherboard
Gigabyte H110M-H +
CPU
i5 - 9400
Graphics
RX 560
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
BTW ... my solution for the need of re-pluging the secondary monitor. A simple switch ... :cool:

View attachment 477642
i have seen a solution for this, that you don't need this switch, you just use AppleIntelCFLGraphicsFramebuffer.kext and AppleIntelKBLGraphics.kext from version 10.15.4, then it should work, i haven't try it, because i downgraded to 10.15.4 but a few people has quoted it works
 

EDL

Joined
Jan 31, 2020
Messages
53
Motherboard
Deskmini 310
CPU
i7 8700
Graphics
UHD 630
Mac
Mac mini
Mobile Phone
iOS
i have seen a solution for this, that you don't need this switch, you just use AppleIntelCFLGraphicsFramebuffer.kext and AppleIntelKBLGraphics.kext from version 10.15.4, then it should work, i haven't try it, because i downgraded to 10.15.4 but a few people has quoted it works
Sounds intressting - but that’s not a so nice solution.

I do not give up hope that there might be another solution with the new framebuffer-kexts.
 
Joined
Apr 26, 2018
Messages
112
Motherboard
Gigabyte H110M-H +
CPU
i5 - 9400
Graphics
RX 560
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
Sounds intressting - but that’s not a so nice solution.

I do not give up hope that there might be another solution with the new framebuffer-kexts.
yeah i am sure someone will comeup with something
 
Joined
Nov 27, 2019
Messages
3
Motherboard
Deskmini 310
CPU
i5 9500
Graphics
Intel UHD 630
hey Guys, I want to change from Clover to OC, but in my case it's not like plug & play.
I have a nearly unchanged EFI Folder like in the initial post.
And my CPU is i5-9500. Everything is working, only initial black screen because of 4K and DP 1.2 and my BT dongle needs often at boot a replug to work.
EFI attached is the actual working on clover basis.
What I've tried so far isn't that much. Just used 2 of your posted OC Folders and cleared NVRAm with OC.
Do I need to change things in config.plist?

Thanks for your hints
 

Attachments

Top