Contribute
Register

[Guide] Lenovo Y50/Y70 (UHD or 1080p) using Clover UEFI

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Sep 6, 2012
Messages
132
Motherboard
< need manufacturer and model # >> See Forum Rules !!
CPU
i7-10875H
Graphics
UHD 630
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I mean that I've done some other steps that were not included in your guide, because I was not satisfied with the quality of the audio with the internal speakers.


Could you post the extra steps here for us as well. I too am not happy with the sound quality.
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 2, 2012
Messages
183,933
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I mean that I've done some other steps that were not included in your guide, because I was not satisfied with the quality of the audio with the internal speakers.

If you've made some improvements, you should share what you've done. If others agree, I can integrate it into the repo.

Yes I understand that, but I have an 256GB SSD which is split between Windows 10 and OSX Yosemite and there is not much space left. I could only test it if it was possible to install OSX on a pendrive and boot from that drive.

Make space on the SSD.
 
Joined
Jul 18, 2015
Messages
41
Motherboard
Lenovo Y50-70
CPU
i7-4720HQ - HM87
Graphics
HD 4600 1920x1080, GTX-960M
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
thanks a lot for this great guide

i have installed yosemite 10.10.5 and it works perfect
audio, brightness, hdmi and 3d acceleration works great

i have already deactivated hibernation but i have bug that if the device enter sleep mode or if i pressed fn + f1 to enter sleep mode and then wake it again, the screen flickers very bad and the device become very very slow
these flickers is just the same as when i fresh installed the mac without installing required kexts and tools .

and the only fix is to restart the device then it works perfect again till sleep


alo i would like to mention the the device read my screen as 15.5 not 15.6 i don't know why
this device is a replacement as my previous one was having flickers in the screen in windows so i got this replacement yesterday

the previous one was working perfect with mac even on fresh install without any tools or kexts and sleep wasn't make any thing to it and mac was showing its screen as 15.6 as it should

so it's really very bad that the one which was working better with mac is the defected one

i want to know if it's showing as 15.5 or 15.6 t? and hope that there is a fix to this problem as the new replacement device works great in every thing except this sleep bug
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 2, 2012
Messages
183,933
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
thanks a lot for this great guide

i have installed yosemite 10.10.5 and it works perfect
audio, brightness, hdmi and 3d acceleration works great

i have already deactivated hibernation but i have bug that if the device enter sleep mode or if i pressed fn + f1 to enter sleep mode and then wake it again, the screen flickers very bad and the device become very very slow
these flickers is just the same as when i fresh installed the mac without installing required kexts and tools .

and the only fix is to restart the device then it works perfect again till sleep

Read post #1, "Problem Reporting"... Test sleep exclusively with Apple->Sleep.

alo i would like to mention the the device read my screen as 15.5 not 15.6 i don't know why

Cosmetic -- ignore.
 
Joined
Aug 21, 2013
Messages
67
Motherboard
Lenovo Y50-70
CPU
Core i7-4710HQ
Graphics
HD4600 + GTX860M @1920x1080
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
If you've made some improvements, you should share what you've done. If others agree, I can integrate it into the repo.

So after following your guide I was not satisfied with the audio and started to look for alternative solutions.

I have found this thread:
http://www.tonymacx86.com/audio/143757-audio-realtek-alc-applehda-guide.html

I have used method 3: cloverALC/Clover patched
I don't remember what was the problem with it. I think it just didn't run for the first time. Then tried again with different parameters and something happened.

But after all these I think the audio was still not fine, so I kept looking on the internet and found an another forum where I have downloaded a prepatched AppleHDA.kext and it worked better with the built-in speakers, but then I started to have problems with HDMI audio. Then asked for your help, and you told me that I did not follow the guide therefore you can't help me.

EDIT: I have also found a guide somewhere regarding AppleHDA patching but I'm not sure if I can link it here due to forum rules.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 18, 2015
Messages
41
Motherboard
Lenovo Y50-70
CPU
i7-4720HQ - HM87
Graphics
HD 4600 1920x1080, GTX-960M
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
Read post #1, "Problem Reporting"... Test sleep exclusively with Apple->Sleep.



Cosmetic -- ignore.

i know it's cosmetic but i'm sure that it's related to hardware also
as the previous y5070 with the same specs i7 4720 and gtx 960 was showing 15.6 and it was working out of box very fast and sleep doesn't make any problem and i used patches only to get full 3d acceleration

while with the new one with same specs, i got very bad performance after install which become stable and fast after using required tools and kexts but this bad performance appear again after sleep

the difference between the 2 laptops that lenovo sent me this one to fix flickering problem which they said that it need mother board replacement but ended with replacement with new laptop
so i think that there is some thing different ..
now i really hope that i got my old one .. it was really very very fast


will read now problem reporting and post again
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 2, 2012
Messages
183,933
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
So after following your guide I was not satisfied with the audio and started to look for alternative solutions.

I have found this thread:
http://www.tonymacx86.com/audio/143757-audio-realtek-alc-applehda-guide.html

I have used method 3: cloverALC/Clover patched
I don't remember what was the problem with it. I think it just didn't run for the first time. Then tried again with different parameters and something happened.

But after all these I think the audio was still not fine, so I kept looking on the internet and found an another forum where I have downloaded a prepatched AppleHDA.kext and it worked better with the built-in speakers, but then I started to have problems with HDMI audio. Then asked for your help, and you told me that I did not follow the guide therefore you can't help me.

EDIT: I have also found a guide somewhere regarding AppleHDA patching but I'm not sure if I can link it here due to forum rules.

BRIX ALC283 may not be applicable to your codec.

If you want something custom, patch from your own codec dump.
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 2, 2012
Messages
183,933
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
i know it's cosmetic but i'm sure that it's related to hardware also
as the previous y5070 with the same specs i7 4720 and gtx 960 was showing 15.6 and it was working out of box very fast and sleep doesn't make any problem and i used patches only to get full 3d acceleration

Depends completely on SMBIOS. Cosmetic only.


while with the new one with same specs, i got very bad performance after install which become stable and fast after using required tools and kexts but this bad performance appear again after sleep

the difference between the 2 laptops that lenovo sent me this one to fix flickering problem which they said that it need mother board replacement but ended with replacement with new laptop
so i think that there is some thing different ..
now i really hope that i got my old one .. it was really very very fast

Read post #1, "Problem Reporting"
 
Joined
Jun 28, 2011
Messages
707
Motherboard
Lenovo Y50-70 ID8C49
CPU
i7-4710
Graphics
HD 4600 + GT 860M, 1920*1080
BRIX ALC283 may not be applicable to your codec.

If you want something custom, patch from your own codec dump.

Can you point us in the direction of how to patch from our own codec dump?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top