Contribute
Register

[Guide] Lenovo Y50/Y70 (UHD or 1080p) using Clover UEFI

Status
Not open for further replies.

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 2, 2012
Messages
183,951
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
[Guide] Lenovo Y50 (UHD or 1080p) using Clover UEFI

Any thoughts on getting iMessages and Facetime working?
I have tried the creating all the serials and such and sure it works, but you get the customer service error code during login
I have next to no reason to use it, but thought since I'm trying to get the OS fully functional, it's worth a shot just for curiosity sake

The guide for Messages/FaceTime is linked by post #1.
 
Joined
Jun 28, 2011
Messages
707
Motherboard
Lenovo Y50-70 ID8C49
CPU
i7-4710
Graphics
HD 4600 + GT 860M, 1920*1080
[Guide] Lenovo Y50 (UHD or 1080p) using Clover UEFI

The guide for Messages/FaceTime is linked by post #1.

Guess I should wait until I change my wifi chip and set everything up for good before I go through with the hassle
 
Joined
Jun 28, 2011
Messages
707
Motherboard
Lenovo Y50-70 ID8C49
CPU
i7-4710
Graphics
HD 4600 + GT 860M, 1920*1080
[Guide] Lenovo Y50 (UHD or 1080p) using Clover UEFI

Rehabman, gotta question for you
So I have the application folder in the dock, and when I open it in grid view, there's a huge lag, but if I use any other view, it's fine
I suspect it has to do with the fact that we're using the integrated graphic card, and it doesn't have the capacity to process like dedicated cards?
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 2, 2012
Messages
183,951
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
[Guide] Lenovo Y50 (UHD or 1080p) using Clover UEFI

Rehabman, gotta question for you
So I have the application folder in the dock, and when I open it in grid view, there's a huge lag, but if I use any other view, it's fine
I suspect it has to do with the fact that we're using the integrated graphic card, and it doesn't have the capacity to process like dedicated cards?

I don't use grid view, and don't have a UHD screen, but I've heard this reported before.

Note that Apple doesn't use these low end HD4600 graphics. Even the Haswell MacBookAir (no retina there) has HD5000. So... there could be some performance issues with the less capable chip, especially with the higher pixel count.
 
Joined
Jun 28, 2011
Messages
707
Motherboard
Lenovo Y50-70 ID8C49
CPU
i7-4710
Graphics
HD 4600 + GT 860M, 1920*1080
[Guide] Lenovo Y50 (UHD or 1080p) using Clover UEFI

I don't use grid view, and don't have a UHD screen, but I've heard this reported before.

Note that Apple doesn't use these low end HD4600 graphics. Even the Haswell MacBookAir (no retina there) has HD5000. So... there could be some performance issues with the less capable chip, especially with the higher pixel count.

I know previously with chameleon bootloader, some devices with nvidia optimus was able to use GraphicEnabler=YES to use the dedicated nvidia graphics card. How does that differ from the way things are set up on the Y50?

BTW, I don't have the UHD screen either, but I suspected the ^ same reason applies. It seemed just like a slow processing fragmenting.
 
Joined
Jun 28, 2011
Messages
707
Motherboard
Lenovo Y50-70 ID8C49
CPU
i7-4710
Graphics
HD 4600 + GT 860M, 1920*1080
[Guide] Lenovo Y50 (UHD or 1080p) using Clover UEFI

One more issue.
The disable trackpad when external mice connected doesn't work
Nor does the fn-F6 to disable trackpad (worked with the USB clover boot)
Is there a way to get either one to work?
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 2, 2012
Messages
183,951
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
[Guide] Lenovo Y50 (UHD or 1080p) using Clover UEFI

I know previously with chameleon bootloader, some devices with nvidia optimus was able to use GraphicEnabler=YES to use the dedicated nvidia graphics card. How does that differ from the way things are set up on the Y50?

No -- your information is incorrect. In no case can the Nvidia chip be used in a switched/passthrough dual-GPU system like Optimus.

BTW, I don't have the UHD screen either, but I suspected the ^ same reason applies. It seemed just like a slow processing fragmenting.

Please update your profile to include your screen resolution (should be in Graphics).

You may have some other issue.... See post #1, "Problem Reporting" for files to provide.
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 2, 2012
Messages
183,951
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
[Guide] Lenovo Y50 (UHD or 1080p) using Clover UEFI

One more issue.
The disable trackpad when external mice connected doesn't work

It works only if you select the setting in SysPrefs.

SysPrefs->Accessibility->Mouse & Trackpad...

Nor does the fn-F6 to disable trackpad (worked with the USB clover boot)

Fn+F6 for trackpad toggle requires additional work by those that own the laptop and have knowledge of my PS2 driver, and ACPI. See my related u430 patches for an example: https://github.com/RehabMan/Lenovo-U430-Touch-DSDT-Patch (patches/keyboard.txt).

It can get relatively complex. But it is possible your laptop is similar to my u430 in the keyboard handling area.
 
Joined
Mar 7, 2011
Messages
35
Motherboard
Razer Blade 2017 UHD (Laptop)
CPU
Intel i7-7700HQ
Graphics
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1060
[Guide] Lenovo Y50 (UHD or 1080p) using Clover UEFI

Rehabman, gotta question for you
So I have the application folder in the dock, and when I open it in grid view, there's a huge lag, but if I use any other view, it's fine
I suspect it has to do with the fact that we're using the integrated graphic card, and it doesn't have the capacity to process like dedicated cards?

Hey masterscarhead1,

It's quite likely due to the processing capabilities of HD4600 itself. Try turning down the resolution and you will realize the lag reduces significantly. I suppose we just have to live with it, unless it impacts your day to day work a lot
 
Joined
Jun 28, 2011
Messages
707
Motherboard
Lenovo Y50-70 ID8C49
CPU
i7-4710
Graphics
HD 4600 + GT 860M, 1920*1080
[Guide] Lenovo Y50 (UHD or 1080p) using Clover UEFI

Hey masterscarhead1,

It's quite likely due to the processing capabilities of HD4600 itself. Try turning down the resolution and you will realize the lag reduces significantly. I suppose we just have to live with it, unless it impacts your day to day work a lot

Yah I did realize that. That's how I came to the initial conclusion of the HD4600 limit.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top