Contribute
Register

[Guide] Lenovo Y50/Y70 (UHD or 1080p) using Clover UEFI

Status
Not open for further replies.

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 2, 2012
Messages
183,951
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
[Guide] Lenovo Y50 (UHD or 1080p) using Clover UEFI

Stupidity, using back old USB stick created for previous installation 6 months ago, amongst other humanly incomprehensible reasons that amazes even myself :)

On the side note, I think I am facing the exact same issues as masterscarhead1. I'm on 10.10.5 (fresh install) with bios V3. Going to try the 0204 patch now

Note that there are two variants of the 0204 patch. And the fact that you can tweak the 09 or 12 value (try other values... it is some sort of delay) to other values. And legacy BIOS setting to tweak.
 
Joined
Mar 7, 2011
Messages
35
Motherboard
Razer Blade 2017 UHD (Laptop)
CPU
Intel i7-7700HQ
Graphics
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1060
[Guide] Lenovo Y50 (UHD or 1080p) using Clover UEFI

Note that there are two variants of the 0204 patch. And the fact that you can tweak the 09 or 12 value (try other values... it is some sort of delay) to other values. And legacy BIOS setting to tweak.

Hi RehabMan,

Thanks for your reply! I have tried the following patches (1 at a time) but to no avail. (CSM on)

<dict>
<key>Comment</key>
<string>HDMI-audio, port 0105, 0x0a260005 0x0a260006, 0x0d220003, 0x0a2e000a, 0x0a26000a</string>
<key>Name</key>
<string>AppleIntelFramebufferAzul</string>
<key>Find</key>
<data>AQUJAAAEAACHAAAA</data>
<key>Replace</key>
<data>AQUJAAAIAACHAAAA</data>
</dict>

Screen freezes. Output device does not detect any signal.

<dict>
<key>Comment</key>
<string>HDMI-audio, port 0105(12), 0x0a260005 0x0a260006, 0x0d220003, 0x0a2e000a, 0x0a26000a</string>
<key>Name</key>
<string>disabled:AppleIntelFramebufferAzul</string>
<key>Find</key>
<data>AQUJAAAEAACHAAAA</data>
<key>Replace</key>
<data>AQUSAAAIAACHAAAA</data>
</dict>

I believe this one comes together with your config.plist. Output device detects a signal for short while before computer reboots abruptly.

<dict>
<key>Comment</key>
<string>HDMI-audio, port 0204, 0x0a260005 0x0a260006</string>
<key>Name</key>
<string>disabled:AppleIntelFramebufferAzul</string>
<key>Find</key>
<data>AgQJAAAEAACHAAAA</data>
<key>Replace</key>
<data>AgQJAAAIAACHAAAA</data>
</dict>

Screen freezes. Output device does not detect any signal.

<dict>
<key>Comment</key>
<string>HDMI-audio, port 0204(12), 0x0a260005 0x0a260006</string>
<key>Name</key>
<string>disabled:AppleIntelFramebufferAzul</string>
<key>Find</key>
<data>AgQJAAAEAACHAAAA</data>
<key>Replace</key>
<data>AgQSAAAIAACHAAAA</data>
</dict>

Screen freezes. Output device does not detect any signal.


I've also tried each of these 4 patches with CSM off. For all of them, the output device manage to capture a signal. Laptop screen shows garbled/distorted image for a short while before computer reboots abruptly.

My BIOS is at v2.01 and I don't really have the expertise to change it to any other versions.

I've attached my config.plist, although its largely similar to the content above
 

Attachments

  • config.plist
    7.4 KB · Views: 214
Joined
Mar 7, 2011
Messages
35
Motherboard
Razer Blade 2017 UHD (Laptop)
CPU
Intel i7-7700HQ
Graphics
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1060
[Guide] Lenovo Y50 (UHD or 1080p) using Clover UEFI

Note that there are two variants of the 0204 patch. And the fact that you can tweak the 09 or 12 value (try other values... it is some sort of delay) to other values. And legacy BIOS setting to tweak.

I'm also curious on how to tweak the 09 or 12 value from the patches themselves. Is there some kind of version of the patch that presents as a string of numbers rather than alphanumeric characters?
 
Joined
Jun 28, 2011
Messages
707
Motherboard
Lenovo Y50-70 ID8C49
CPU
i7-4710
Graphics
HD 4600 + GT 860M, 1920*1080
[Guide] Lenovo Y50 (UHD or 1080p) using Clover UEFI

Hi RehabMan,

Thanks for your reply! I have tried the following patches (1 at a time) but to no avail. (CSM on)

<dict>
<key>Comment</key>
<string>HDMI-audio, port 0105, 0x0a260005 0x0a260006, 0x0d220003, 0x0a2e000a, 0x0a26000a</string>
<key>Name</key>
<string>AppleIntelFramebufferAzul</string>
<key>Find</key>
<data>AQUJAAAEAACHAAAA</data>
<key>Replace</key>
<data>AQUJAAAIAACHAAAA</data>
</dict>

Screen freezes. Output device does not detect any signal.

<dict>
<key>Comment</key>
<string>HDMI-audio, port 0105(12), 0x0a260005 0x0a260006, 0x0d220003, 0x0a2e000a, 0x0a26000a</string>
<key>Name</key>
<string>disabled:AppleIntelFramebufferAzul</string>
<key>Find</key>
<data>AQUJAAAEAACHAAAA</data>
<key>Replace</key>
<data>AQUSAAAIAACHAAAA</data>
</dict>

I believe this one comes together with your config.plist. Output device detects a signal for short while before computer reboots abruptly.

<dict>
<key>Comment</key>
<string>HDMI-audio, port 0204, 0x0a260005 0x0a260006</string>
<key>Name</key>
<string>disabled:AppleIntelFramebufferAzul</string>
<key>Find</key>
<data>AgQJAAAEAACHAAAA</data>
<key>Replace</key>
<data>AgQJAAAIAACHAAAA</data>
</dict>

Screen freezes. Output device does not detect any signal.

<dict>
<key>Comment</key>
<string>HDMI-audio, port 0204(12), 0x0a260005 0x0a260006</string>
<key>Name</key>
<string>disabled:AppleIntelFramebufferAzul</string>
<key>Find</key>
<data>AgQJAAAEAACHAAAA</data>
<key>Replace</key>
<data>AgQSAAAIAACHAAAA</data>
</dict>

Screen freezes. Output device does not detect any signal.


I've also tried each of these 4 patches with CSM off. For all of them, the output device manage to capture a signal. Laptop screen shows garbled/distorted image for a short while before computer reboots abruptly.

My BIOS is at v2.01 and I don't really have the expertise to change it to any other versions.

I've attached my config.plist, although its largely similar to the content above

Rehabman, I just tried ^ and verified same findings with BIOS on 3.0, so it seems to be BIOS irrelavent. Maybe it's a 10.10.5 difference. I am also curious how to do the patch apart from the 9 or 12 manually
 
Joined
Mar 7, 2011
Messages
35
Motherboard
Razer Blade 2017 UHD (Laptop)
CPU
Intel i7-7700HQ
Graphics
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1060
[Guide] Lenovo Y50 (UHD or 1080p) using Clover UEFI

Rehabman, I just tried ^ and verified same findings with BIOS on 3.0, so it seems to be BIOS irrelavent. Maybe it's a 10.10.5 difference. I am also curious how to do the patch apart from the 9 or 12 manually

Yeah and our GPU and CPU is slightly different too. Although we both use Intel 4600 at the end of the day.

I wonder if theres a plausible way to roll back to 10.10.4 just to verify this.
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 2, 2012
Messages
183,951
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
[Guide] Lenovo Y50 (UHD or 1080p) using Clover UEFI

Hi RehabMan,

Thanks for your reply! I have tried the following patches (1 at a time) but to no avail. (CSM on)

<dict>
<key>Comment</key>
<string>HDMI-audio, port 0105, 0x0a260005 0x0a260006, 0x0d220003, 0x0a2e000a, 0x0a26000a</string>
<key>Name</key>
<string>AppleIntelFramebufferAzul</string>
<key>Find</key>
<data>AQUJAAAEAACHAAAA</data>
<key>Replace</key>
<data>AQUJAAAIAACHAAAA</data>
</dict>

Screen freezes. Output device does not detect any signal.

<dict>
<key>Comment</key>
<string>HDMI-audio, port 0105(12), 0x0a260005 0x0a260006, 0x0d220003, 0x0a2e000a, 0x0a26000a</string>
<key>Name</key>
<string>disabled:AppleIntelFramebufferAzul</string>
<key>Find</key>
<data>AQUJAAAEAACHAAAA</data>
<key>Replace</key>
<data>AQUSAAAIAACHAAAA</data>
</dict>

I believe this one comes together with your config.plist. Output device detects a signal for short while before computer reboots abruptly.

<dict>
<key>Comment</key>
<string>HDMI-audio, port 0204, 0x0a260005 0x0a260006</string>
<key>Name</key>
<string>disabled:AppleIntelFramebufferAzul</string>
<key>Find</key>
<data>AgQJAAAEAACHAAAA</data>
<key>Replace</key>
<data>AgQJAAAIAACHAAAA</data>
</dict>

Screen freezes. Output device does not detect any signal.

<dict>
<key>Comment</key>
<string>HDMI-audio, port 0204(12), 0x0a260005 0x0a260006</string>
<key>Name</key>
<string>disabled:AppleIntelFramebufferAzul</string>
<key>Find</key>
<data>AgQJAAAEAACHAAAA</data>
<key>Replace</key>
<data>AgQSAAAIAACHAAAA</data>
</dict>

Screen freezes. Output device does not detect any signal.


I've also tried each of these 4 patches with CSM off. For all of them, the output device manage to capture a signal. Laptop screen shows garbled/distorted image for a short while before computer reboots abruptly.

My BIOS is at v2.01 and I don't really have the expertise to change it to any other versions.

I've attached my config.plist, although its largely similar to the content above

Most of the patches you list are disabled, and have no effect.

You really have to pay attention to what you're doing here and double check your work.
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 2, 2012
Messages
183,951
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
[Guide] Lenovo Y50 (UHD or 1080p) using Clover UEFI

Rehabman, I just tried ^ and verified same findings with BIOS on 3.0, so it seems to be BIOS irrelavent. Maybe it's a 10.10.5 difference. I am also curious how to do the patch apart from the 9 or 12 manually

If you compare the two patches ((12) and non-(12)), you'll see the difference. You can also try other (probably larger) values.

If you edit your config.plist with a plist editor (should never edit with text edit anyway), you will see the hex equivalents in the editor itself.
 
Joined
Mar 7, 2011
Messages
35
Motherboard
Razer Blade 2017 UHD (Laptop)
CPU
Intel i7-7700HQ
Graphics
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1060
[Guide] Lenovo Y50 (UHD or 1080p) using Clover UEFI

Most of the patches you list are disabled, and have no effect.

Nah of course we enable them one by one when testing. The one I pasted is simply as of my current config I used to boot my computer this time round.

Unless you mean having all 4 patches together concurrently in one bootup. That I have not tried
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 2, 2012
Messages
183,951
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
[Guide] Lenovo Y50 (UHD or 1080p) using Clover UEFI

Yeah and our GPU and CPU is slightly different too. Although we both use Intel 4600 at the end of the day.

I wonder if theres a plausible way to roll back to 10.10.4 just to verify this.

If someone has 10.10.4 (I save all), they can install it and test.
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 2, 2012
Messages
183,951
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
[Guide] Lenovo Y50 (UHD or 1080p) using Clover UEFI

Nah of course we enable them one by one when testing. The one I pasted is simply as of my current config I used to boot my computer this time round.

Unless you mean having all 4 patches together concurrently in one bootup. That I have not tried

Never valid to use more than one patch for a given port simultaneously. Of course using patches for both 0105 and 0204 is a good idea, as you don't really know which port the device is connecting to.

You should also verify that the patches are having the desired effect. By looking at ioreg you can see whether the connector-type for the ports is changed from DP <00 04 00 00> to HDMI <00 08 00 00>.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top