[Guide] Lenovo Y50 (UHD or 1080p) using Clover UEFI

Discussion in 'High Sierra Laptop Guides' started by RehabMan, Sep 27, 2017.

  1. RehabMan

    RehabMan Moderator

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    185,156
    Motherboard:
    Intel DH67BL
    CPU:
    Core i7-2600K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Sep 27, 2017 at 6:32 PM #1
    RehabMan

    RehabMan Moderator

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    185,156
    Motherboard:
    Intel DH67BL
    CPU:
    Core i7-2600K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Last edited: Oct 4, 2018
  2. ashwin1996

    ashwin1996

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2014
    Messages:
    91
    Motherboard:
    Lenovo Y50-70
    CPU:
    i7-4710HQ
    Graphics:
    GTX 860M 4GB Maxwell
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Sep 27, 2017 at 7:45 PM #2
    ashwin1996

    ashwin1996

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2014
    Messages:
    91
    Motherboard:
    Lenovo Y50-70
    CPU:
    i7-4710HQ
    Graphics:
    GTX 860M 4GB Maxwell
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Thank you so much for the hard work you keep on doing for this laptop and community
    Been using This guide Since Yosemite
     
    Feartech likes this.
  3. masterscarhead1

    masterscarhead1

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2011
    Messages:
    715
    Motherboard:
    Lenovo Y50-70 Haswell ID8C49
    CPU:
    i7-4710
    Graphics:
    Intel 4600 + 4gb Geforce 860M 1920*1080
    Sep 30, 2017 at 7:41 PM #3
    masterscarhead1

    masterscarhead1

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2011
    Messages:
    715
    Motherboard:
    Lenovo Y50-70 Haswell ID8C49
    CPU:
    i7-4710
    Graphics:
    Intel 4600 + 4gb Geforce 860M 1920*1080
    Hey @RehabMan

    So odd problem with HS. On cold boot, it takes a long while to boot, on verbose boot hanging at validating APFS, then after 3 min it would boot fine but with audio not working, and graphics tearing (on SSD drive)
    On warm boot, it boots like it did on Sierra
    I'm attaching ioreg or cold and warm boot as well as patchmatic and clover folders. Hope you can tell me the cause. This doesn't happen on my desktop which also converted onto APFS
     

    Attached Files:

  4. RehabMan

    RehabMan Moderator

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    185,156
    Motherboard:
    Intel DH67BL
    CPU:
    Core i7-2600K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Sep 30, 2017 at 9:52 PM #4
    RehabMan

    RehabMan Moderator

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    185,156
    Motherboard:
    Intel DH67BL
    CPU:
    Core i7-2600K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    It is due to APFS+TRIM and non-Apple SSD.
    Disable the TRIM patch or install as HFS+J instead of APFS.
     
  5. masterscarhead1

    masterscarhead1

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2011
    Messages:
    715
    Motherboard:
    Lenovo Y50-70 Haswell ID8C49
    CPU:
    i7-4710
    Graphics:
    Intel 4600 + 4gb Geforce 860M 1920*1080
    Sep 30, 2017 at 10:11 PM #5
    masterscarhead1

    masterscarhead1

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2011
    Messages:
    715
    Motherboard:
    Lenovo Y50-70 Haswell ID8C49
    CPU:
    i7-4710
    Graphics:
    Intel 4600 + 4gb Geforce 860M 1920*1080
    I removed the dsdt patch as well as 'sudo trimforce disable' and still same problem
     
    Last edited: Sep 30, 2017
  6. RehabMan

    RehabMan Moderator

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    185,156
    Motherboard:
    Intel DH67BL
    CPU:
    Core i7-2600K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Sep 30, 2017 at 10:20 PM #6
    RehabMan

    RehabMan Moderator

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    185,156
    Motherboard:
    Intel DH67BL
    CPU:
    Core i7-2600K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    No DSDT patch for TRIM.
    TRIM patch is in config.plist/KernelAndKextPatches/KextsToPatch.
     
    maclover95 likes this.
  7. masterscarhead1

    masterscarhead1

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2011
    Messages:
    715
    Motherboard:
    Lenovo Y50-70 Haswell ID8C49
    CPU:
    i7-4710
    Graphics:
    Intel 4600 + 4gb Geforce 860M 1920*1080
    Sep 30, 2017 at 10:23 PM #7
    masterscarhead1

    masterscarhead1

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2011
    Messages:
    715
    Motherboard:
    Lenovo Y50-70 Haswell ID8C49
    CPU:
    i7-4710
    Graphics:
    Intel 4600 + 4gb Geforce 860M 1920*1080
    Sorry, that that's what I mean. Still not working :/
     
  8. RehabMan

    RehabMan Moderator

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    185,156
    Motherboard:
    Intel DH67BL
    CPU:
    Core i7-2600K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Sep 30, 2017 at 10:25 PM #8
    RehabMan

    RehabMan Moderator

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    185,156
    Motherboard:
    Intel DH67BL
    CPU:
    Core i7-2600K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    No "Problem Reporting" files attached.
    Read FAQ, "Problem Reporting" again. Carefully. Attach all requested files/output.
    https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/faq-read-first-laptop-frequent-questions.164990/

    Also, show output of:
    Code:
    system_profiler SPSerialATADataType|grep TRIM
    
    Note: It doesn't look like your config.plist is up-to-date. And you should let Clover determine FirmwareFeatures (SMBIOS can be just model and serial#).
     
    Last edited: Sep 30, 2017
  9. masterscarhead1

    masterscarhead1

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2011
    Messages:
    715
    Motherboard:
    Lenovo Y50-70 Haswell ID8C49
    CPU:
    i7-4710
    Graphics:
    Intel 4600 + 4gb Geforce 860M 1920*1080
    Sep 30, 2017 at 10:35 PM #9
    masterscarhead1

    masterscarhead1

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2011
    Messages:
    715
    Motherboard:
    Lenovo Y50-70 Haswell ID8C49
    CPU:
    i7-4710
    Graphics:
    Intel 4600 + 4gb Geforce 860M 1920*1080

    Turns out I needed to rebuild the cache. Maybe you can set the config.plist to only enable TRIM if <10.13?
    Why exactly does it cause this problem?
    For some reason command 'sudo touch /System/Library/Extensions && sudo kextcache -u /' will cause boot errors in HS with APFS (happened 3 times). I just use kextutil to rebuild now.
     
  10. RehabMan

    RehabMan Moderator

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    185,156
    Motherboard:
    Intel DH67BL
    CPU:
    Core i7-2600K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Sep 30, 2017 at 10:40 PM #10
    RehabMan

    RehabMan Moderator

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    185,156
    Motherboard:
    Intel DH67BL
    CPU:
    Core i7-2600K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    I'm considering exactly that.

    My guess...
    I think TRIM is poorly implemented by SSD firmware.
    Apple didn't code the workarounds for poor SSD firmware as it relates to TRIM.

    Results with TRIM on non-Apple hardware has always been firmware/hardware dependent.

    I have no problem with kextcache for rebuilding cache.
    I don't see any documentation for kextutil that implies it can be used to rebuild kernel cache.
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice