Contribute
Register

[Guide] Lenovo Thinkpad T440S using Clover UEFI hotpatch

Joined
Nov 1, 2015
Messages
82
Motherboard
Lenovo T440s (UEFI Clover)
CPU
Intel i5 4200
Graphics
Intel HD4400 (FHD)
Mac
iMac
Mobile Phone
iOS
I currently have a two SSD setup, one with windows and one with Clover macOS. Each SSD has their own EFI and bootloader. I set my boot order to boot into Clover first, so I can freely pick among macOS and Windows. Now, if I replace my Clover EFI with the OpenCore EFI, will I still be able to boot into Windows using the BIOS boot menu?
it should be enough if just select the drive where the bootloader is.
if you still want an entery for the bootselection, you can use the program easyuefi for Windows, to make the opencore boot option
 
Joined
Dec 1, 2016
Messages
80
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z77-DS3H
CPU
i5-3570K
Graphics
RX 570
Mobile Phone
iOS
I think it’s a bad idea to put the Kext in Library/Extension in the First Place. i always used EFI folder for the Kext injection and have never problems.
After years of running a hackintosh this is still not clear to me. On my desktop I only have kexts in /Library/Extensions as it was recommended in the tutorial when I built the hackintosh about 3 years ago and kept using it like this, never changing it when updating kexts or macos.

In this tutorial, in the first post, the kexts are in EFI and then there is a step that installs them, actually a few more than are in EFI, to /Library/Extensions.

So you are saying that I should be able to delete all the custom kexts from /Library/Extensions, make sure they are all in EFI and my T440s should work just fine?
 

Sniki

Moderator
Joined
Jan 5, 2016
Messages
2,167
Motherboard
HP Elite 8300 SFF
CPU
i7-3770
Graphics
Intel HD3000
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
- if I am already on Catalina that just replacing the EFI will work right?
Yes
- I can put the EFI on a flash drive and boot the flash drive to safely test it out right?
Yes
- No changes to kexts installed to /Library/Extensions are needed? I installed all the kexts there as suggested in the post install stein the guide and honestly always wondered why are there both in the EFI and /Library/Extensions
EFI only, Library/Extensions is legacy stuff, not recommended anymore, please cleanup before trying.
- Adding the MLB, Serial number etc will make sure iMessage still work right?
Yes
I currently have a two SSD setup, one with windows and one with Clover macOS. Each SSD has their own EFI and bootloader. I set my boot order to boot into Clover first, so I can freely pick among macOS and Windows. Now, if I replace my Clover EFI with the OpenCore EFI, will I still be able to boot into Windows using the BIOS boot menu?
I believe you should be fine and be able to boot windows from the OC boot picker.

Note: There is a bug with VoodooPS2Controller.kext on latest release...
It's something that im investigating, everything else seems to work fine.

Super laggy drag and drop and two finger scroll doesn't work.
The other problem is that you can use older version and works fine but gestures are messed up there too.

Will investigate a bit more.

As soon as that is fixed, EFI will be ready.
 
Joined
Nov 1, 2015
Messages
82
Motherboard
Lenovo T440s (UEFI Clover)
CPU
Intel i5 4200
Graphics
Intel HD4400 (FHD)
Mac
iMac
Mobile Phone
iOS
Yes

Yes

EFI only, Library/Extensions is legacy stuff, not recommended anymore, please cleanup before trying.

Yes

I believe you should be fine and be able to boot windows from the OC boot picker.

Note: There is a bug with VoodooPS2Controller.kext on latest release...
It's something that im investigating, everything else seems to work fine.

Super laggy drag and drop and two finger scroll doesn't work.
The other problem is that you can use older version and works fine but gestures are messed up there too.

Will investigate a bit more.

As soon as that is fixed, EFI will be ready.

somehow if you open the trackpad settings and uncheck and Check a gesture, it works nomally.
 

Sniki

Moderator
Joined
Jan 5, 2016
Messages
2,167
Motherboard
HP Elite 8300 SFF
CPU
i7-3770
Graphics
Intel HD3000
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
somehow if you open the trackpad settings and uncheck and Check a gesture, it works nomally.
DynamicEWMode related, created an issue on Acidanthera Bugtracker, im lazy to work on xcode tonight to revert that change they did on a commit as that one broke it and to build a working one.

As far as i have tested the rest works fine.
Until tomorrow, prepare your USB Installers for those of you who are on High Sierra/Mojave/ or want to clean install Catalina.

If they reply tonight, with a fix or commit, i will build it from source and provide the EFI so all of you have it ready tomorrow morning.
 
Joined
Sep 5, 2011
Messages
513
Motherboard
Lenovo T440s
CPU
i5-4200u
Graphics
HD4400
Awesome work everyone. Glad to have an awesome community of people who still support this laptop.

@Sniki where are we with CodecCommander / AppleALC? Is CodecCommander still required along with ALCPlugFix?
 

Sniki

Moderator
Joined
Jan 5, 2016
Messages
2,167
Motherboard
HP Elite 8300 SFF
CPU
i7-3770
Graphics
Intel HD3000
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Awesome work everyone. Glad to have an awesome community of people who still support this laptop.

@Sniki where are we with CodecCommander / AppleALC? Is CodecCommander still required along with ALCPlugFix?
Good question that i wanted to ask you guys as well about audio.

MacPeet has released an AppleALC patch (layout-id 15) with Manual Mode since AppleALC 1.4.7

That means when you plug headphones, you have to click on the volume icon on the menu bar and select "Line Out" to get audio output on headphones.
So the switching is done manually.

Pros:
- No CodecCommander.kext needed
- No ALCPlugFix needed

Cons:
- Manual switch

If you guys are ok with that, i can add the Dock Support into that patch and we can complete it with Manual Mode.
 
Joined
Sep 5, 2011
Messages
513
Motherboard
Lenovo T440s
CPU
i5-4200u
Graphics
HD4400
Good question that i wanted to ask you guys as well about audio.

MacPeet has released an AppleALC patch (layout-id 15) with Manual Mode since AppleALC 1.4.7

That means when you plug headphones, you have to click on the volume icon on the menu bar and select "Line Out" to get audio output on headphones.
So the switching is done manually.

Pros:
- No CodecCommander.kext needed
- No ALCPlugFix needed

Cons:
- Manual switch

If you guys are ok with that, i can add the Dock Support into that patch and we can complete it with Manual Mode.
One other "Pro" if I'm understanding correctly, is that we can leave headphones plugged in while still utilizing the internal speakers (by simply switching the output)? This could be especially useful for Dock users who might leave external speakers plugged in all the time.

It would be nice if we could have it automatically switch to the Line Out when it detects the jack (and the other way around, too) but this solution is fine with me. I personally would probably prefer it over using CodecCommander / ALCPlugFix since sometimes it doesn't work correctly after sleep for me. It's rare, but happens from time to time.
 

Sniki

Moderator
Joined
Jan 5, 2016
Messages
2,167
Motherboard
HP Elite 8300 SFF
CPU
i7-3770
Graphics
Intel HD3000
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
One other "Pro" if I'm understanding correctly, is that we can leave headphones plugged in while still utilizing the internal speakers (by simply switching the output)? This could be especially useful for Dock users who might leave external speakers plugged in all the time.

It would be nice if we could have it automatically switch to the Line Out when it detects the jack (and the other way around, too) but this solution is fine with me. I personally would probably prefer it over using CodecCommander / ALCPlugFix since sometimes it doesn't work correctly after sleep for me. It's rare, but happens from time to time.
That could be an addittional pro i guess, if it works that way, it may be possible that audio does get muted as soon as you plug headphones.

Im for manual mode as well just so i can get rid of that ALCPlugFix and CodecCommander.kext

That may be fixed later but for now we haven't found a better solution.

Maybe another way is to create a small simple application that does the switch for us ?
 
Joined
Sep 5, 2011
Messages
513
Motherboard
Lenovo T440s
CPU
i5-4200u
Graphics
HD4400
That could be an addittional pro i guess, if it works that way, it may be possible that audio does get muted as soon as you plug headphones.

Im for manual mode as well just so i can get rid of that ALCPlugFix and CodecCommander.kext

That may be fixed later but for now we haven't found a better solution.

Maybe another way is to create a small simple application that does the switch for us ?
Yep, that of course is an alternative. I did some quick searching and found that some third party applications might already exist which can do what we need. I found this on the Mac App Store as an example: https://apps.apple.com/us/app/audioswitcher/id561712678?mt=12

EDIT: Here's a similar project that's Open Source: https://github.com/deweller/switchaudio-osx
Too bad AppleALC couldn't add this as an option to the codec (auto-switch on detect or something like that?)

I'm curious to hear other people's thoughts on which way we should go. I'm in agreement that we use the manual layout just to avoid having to use ALCPlugFix.
 
Top