Contribute
Register

[Guide] Lenovo ThinkPad L440 (v3.0)

Joined
Jun 7, 2015
Messages
31
Motherboard
XPS 9570
CPU
i5-8400H
Graphics
HD630
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
Android
i will attach my config.plist with all the patches and stuff so you can make your own from it or use mine with just the need to create a proper SMBIOS
I am able to boot and install Sierra (with install config). I am stuck after Clover installation to SSD. I installed all kexts and patched ACPI files.
But when using your attached config to boot system (or when using my own config with your patches) MacOS gives me kernel panic at 'boot glitch stage'. I am uncertain what causes it. Needless to say, almost nothing works without proper patches.

ioreg, patchmatic -extract and sudo touch /System/Library/Extensions && sudo kextcache -u / in attachment. Clover files are from Shiki post
 

Attachments

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
191,028
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
I am able to boot and install Sierra (with install config). I am stuck after Clover installation to SSD. I installed all kexts and patched ACPI files.
But when using your attached config to boot system (or when using my own config with your patches) MacOS gives me kernel panic at 'boot glitch stage'. I am uncertain what causes it. Needless to say, almost nothing works without proper patches.

ioreg, patchmatic -extract and sudo touch /System/Library/Extensions && sudo kextcache -u / in attachment. Clover files are from Shiki post
Read FAQ, "Problem Reporting"
https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/faq-read-first-laptop-frequent-questions.164990/
 

Sniki

Moderator
Joined
Jan 5, 2016
Messages
1,800
Motherboard
Lenovo V330 - 15IKB
CPU
i5-8250U
Graphics
UHD 620 /1920x1080
Mobile Phone
iOS
I am able to boot and install Sierra (with install config). I am stuck after Clover installation to SSD. I installed all kexts and patched ACPI files.
But when using your attached config to boot system (or when using my own config with your patches) MacOS gives me kernel panic at 'boot glitch stage'. I am uncertain what causes it. Needless to say, almost nothing works without proper patches.

ioreg, patchmatic -extract and sudo touch /System/Library/Extensions && sudo kextcache -u / in attachment. Clover files are from Shiki post
First of all like Rehabman said you didn`t upload all the necessary data for investigation

Second: i use 128MB DVMT pre-alloc so that might be issue nr.1:
Either switch to 128mb (if you enabled advanced menu on bios) or maybe you just removed whitelist so you might not be able to change it on bios,if so Disable the 128MB DVMT patch in my config.plist and enable 9mb cursor patch.

Third: USB Ports: i disabled EH01 and EH02 on bios so that way i don`t need 2 extra patches to disable these controllers so i only use the SSDT to Inject active ports only.
Workarounds : Drop SSDT-UIAC if it doesn`t work try both SSDT-UIAC and SSDT-XHC.


Read Problem Report Again and include everything that is requested.
Report back with results.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 21, 2017
Messages
50
CPU
i5 4300m.
Graphics
Intel® HD Graphics 4600
hello sir.

I am using the default L440 configuration with no advanced bios and default touchpad.
I just cant seems to get pass the installation. I tried to boot to install with the instruction given but i was given this error.



Is it because i did not configure the plist?

I am very confused about "make sure you go to Kernel and Kext Patches on my config.plist provided,and disable the 128MB DVMT Patch and Enable the 9MB Cursor Patch.". I have no idea what to edit in the config.plist file. I tried google but i still cant find it.

Very sorry for the trouble here
 

Sniki

Moderator
Joined
Jan 5, 2016
Messages
1,800
Motherboard
Lenovo V330 - 15IKB
CPU
i5-8250U
Graphics
UHD 620 /1920x1080
Mobile Phone
iOS
hello sir.

I am using the default L440 configuration with no advanced bios and default touchpad.
I just cant seems to get pass the installation. I tried to boot to install with the instruction given but i was given this error.



Is it because i did not configure the plist?

I am very confused about "make sure you go to Kernel and Kext Patches on my config.plist provided,and disable the 128MB DVMT Patch and Enable the 9MB Cursor Patch.". I have no idea what to edit in the config.plist file. I tried google but i still cant find it.

Very sorry for the trouble here
In order to help you out, you should provide me the Specs of your laptop.
Fill your info on your profile page,
Post your your "Error Reporting" requested files.
because I cannot help you without the data, ok I will help you with the patch thing by posting a screenshot, but you will need Clover Configurator for that or a plist editor like Xcode or PlistEditPro
Also Remove the SSDT.aml and see if it helps.
Screen Shot 2017-06-21 at 11.38.35 PM.png
View attachment 262516

Give a try to these changes and I included Clover Configurator for you to quick test.

Report back with results.
Read the "Problem/Error Reporting" section on my guide and provide data.
 

Attachments

Joined
Jun 21, 2017
Messages
50
CPU
i5 4300m.
Graphics
Intel® HD Graphics 4600
thanks for the help! I still got the same error after editing the config.plist. I should edit from USB Installer Config-plist.zip right?
attached is my clover zip file.
I am using Lenovo Thinkpad L440 intel i5 2.6ghz.
i5 4300m.

1x PATRIOT 8GB 1600MHZ DDR3L Sodimm RAM- 1.35V for Laptop
512 samsung 850 ssd
500gb hdd ( connected via the caddy drive )
Flat TrackPad/Touchpad
intel wireless ac 7260
intel graphics 4600
14" 1366x768 Display

anyway upon booting on windows i get 8gb ram (7.88gb useable), am i right to say my bios have 128mb vram?
For the Sierra os, i'm using the latest version from the itunes. will that be of a problem?

Also how do i Remove the SSDT.aml ??

sorry for the questions. Very new in hackintosh
 

Attachments

Last edited:
Joined
Jun 21, 2017
Messages
50
CPU
i5 4300m.
Graphics
Intel® HD Graphics 4600
Wow, this sounds fantastic! Exciting times for L440 users. Thank you for your hard work

UPD: With the new BIOS w/ unlocked advanced menu I am able to access DVMT-prealloc settings. It is set to 32mb. Should I attempt to increase?
where do you get the new bios
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
191,028
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
thanks for the help! I still got the same error after editing the config.plist. I should edit from USB Installer Config-plist.zip right?
attached is my clover zip file.
I am using Lenovo Thinkpad L440 intel i5 2.6ghz.
i5 4300m.

1x PATRIOT 8GB 1600MHZ DDR3L Sodimm RAM- 1.35V for Laptop
512 samsung 850 ssd
500gb hdd ( connected via the caddy drive )
Flat TrackPad/Touchpad
intel wireless ac 7260
intel graphics 4600
14" 1366x768 Display

anyway upon booting on windows i get 8gb ram (7.88gb useable), am i right to say my bios have 128mb vram?
For the Sierra os, i'm using the latest version from the itunes. will that be of a problem?

Also how do i Remove the SSDT.aml ??

sorry for the questions. Very new in hackintosh
If you're trying to get to the installer...

Follow the Clover guide linked from the FAQ.
http://www.tonymacx86.com/el-capitan-laptop-support/164990-faq-read-first-laptop-frequent-questions.html
 
Joined
Jun 21, 2017
Messages
50
CPU
i5 4300m.
Graphics
Intel® HD Graphics 4600
I am very confused here as a new hackintosh user.


I managed to boot and install using the config.plist in EFI (Config,SSDT,Themes).zip instead of uSB Installer Config-plist.zip

however there are some things I am very confused with.

under the Kexts needed where do I find links to downloads such as USBInjectAll? where do I place them? under system/library/ext or efi/clover/kexts/other or efi/clover/kexts/other/10.12?

audio seems to not working for me.. I installed
  • ALC292
  • CodecCommander
using kextbeast to my system/library.
how do I run ALC Plug_Fix.? is It alc_fix.zip ? do I place them in clover or anything?
 

Sniki

Moderator
Joined
Jan 5, 2016
Messages
1,800
Motherboard
Lenovo V330 - 15IKB
CPU
i5-8250U
Graphics
UHD 620 /1920x1080
Mobile Phone
iOS
I am very confused here as a new hackintosh user.


I managed to boot and install using the config.plist in EFI (Config,SSDT,Themes).zip instead of uSB Installer Config-plist.zip

however there are some things I am very confused with.

under the Kexts needed where do I find links to downloads such as USBInjectAll? where do I place them? under system/library/ext or efi/clover/kexts/other or efi/clover/kexts/other/10.12?

audio seems to not working for me.. I installed
  • ALC292
  • CodecCommander
using kextbeast to my system/library.
how do I run ALC Plug_Fix.? is It alc_fix.zip ? do I place them in clover or anything?
First of all you should read, everything is clearly explained on my guide and rehabman guides, even where you should install is written on the guide to its correct section where what kexts should you install.

Even the Rehabman Repo is listed where you can find all his prebuilt kexts but here you have the link:
https://github.com/RehabMan/OS-X-USB-Inject-All

Scroll down till you find the downloads section (showed on screenshot).

1.png


Download latest build and install it with kext wizard since it much easier just drag & Drop.


Every Kext after you Reach desktop is supposed to be Installed at System/Library/Extensions,
You install them on efi clover only for Setup/Update/Installation purpose till you reach desktop and those kexts are only:
  • VoodooPS2Controller (for your keyboard and touchpad/trackpad to work)
  • FakeSMC
  • IntelMausiEthernet (For Lan to work in case you need internet)
  • ACPI Battery Manager (to see Battery Status)
These are the necessary kexts to complete the installation process.

for alc_fix you copy the folder to desktop and open terminal and write this command : cd "desktop/alc_fix" and then press enter,drag the install.sh in the terminal window and press enter and it should install it, but like we mentioned many times, you have to post requested data after each single change that you do in order to troubleshoot your problem, post your current data so we can analyze.

And Please take some time to read each section step by step,
You didn't`t fill your profile (Laptop specs) what cpu model you have.
Read the guide 3-4 times slowly and carefully, everything is explained.
 
Top