Contribute
Register

[Guide] Lenovo ThinkPad L440 (v3.0)

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
188,929
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
Anyway, it looks like the DVMT-preallocted memory is really 128MB.
After reading this post https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/guide-intel-hd-graphics-5500-on-os-x-yosemite-10-10-3.162062/ ; it's quite safe to say that the DVMT-preallocated is 128 MB. I'm not sure if that changes anything at all in my situation, but it's worth pointing out. I attached a screenshot of the display adapter properties from Windows.
Someone didn't read the FAQ.
IMPORTANT!: Contrary to many of the guides you will read, Windows is NOT a valid way to determine what DVMT-prealloc is set to. There is no correlation, especially with Windows 10.
 
Joined
Mar 17, 2015
Messages
97
Motherboard
AsRock Deluxe
CPU
Core i7-4770K
Graphics
GTX 690 SLI
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS,
Someone didn't read the FAQ.
Ok,
That was a mistake. I have made an Unibeast drive just to check the right VRAM. I have read somewhere on internet that Chimera/Chameleon bootloaders can provide the correct DVMT-preallocated. Chimera reports 31MB video memory. So maybe the DVMT-preallocated is 32MB. I'm not sure anymore.
Anyway, I've been trying various fixes and I discovered that QE/CI would work even WITHOUT an ig-platform ID inserted into Clover. This is strange but it worked. AND NO, I DID NOT INJECT IT INTO DSDT BECAUSE I IN FACT HAVE NO FILES IN ACPI FOLDERS (I have removed them for now).
Since QE/CI was working without an ig-platform, I wanted to see what really happened; so I opened DPCIManager app and saw that the framebuffer was 0x0D220003 with 3 ports. I don't know if that means anything important but it's the same framebuffer that works if inserted into clover.
I wanted to see if that value would remain the same, so I changed the Fake ID value to 0x0268086 as suggested on a blog. I didn't insert any ig-platform, the laptop booted fine with CI but certainly no QE because the correct video memory was there (1536MB) but the UI was laggy. Surprisingly the framebuffer value in DPCIManager remained the same.
Wake from sleep is still not working. I'll do a another ACPI patching but before that I hope to find out why it boots without an ig-platform.
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
188,929
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
Ok,
That was a mistake. I have made an Unibeast drive just to check the right VRAM. I have read somewhere on internet that Chimera/Chameleon bootloaders can provide the correct DVMT-preallocated. Chimera reports 31MB video memory. So maybe the DVMT-preallocated is 32MB. I'm not sure anymore.
It is the typical DVMT-prealloc default for Haswell laptops, so it would not be a surprise.

Anyway, I've been trying various fixes and I discovered that QE/CI would work even WITHOUT an ig-platform ID inserted into Clover. This is strange but it worked. AND NO, I DID NOT INJECT IT INTO DSDT BECAUSE I IN FACT HAVE NO FILES IN ACPI FOLDERS (I have removed them for now).
Clover has a default ig-platform-id (0x0d220003) that it injects if one is not specified.
But it is for desktop... you won't be able to get brightness control working with that one...

I wanted to see if that value would remain the same, so I changed the Fake ID value to 0x0268086
Invalid.

Please fix your profile/signature. It does not indicate your hardware details. In particular, screen resolution is missing. Read FAQ for profile/signature requirements.
 
Joined
Mar 17, 2015
Messages
97
Motherboard
AsRock Deluxe
CPU
Core i7-4770K
Graphics
GTX 690 SLI
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS,
Clover has a default ig-platform-id (0x0d220003) that it injects if one is not specified.
But it is for desktop... you won't be able to get brightness control working with that one...
Ok. That makes sense now. But the brightness slider is working fine with the patched ACPI and Intel Backlight kext.
However, the wake from sleep is still not working.

I guess so. It was just for testing purposes.

Please fix your profile/signature. It does not indicate your hardware details. In particular, screen resolution is missing. Read FAQ for profile/signature requirements.
Signature updated.
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
188,929
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
Joined
Oct 27, 2015
Messages
35
Motherboard
Lenovo ThinkPad Edge E440
CPU
i5-4300M
Graphics
Intel(R) HD Graphics 4600 1366x768
Mobile Phone
iOS
  • FN Buttons Re-Mapping so each of them should have proper function and you can assign them for specific options via SysPrefs > Keyboard > Shortcuts, here is the code:
Hi Sniki, first of all, great post.
I have a Lenovo Thinkpad E440 whit similar hardaware ;), so i get the re-mapping buttons patch code to use it, but when i patch my DSDT and try to compile MaciASL give me a lot of errors, some of them are:

4691, 6084, Object does not exist (\_SB.PCI0.LPCB.KBD)
4699, 6084, Object does not exist (\_SB.PCI0.LPCB.KBD)
.......

I wonder if you could help me with this, i am missing something :(.

-----------UPDATE-----------------
I fix the issue, i change \_SB.PCI0.LPCB.KBD to KBD only that fix it :).
Also i notice that _Q28 is missing in my DSDT so

Code:
# _Q28 (Fn+F4) Microphone Mute key - Mapped to Siri Shortcut via SysPrefs>keyboard>shortcuts
into method label _Q28 replace_content
begin
Notify(\_SB.PCI0.LPCB.KBD, 0x0368)\n
Notify(\_SB.PCI0.LPCB.KBD, 0x3e8)\n
end;
dosnt work, any idea ;)
 
Last edited:

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
188,929
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
Hi Sniki, first of all, great post.
I have a Lenovo Thinkpad E440 whit similar hardaware ;), so i get the re-mapping buttons patch code to use it, but when i patch my DSDT and try to compile MaciASL give me a lot of errors, some of them are:

4691, 6084, Object does not exist (\_SB.PCI0.LPCB.KBD)
4699, 6084, Object does not exist (\_SB.PCI0.LPCB.KBD)
.......

I wonder if you could help me with this, i am missing something :(.

-----------UPDATE-----------------
I fix the issue, i change \_SB.PCI0.LPCB.KBD to KBD only that fix it :).
Also i notice that _Q28 is missing in my DSDT so

Code:
# _Q28 (Fn+F4) Microphone Mute key - Mapped to Siri Shortcut via SysPrefs>keyboard>shortcuts
into method label _Q28 replace_content
begin
Notify(\_SB.PCI0.LPCB.KBD, 0x0368)\n
Notify(\_SB.PCI0.LPCB.KBD, 0x3e8)\n
end;
dosnt work, any idea ;)
Read the backlight guide. It explains how to instrument your DSDT with ACPIDebug to determine which EC query methods associate with various keys.

https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/guide-patching-dsdt-ssdt-for-laptop-backlight-control.152659/
 
Joined
Oct 27, 2015
Messages
35
Motherboard
Lenovo ThinkPad Edge E440
CPU
i5-4300M
Graphics
Intel(R) HD Graphics 4600 1366x768
Mobile Phone
iOS
Read the backlight guide. It explains how to instrument your DSDT with ACPIDebug to determine which EC query methods associate with various keys.

https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/guide-patching-dsdt-ssdt-for-laptop-backlight-control.152659/
Hi
In order to do this, i decide update to the latest version of iasl and MaciASL, and when dissembling my *.aml DSDT/SSDT, when i try to compile the SSDT-4.dsl give this error: Invalid type (Target is [Package], Source must be a package also). I hope you can help me.
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
188,929
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
Hi
In order to do this, i decide update to the latest version of iasl and MaciASL, and when dissembling my *.aml DSDT/SSDT, when i try to compile the SSDT-4.dsl give this error: Invalid type (Target is [Package], Source must be a package also). I hope you can help me.
No idea when you don't provide your ACPI/origin files...
 

Sniki

Moderator
Joined
Jan 5, 2016
Messages
2,167
Motherboard
HP Elite 8300 SFF
CPU
i7-3770
Graphics
Intel HD3000
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Also i notice that _Q28 is missing in my DSDT
E440 seems to have the same Keyboard Layout as L440.

What kexts have you installed / using ?
Please provide a list of what is working and what is not working ?
are other FN Buttons working with my patches ?

Hi
In order to do this, i decide update to the latest version of iasl and MaciASL, and when dissembling my *.aml DSDT/SSDT, when i try to compile the SSDT-4.dsl give this error: Invalid type (Target is [Package], Source must be a package also). I hope you can help me.
Like Rehabman said, Provide ACPI Files so we can analyze.
What kind of MacOS version are you using ?
 
Top